The Library at St. Cloud State University

Where in the World Do They Speak French?
Francophone Countries
Multimedia
50 best blogs for Francophiles Unrestricted Resource
Noteworthy blogs for learning the French language and culture.

Femmes ecrivains et litterature africaine Unrestricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audioebook
"This website, available in French and English, is maintained by the University of Western Australia's French department. It provides access to literary and biographical information for female authors writing in French in sub-Saharan Africa. Archives are available dating back to 2000." (Francophone Africa, Indiana University Bloomington Libraries)

Films on Demand: World Languages Restricted Resource Resource contains videodatabase
Online streaming videos and video segments through Films on Demand covering languages: Chinese, French, German, Italian, Japanese, and Spanish.

Francais interactif Unrestricted Resource Some full text availableebook
Free OERs (Open Educational Resources) for French study, including a free online textbook and "Tex's French grammar".

Free French Listening Resources Podcast Unrestricted Resource Resource contains audio
Videos and podcasts with captions and transcripts for reading/listening practice.

French games for learners Unrestricted Resource
Online French games for children and young adults.

French Internet Resources Unrestricted Resource
A St. Cloud State web page, listing some major resources for France and French speaking countries. Includes listing of gateways, sources of news (in French and in English) about France and French things.

French Newsreels in Video Restricted Resource Resource contains videodatabase
75 hours of French language news coverage from 1940-1946 via Alexander Street Press.

LangMedia Unrestricted Resource Resource contains video
Language videos by country.

Liberte Unrestricted Resource Some full text availableebook
Free online textbook for first year French.

REALIA project Unrestricted Resource Resource contains images
Realia (materials) that convey life in different cultures; reviewed by language faculty.
Articles, Newspapers, Databases
Online Databases with Non-English Language Content Unrestricted Resource
Helpful strategies on how to search for articles in French, Spanish, German, Russian, or other languages as they are available in our databases. Compiled by Olivia Olivares.

Africultures Unrestricted Resource
"The website for the print journal of the same name, Africultures covers the arts, cinema, literature, music, theater, and other cultural topics for many African countries and other countries in the world, but focuses mainly on Francophone Africa. All 7000+ articles are available online in a searchable format, except from the last four issues. Daily updates to the website are made in French, with a monthly English version." (Francophone Africa, Indiana University Bloomington Libraries)

Afrik.com Unrestricted Resource
"This Paris-based website, created by black African and Maghreb-based journalists, is available in both English and French. Afrik.com is an Afrocentric news website covering current events, culture, and economics, especially focusing on Francophone Africa." (Francophone Africa resources, Indiana University Bloomington Libraries)

Le Figaro Unrestricted Resource
Conservative French newspaper.

Le Monde Unrestricted Resource
French newspaper with the broadest international circulation.

Le Nouvelle Observateur Unrestricted Resource
Free online version of the French newspaper Le Nouvelle Observateur.

Le Parisien Unrestricted Resource
French newspaper that covers international, French, and Parisian-centered news. Neutral in tone.

Academic Search Premier (all topics) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
JSTOR provides unique access to full text backfiles for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles.

MLA International Bibliography (Languages & Literature) Restricted Resource findit database
Comprehensive current index to articles and chapters in scholarly collections for literature, linguistics, and folklore. Covers all the world's languages and literatures, both contemporary and historical.
Note: 1963 - present

Project MUSE Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Full-text access to more than 150 scholarly journals and eBooks in all disciplines published by Johns Hopkins University and several other university presses.
Websites
American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages Unrestricted Resource
"The American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL) is the only national organization dedicated to the improvement and expansion of the teaching and learning of all languages at all levels of instruction. ACTFL is an individual membership organization of more than 9,000 foreign language educators and administrators from elementary through graduate education, as well as government and industry." (from website)

American Translators Association Unrestricted Resource
"ATA is a professional association founded to advance the translation and interpreting professions and foster the professional development of individual translators and interpreters. Its 10,000 members in more than 90 countries include translators, interpreters, teachers, project managers, web and software developers, language company owners, hospitals, universities, and government agencies." (from website) They offer a certiciation exam for translators, seminars and mini-conferences, as well as an annual conference.

