The Library at St. Cloud State University

Business - Finance

Finance Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Credo Reference - Business titles Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains imageseref ebook
Over one hundred encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks related to aspects of business and economics, both general and subtopic-specific. All resources are full-text, and individual entries can be printed. 
Company Financial Information
NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's) Restricted Resource database
A comprehensive source of business and investment information including industry surveys, stock reports, company descriptions and financials, and mutual fund research. For tips, see the NetAdvantage User Guide.
 
Finding company financials in NetAdvantage:
Look on the right side of the NetAdvantage main page. You'll see a box marked "Simple Search." From here, you can search by company name or ticker symbol for company profiles, corporation records, fund reports, stock reports, and many more.

Securities and Exchange Commission: EDGAR Database of Corporate Information Unrestricted Resource
Provides information about publicly held corporations, which are required by federal law to file reports on their activities with the Securites and Exchange Commission. Most reports filed from 1994 to the present are publicly available through EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval System) on this site. The information about each company includes financial status, chief officers, stock information, company history, pending litigation that might have an economic impact on the company, and more (Diana Hacker, 2003).

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online full text databases covering News, Business, Legal, Medical, and Reference. News includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, broadcast transcripts, regional and international news sources, scholarly & trade journals, and a guide to current issues. Business includes company SEC reports, company profiles and financial data, and accounting literature and standards. Law resources include law reviews (journals), federal and state congressional laws as well as federal court cases. Includes the text of the U.S. Code as well as the Federal Regulations and CFR. It includes hundreds of scholarly journals in a wide range of disciplines.
 
Finding company financials in LexisNexis:
First, search for a company's profile in LexisNexis by using the "Get Company Info" box in the lower right corner of the search interface or by clicking "Search by Subject or Topic" and choosing "Dossier (Company, Executive or Industry)." LexisNexis company profiles include a section with information on company financials, including mergers and acquisitions, analyst reports, US Securities and Exchange Commission filings, and reports from Zacks Investment Research.
Newspapers and Financial Reporting
Wall Street Journal Restricted Resource database
One of the most important business newspapers in the country. Search and print full-text articles from 1984 to the present.

New York Times Restricted Resource database
One of the most respected papers in the country. Search and print full-text articles from 1995 to the present. 1995 to present.
 
Web Resources
Google Finance Unrestricted Resource

Yahoo! Finance Unrestricted Resource
This site provides various investing and personal finance information.
 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Olivia Olivares

Olivia Olivares
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140E
(320) 308-4822
oolivares@stcloudstate.edu

Research Insight / Capital IQ
NOTE: While this resource is available in the library, it is recommended that you use it in Centennial Hall's computer labs, where assistance is more readily available.

Access to financials, valuation data, sell-side research and estimates, fixed income data, and complex stock and equity screening tools.
Analyst Reports
Morningstar Investment Research Center Restricted Resource
Analyst reports, Funds and ETF screeners, market indexes and sector reports. Access all from the grey menu bar near the top of the page.

NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's) Restricted Resource database
Links to analyst reports and market information available on the database's main page include the Advanced Stock Screener (P/E, beta, divident yield percentage, and other information), the Mutual Fund Screener (net assets, net expense ratio, manager tenure, and other information), the Corporate Bond Screener (sales price, current yield, and other information) and Compustat Excel Analytics.

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase

Value Line Investment Survey
REF HG4501 .V26 Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Value Line covers more than 1,700 companies listed on the major U.S. stock exchanges. The "Weekly summary and index" gives ratios, rankings, and price data in an alphabetical list. Detailed listings for each company are arranged in "Ratings and reports" sections, grouped by industry sectors, each introduced with an industry overview. Each also includes Value Line ratings, projections, and betas. The "Weekly selection and opinion" contains predictions about economic conditions and outlook, with profiles on recommended investments.
Ratios
Value Line Investment Survey
REF HG4501 .V26 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Value Line covers more than 1,700 companies listed on the major U.S. stock exchanges. The "Weekly summary and index" gives ratios, rankings, and price data in an alphabetical list. Detailed listings for each company are arranged in "Ratings and reports" sections, grouped by industry sectors, each introduced with an industry overview. Each also includes Value Line ratings, projections, and betas. The "Weekly selection and opinion" contains predictions about economic conditions and outlook, with profiles on recommended investments.

Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios
REF HF5681 .R25 I532x (Agriculture), REF HF5681 .R25 I534x (Finance), REF HF5681 .R25 I552x (Manufacturing), REF HF5681 .R25 I562x (Retailing), REF HF5681 .R25 I572x (Wholesaling)
This source provides access to financial statistics in spreadsheet form on nearly 800 lines of business, including financial statement profiles by industry segment; 14 different financial ratios measuring profitability, efficiency, liquidity and solvency; and up to three years of industry normative data for tracking trends. Five sets are available: agriculture, mining, construction, transportation, communication, utilities; finance, real estate, services; manufacturing; retailing; and wholesaling.

Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
REF HF5681 .R25 A45 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Ratios for industry-wide inventory turnover, current assets to working capital, quick ratio, asset turnover, and others. Also included: debt ratios, returns on assets, returns on equity, and profit margins. Industry information is divided into thirteen categories based on company size.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University