The Library at St. Cloud State University

Environmental and Technological Studies

All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Articles, journals, magazines and newspapers

ABI/INFORM Global (Business) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
ABI/INFORM indexes content from 3,200 trade publications and scholarly journals (with full text or full-image for 2,100 titles) that help students and researchers track business conditions, trends, management techniques, corporate strategies, and industry-specific topics worldwide.
note: 1972 to present
Applied Science & Technology Index
Print Location: Miller Center Reference Index Shelves.
Check availability
Index to journals and literature in aeronautics, chemistry, computers, construction, geology, oceanography, petroleum and gas, physics.  Covers 1958-2003.
Cambridge University Press Journals Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
The search allows you to search over 300 peer-reviewed academic journals and hundreds of books published by Cambridge University Press. SCSU subscribes to fulltext access to 30 Cambridge journal titles, of which 16 are current; an additional 7 current titles are available fulltext.
Eigenfactor.org database
Eigenfactor ranks scholarly journals in the natural and social sciences (and also newsprint, PhD theses, and popular magazines) using citation data and journal price.
ERIC (ProQuest) Restricted Resource findit database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.
note: 1966 - present
Green Energy: An A-to-Z Guide Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref
Provides an overview of the social and environmental dimensions of our energy system, and the key organizations, policy tools, and technologies that can help shape a green-energy economy.
GreenFILE Restricted Resource database
A collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles that include content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
National Academies Press Some full text availabledatabase
Downloadable PDF versions of more than 4,000 books and technical reports on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the most authoritative views on important issues in science and health policy.
National Archeological Database
Inventory of more than 300,000 reports on archeological planning and investigation; many of these reports had limited production and may be difficult to obtain or borrow. Last update was 2004. Also provides access to the NADB-MAPS Library showing distibutions of cultural and environmental resources in the US.
ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Search over 1,200 scholarly journals published by Elsevier. ScienceDirect is multisubject, but specializes in science. Note: We do not have full text access to all journals. 1993 to present for Academic Press journals; 1996 to present for Elsevier journals
Scopus (Science) Restricted Resource findit database
Science, technology, engineering, medical and some social sciences literature from 15,000 scholarly journals from 4,000 international publishers.

  Facts, definitions, and overviews

Current Industrial Reports
Provides monthly, quarterly, and annual measures manufacturing activity in important commodity areas such as textiles and apparel, chemicals, primary metals, computer and electronic components, industrial equipment, aerospace equipment, and consumer goods. The data are used to satisfy economic policy needs and for market analysis, forecasting, and decision-making in the private sector.
Encyclopedia of Earth Some full text availableeref
A free encyclopedia, authored by a diverse group of scientists, experts, and educators, about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interactions with society. The scope includes the hydrosphere, lithosphere, atmosphere, magnetosphere, cryosphere, and biosphere, and their interactions, especially in regards to how these systems support life and underpin human existence.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues
Print Location: REF GE10.E52 2000
Check availability
This 3 volume set has a wide range articles from academics and experts in the field. Contents include an overview of issues suchg as pollution, oil spills, smog, urban planning, disasters, and legislation. Also has a table of contents, articles by category, appendices, legislation time line, directory of U.S. National Parks and Environmental Orgaizations, glossary, bibliography and index.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Science
Print Location: REF GE10.M66 2000
Check availability
This single volumes encyclopedia contains tables, charts, EnviroTerms and EnviroLinks. The appendixes include an environmental timeline, bibliography, web sites sorted by subject, endangered species by state, environmental organization and an index.
Encyclopedia of the Biosphere
Print Location: REF GF75 .B5613 1999
Check availability
Includes 11 volumes: Our living planet, tropical rainforests, savannahs, deserts, Mediterranean woodlands, temperate rainforests, deciduous forests, prairies and boreal forests, lakes, islands, and the poles, oceans and seashores, the biosphere concept and index.
Handbook of Globalisation and Environmental Policy Restricted Resource
State-of-the-art examination of the critical effects of globalisation on environmental governance.
International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics
Print Location: REF GE170.I55 2002
Check availability
This encyclopedia had entries ranging from 150 words for definitions or short biographical information to 3000 words to cover major topics. The entries also include further readings and cross references. There is a thematic entry list and an index
Science Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Full-text reference resource compiled from nearly 640 specialized encyclopedias, reference books, and periodicals. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth sciences, environmental sciences, physics, medicine, science & society, and technology.