Association for French Language Studies Unrestricted Resource
"AFLS was founded in 1981 to encourage and promote language teaching activies and research in French Language and Linguistics as areas worthy of consideration in their own right. The Association acts as a forum for scholarly discussion and for the exchange of information among those interested and engaged in teaching French in Higher Education." (from website) AFLS also publishes The Journal of French Language Studies and organizes an annual conference in the UK or a Francophone country.

CARLA: Center for Advanced Research on Language Acquisition Unrestricted Resource
"The Center for Advanced Research on Language Acquisition (CARLA) is one of the US Department of Educatin's Title VI National Language Resource Centers, whose role is to improve the nation's capacity to teach and learn foreign languages effectively." (From website). Its headquarters are on the University of Minnesota's Twin Cities campus. CARLA organizes an annual conference, second language proficiency assessments, and a working paper series.

Central States Conference on the Teaching of Foreign Language Unrestricted Resource
"Founded and incorporated in 1969, the Central States Conference on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (CSCTFL) is a regional foreign language organization that serves 17 Midwestern states through its annual spring conference...CSCTFL’s aim is to promote the study of world languages on all levels of instruction. CSCTFL publishes the Central Connection three times a year: the Conference Preview, the Conference Preliminary Program, and the Conference Program, It also publishes a conference proceedings book, the CSC Report." (from website)

Language Conferences Worldwide Unrestricted Resource
Schedule of language-related conferences taking place around the world. Includes conferences for linguistics, second language acquisition, humanities, and other subject areas.

Modern Language Association Unrestricted Resource
"Founded in 1883, the Modern Language Association of America provides opportunities for its members to share their scholarly findings and teaching experiences with colleagues and to discuss trends in the academy. MLA members host an annual convention and other meetings, work with related organizations, and sustain one of the finest publishing programs in the humanities. For over a hundred years, members have worked to strengthen the study and teaching of language and literature." (From website)

World Languages Day Unrestricted Resource
"World Languages Day is a free, all-day conference for high school students, teachers, and parents. Participants can choose from a wide variety of sessions on language, culture, globalization, and general information about Michigan State University." (From website)
Books and EBooks
Ebooks in French: Electronic Books Online: Public Domain Texts Unrestricted Resource ebook
Public domain ebooks from Project Gutenberg, the Bibliotheque Nationale, and other reputable sources.

Free French EBooks Unrestricted Resource ebook
"15 sites with free French ebooks covering over thousands of free titles" (from website). Includes one site containing French Canadian ebooks.

Facts About the World's Languages: An Encyclopedia of the World's Major Languages, Past and Present
REF P371 .F33 2000 Unrestricted Resource ebook Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Each of the 191 chapters is written by an expert and devoted to a single language. Three indexes are included for cross reference: Language by Country, Language by Family, Language by Alternate Names. Entry Headings include: Language Name, Location, Family, Related Languages, Dialects, Number of Speakers, Origin and History, Orthography and Basic Phonology, Basic Morphology, Basic Syntax, Contact with Other Languages, Common Words, Selected Bibliography, and Efforts to Preserve, Protect, and Promote the Language. (Amazon Editorial Review)

Collins French Dictionary Online Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Easy to use online dictionary.

Facts on File English/French Visual Dictionary
REFERENCE PE1629 .C643 1987x Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Visuals with names, organized by themes.  Indexed.

Grand Dictionnaire Français-Anglais, Anglais-Français
REFERENCE PC2640 .G68 1993 Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Large unabridged French-English, English-French dictionary by Larousse.

Harrap's New Standard French and English Dictionary
REF PC2640 .H33 1972x Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
A French-English Dictionary. Detailed entries, including obsolete, archaic, abstruse, scientific, etc.
Note: 1970

Larousse Dictionnaire Compact Français-Anglais, Anglais-Français
REFERENCE PC2640 .L317 1993 Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Larousse concise French-English, English-French dictionary.

