The Library at St. Cloud State University

Library Resources for Research
FilmStudiesImage
Explore Your Topic

Search for background information on your topic in CREDO Reference

Find and View DVDs and Video
All videos and DVDs are kept behind the Circulation Desk on 1st Floor; ask for them by call number and make note if the item is VHS or DVD. Streaming video is also available to watch on your computer via the library search below or by searching Films on Demand.

Search for Films and Movies at the Miller Center Library

 

Films on Demand Restricted Resource database Resource contains video
Films on Demand is a streaming media system from Films Media Group that provides educational videos online from all disciplines or subject areas. Users can set up their own accounts and create customized playlists.
Find Articles and Film Reviews
The following databases search current and historical periodicals (journals, magazines, and newspapers). To find articles and film reviews, search by general topic, film, cinematographer, director, writer, performer, etc. You can also limit by date.

Start here:

Search for articles
Limit Your Results

For film and performance reviews, try these, too:

Tip: Add "review" and/or "film" as keywords




ProQuest Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Fulltext of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times (1999 to present), The Times of London (index and abstract only), the Wall Street Journal (1984 to present), and the StarTribune of Minneapolis (1986 to present).

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Full page and full article images from the New York Times with searchable fulltext from 1851 through 2009. Full indexing is available for articles, performance and book reviews, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth/marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.
Note: 1851-2009

ProQuest Newspapers: Minneapolis Star Tribune Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Minnesota's biggest newspaper. Search and print full-text articles from 1986 onward.
Search for Books in the Miller Center Library
Books and More Advanced Search (MnPALS Plus)
Search for books, ebooks, video, government publications, recordings, music scores, and other materials available at the library. Use the limits to focus on specific collections.


 
Books on Film Studies are in the Miller Center Basement and have call numbers beginning with PN1992-PN1999.

All videos and DVDs are kept behind the Circulation Desk on 1st floor; ask for them by call number and format (VHS or DVD).


 
 

Ask a Librarian
Reference Desk: (320) 308-4755
Miller Center 1st Floor W
  • Monday-Wednesday: 9:00 am - 9:00 pm
  • Thursday: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
  • Friday: 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • Saturday: 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
  • Sunday: 1:00 pm - 9:00 pm

askref@stcloudstate.edu
Chat (24/7)
Schedule a research consultation
Subject Specialist
Picture: Melissa Prescott

Melissa Prescott
Associate Professor, Librarian
MC 204E
(320) 308-4751
mkprescott@stcloudstate.edu

New York Times Movies

Loading ...

Search Tips for Library Databases
  • Search by concepts, taking out common words like effect, affect, good, bad, etc.
  • Using AND focuses or limits your search (you get fewer results). Using OR broadens or expands your search (you get more results).
  • Use * to search for different word endings (child* searches child, child's, children, children's but also childbirth) and plurals.
  • Use quotation marks around phrases.
  • Try the Advanced Search. Change the "field" you are search using the pull down menu (for example, search for keywords only in the "Title" of an article).
Cite Your Sources
Citation Styles
Choose a citation style (APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian ...) and follow the guidelines for formatting your paper and references.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University