The Library at St. Cloud State University

Explore Your Topic
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook

CREDO provides online access to hundreds of reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is a good place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a topic.

Or start your reserach by browsing the topics in these encyclopedias:  
21st Century Geography: A Reference Handbook Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook

Encyclopedia of Geography Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook

Find Books and Other Resources
 
The Miller Center Library's collection of books, videos, and more can be searched using MnPALS

WorldCat Restricted Resource database
WorldCat is a catalog of materials from thousands of libraries and institutions around the world. Click on the FindIt! button and use Interlibrary Loan to request items St. Cloud State University does not own.

Geography books are located in the Basement West of the Miller Center in the call number range G.  

G1-922 Geography
G1000-3122 Atlases 
GA101-1776 Cartography
GB400-649 Geomorphology
GB651-2998 Hydrology
GF125 Urban geography
GF127 Rural geography

 
Find Journal Articles in Library Databases
Start With: 
Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) covers all subject areas - the social sciences, humanities, and sciences, contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles.

Other Databases to try:
JSTOR and Science Direct are multidisciplinary databases.  To limit to geography journals, use the subject limit option in the Advanced Search.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
JSTOR provides unique access to full text backfiles for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles.

ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Search over 1,200 scholarly journals published by Elsevier.  
 

Search Tips:

  • Search by concepts, taking out common words like effect, affect, good, bad, etc.
  • Using AND focuses or limits your search (you get fewer results). Using OR broadens or expands your search (you get more results).
  • Use * to search for different word endings (child* searches child, child's, children, children's but also childbirth) and plurals.
  • Use quotation marks around phrases.
  • Try the Advanced Search. Change the "field" you are search using the pull down menu (for example, search for keywords only in the "Title" of an article).
Citing Sources
Chicago Manual of Style
Print Location: READY REF Z253 U69 2003 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Online reference source for the Chicago Manual of Style. The Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide is particularly helpful. Official print manual is available in the Ready Reference section of the library, 1st floor. Latest edition is 15th, 2003.


Chicago Manual of Style (OWL at Purdue)
Provides examples of formatting papers, in-text citations, footnotes and endnotes, and reference lists according to the Chicago Manual of Style.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA)
READY REF BF76.7 .P83 2010 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Official manual for APA documentation. Available in print only, in the Ready Reference section of the library, 1st floor. Latest edition is 6th edition, 2010.


APA Formatting and Style Guide from OWL at Purdue
Provides examples of formatting papers, in-text citations, footnotes and endnotes, and reference lists in APA style. Updated according to the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.

 
Geography Organizations
Association of American Geographers
The Association of American Geographers (AAG) is a scientific and educational society founded in 1904. Its 6,500 members share interests in the theory, methods, and practice of geography.

National Council for Geographic Education
The National Council for Geographic Education works to enhance the status and quality of geography teaching and learning.

National Geographic Society
The world’s largest nonprofit scientific and educational organization and sponsor of National Geographic magazine.
Previous Featured Books
North American odyssey : historical geographies for the twenty-first century
E40.5 .N726 2014 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability

The world of maps : map reading and interpretation for the 21st century
GA151 .T93 2014 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Featured Books
Exploring and mapping Alaska: the Russian America era, 1741-1867
GA401 .P6813 2015 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Russia first encountered Alaska in 1741 as part of the most ambitious and expensive expedition of the entire eighteenth century. For centuries since, cartographers have struggled to define and develop the enormous region comprising northeastern Asia, the North Pacific, and Alaska. The forces of nature and the follies of human error conspired to make the area incredibly difficult to map. Exploring and Mapping Alaska focuses on this foundational period in Arctic cartography.

Contested spaces of early America
E18.75 .C68 2014 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Colonial America stretched from Quebec to Buenos Aires and from the Atlantic littoral to the Pacific coast. Although European settlers laid claim to territories they called New Spain, New England, and New France, the reality of living in those spaces had little to do with European kingdoms. Instead, the New World's holdings took their form and shape from the Indian territories they inhabited. These contested spaces throughout the western hemisphere were not unclaimed lands waiting to be conquered and populated but a single vast space, occupied by native communities and defined by the meeting, mingling, and clashing of peoples, creating societies unlike any that the world had seen before.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Michael Gorman

Michael Gorman
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140F
(320) 308-2028
msgorman@stcloudstate.edu

Ask a Librarian

Reference Desk - Miller Center 1st Floor W
  • Monday-Thursday:10:00 am - 6:00 pm
  • Friday: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Phone: 320-308-4755
Email: askref@stcloudstate.edu
Related Guides

Social Studies 

Provides resources for citing sources, writing annotated bibliographies and literature reviews, and doing Social Science research.

Atlases, Maps, and Gazetteers
Citation Styles
Government Publications
Career Information
Jobs and Careers information from the Association of American Geographers (AAG)

Career Services Center
St. Cloud State's Career Services Center works with students to clarify academic major and career aspirations, identify internship and employment opportunities, and offer advising and support at every stage of career development.

CareerOneStop
Sponsored by the US Department of Labor, this resource provides comprehensive, up-to-date, and reliable information on careers and job opportunities. The site is organized into six major areas: Explore Careers, Salary & Benefits, Education & Training, Job Search, Resumes & Interviews, and People & Places to Help. Also contains valuable links to One-Stop Career Centers located in all 50 states.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. Describes what workers do on the job, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations.
Find Background Information on GIS


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University