Le Robert & Collins senior dictionnaire francais-anglais, anglais-francais
REFERENCE PC2640 .C69 1998 Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability

Mistakable French: A Dictionary of Words and Phrases Easily Confused
PC2593 .T46 1985 Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Dictionary of usage errors, synonyms, and antonyms.

Oxford-Hatchette French Dictionary: French-English, English-French
REFERENCE PC2640 .O83 2007 Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Bilingual dictionary that includes acronyms, slang, sample bills and sample rental agreements.

Business French Dictionary Unrestricted Resource ebook
Specialized French business dictionary for translators. Subscription version.
Facts, Definitions, and Overviews

Biographical Dictionary of French Political Leaders Since 1870
MAIN DC342 .B56 1990 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
A dictionary listing of biographies of French political leaders since 1870. Entries are about a page in length. With a list of Prime Ministers, Post-War Union Leadership, Fifth Republic Party Leadership, Index.
Note: 1870-1990

Critical Dictionary of the French Revolution
REF DC148 .D5313 1989 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
More like an encyclopedia than a dictionary, this work has fairly lengthy articles (sometimes over 10 pages) on topics and personages of the French Revolution. Each entry includes recommended readings and a list of related topics. Also included is a section on Historians and Commentators, summarizing their views on the French Revolution. Name index, subject index, and alphabetical listing of articles. Color illustrations.

Dictionary of Literary Biography
Print Location: REFERENCE PN451 .D54 and online
Contains in-depth biographical information on writers, poets, and playwrights world-wide. Each entry places the major works in the context of that person's life. Entries include a list of major works of the author, and a list of references.

Dictionary of Modern French Literature : From the Age of Reason through Realism
PQ41 .D65 1986 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Biographies of French authors; literary criticism.

Encyclopedia of Contemporary French Culture
REF DC33.7 .E53 1998 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
More like a dictionary than an encyclopedia, it contains short articles (1 or 2 pages maximum, as short as a few sentences). Topics covered include: art, cinema, economic issues, eduction, food and wine, intellectual life, linguistic issues, literature, media, politics, transport, technology. With an index.

Encyclopedia of Modern French Thought
REF DC33.7 .E55 2004 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
This wide-ranging guide to twentieth-century French thought reflects current research, including all of the major disciplines, such as philosophy, literary theory, sociology, linguistics, political thought, and theology. The Encyclopedia's approximately 240 entries fall into two categories: those on individuals and those on themes, concepts, and historical background. (Amazon Editorial Review)

Encyclopedia of Napoleon's Europe
REF DC147 .P34 1984 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
An encyclopedia of events, persons, and issues in Europe (widely construed to include conquered areas) in the time of Napoleon.

Feminist Encyclopedia of French Literature
REF PQ149 .F47 1999 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
A feminist encyclopedia of French literature. Mostly covers female French authors, though some male. Also has entries for major concepts, e.g., "postmodernism", or topics "World War II: Resistance", etc. Short entries (1 page or so), with a bibliography of primary and secondary texts for each entry. Volume has a general bibliography, a chronology, and an index.

French Novelists, 1900-1930
REFERENCE PN451 .D54 v.65x Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Biographies of 20th century French novelists. Also available through Dictionary of Literary Biography online.

French Novelists, 1930-1960
REFERENCE PN451 .D54 v.72x Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Biographies of 20th century French novelists.  Also available through Dictionary of Literary Biography online.

French Women Writers : A Bio-bibliographical Source Book
REFERENCE PQ149 .F73 1991 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Biographies and bibliographical references for French women writers.

Guide to French Literature
REF PQ226 .L48 1992x Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
A guide to French literature, from earliest times. Essentially, a scholarly encyclopedia of French authors. Entries range up to 6 pages and more. Each entry has a a list of works, including works by and works about the author. With a glossary, title index, general index.

New Oxford Companion to Literature in French
REFERENCE PQ41 .N48 1995x Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Bibliography with biographical entries.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Rachel Wexelbaum

Rachel Wexelbaum
Associate Professor, Collection Management Librarian
MC 135D
(320) 308-4756
rswexelbaum@stcloudstate.edu

Academic Search Premier
Search for Books
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University