  Websites

Climate Change Policy and Practice
News and information on the activities of the UN and international organizations in responding to the problem of global climate change. Designed to support international negotiations and related activities, the site covers all topics, from education and human rights to economics and food security to chemicals and waste.
Climate TimeLine Information Tool
Allows users to examine climate change and variability at different time scales.
EnviroLink
A clearinghouse for information on the environment and a network for nonprofit environmental organizations. The site provides a library of documents, links to government and nonprofit organizations and publications, daily environmental news, and discussion forums.
Global Invasive Species Database
"The Global Invasive Species Database (GISD) aims to increase awareness about invasive alien species and to facilitate effective prevention and management activities."
International Technology Education Association (ITEA)
ITEA is the largest professional educational association, principal voice, and information clearinghouse devoted to enhancing technology education through experiences in our schools (K-12).
ISTE (International Society for Technology in Education)
ISTE is a nonprofit professional organization with a worldwide membership of leaders and potential leaders in educational technology. ISTE’s Web site contains coverage of many topics relevant to the educational technology community.
NASA Astrophysics Data System
Provides a searchable database of descriptive abstracts for astrophysics papers divided into categories such as Astronomy and Astrophysics, Instrumentation, Physics and Geophysics and Los Alamos Preprint Server. The site, funded by NASA and maintained by Harvard University personnel and professors, also provides access to the full text of article and translations of abstracts written in different languages. (Diana Hacker, 2003)
National Center for Biotechnology Information
A huge government web site that focuses on biological and medical research. Includes biotechnology databases, human and animal gene sequencing, and much more.
Nature Conservancy
Provides information on the Nature Conservancy's programs and research, with databases in taxonomy, nomenclature, status, distribution, habitat, ecology, and management.
Science.gov (FirstGov for Science)
A gateway to authoritative, selected science information provided by U.S Government agencies, including research and development results.
Scirus: Scientific Search Engine
Search over 400 million science-only Web pages including journal content, scientists' homepages, courseware, pre-print server material, patents, and institutional repository information.
Water Resources of the United States
From USGS, access water-resources data collected at approximately 1.5 million sites throughout the Nation and much more.
Wildlife Society
The Wildlife Society is dedicated to excellence in wildlife stewardship through science and education.

  Laws, legislation, and government reports

Energy Citations Database database
Energy Citations includes bibliographic records of literature in disciplines of interest to DOE such as chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, computer science and related disciplines. It includes citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents.
Environmental Protection Agency
Information on the EPA and related organizations. This site provides environmental databases with information on a variety of issues including safe drinking water and hazardous waste. The site also provides links to libraries, environmental publications and EPA dockets and reports. (Diana Hacker, 2003)
EPA Science Inventory
Search Environmental Protection Agency database of 4,000+ scientific and technical work products.  Database records provide such information as project descriptions (abstracts), contacts for additional information and electronic links to final reports and related research. 
Information Bridge (Department of Energy) database
The Information Bridge provides the open source to full-text and bibliographic records of Department of Energy (DOE) research and development reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics.
note: 1995 - Present
National Weather Service Central Region Headquarters
Find weather warnings, radar and satellite observations, forecast and models and more.

  Organizations

Subject Specialist
Picture: Susan Hubbs

Susan Hubbs
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 130C
(320) 308-4996
shubbs@stcloudstate.edu


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University