The Library at St. Cloud State University

Where in the World Do They Speak German?
Countries Where They Speak German
Multimedia
Dialogues for German Learners: Beginners' Level (free iTunes) Unrestricted Resource
"These dialogues will help you to practise and consolidate some of the language skills you are learning, either as part of a language course or as something you need for your work. The aim of the dialogues is to present the new language and structures within a work-related context. You can listen to the dialogues alone or with the accompanying PDF transcripts." [from iTunes]

Deutsch--warum nicht? Unrestricted Resource
"The language course "Deutsch – warum nicht?" tells the story of Andreas, a journalism student who works as a doorman at a hotel. Each series consists of 26 lessons with dialogs, exercises and downloadable audio clips. It is aimed at both beginners and advanced students. "Deutsch – warum nicht?" was created in collaboration with the Goethe-Institut." [adapted from website]

Open Culture: German: Learn Languages for Free Unrestricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Listing of free online German language learning resources.

Films on Demand: World Languages Restricted Resource Resource contains videodatabase
Online streaming videos and video segments through Films on Demand covering languages: Chinese, French, German, Italian, Japanese, and Spanish.

Free German Listening Activities Unrestricted Resource Resource contains audio
Select audio files for German students of all abilities.

LangMedia Unrestricted Resource Resource contains video
Language videos by country.

Mission Berlin Unrestricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Learn German through a mystery adventure series that will take you through Berlin. Learn about German history and culture in the process of having fun.

Pump up your German with Podcasts Unrestricted Resource Resource contains audio
German language, slang, culture, comedy, and music podcasts.

REALIA project Unrestricted Resource Resource contains images
Realia (materials) that convey life in different cultures; reviewed by language faculty.
Books and Ebooks
10 Sites with Free German EBooks Unrestricted Resource

German: Download Audiobooks and EBooks for All Devices Unrestricted Resource ebook
Classic public domain German literature.

Project Gutenberg: German Unrestricted Resource
Public domain classics in German.
Journals, Newspapers, and Databases
Stern Unrestricted Resource
Popular German magazine available online.

Der Spiegel Unrestricted Resource
German news magazine. English version also available.

Academic Search Premier (all topics) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
Search over 2,000 scholarly journals covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Note: 1954 to present

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
JSTOR provides unique access to full text backfiles for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles.

MLA International Bibliography (Languages & Literature) Restricted Resource findit database
Comprehensive current index to articles and chapters in scholarly collections for literature, linguistics, and folklore. Covers all the world's languages and literatures, both contemporary and historical.
Note: 1963 - present

Online Databases with Non-English Language Content Unrestricted Resource
Helpful strategies on how to search for articles in French, Spanish, German, Russian, or other languages as they are available in our databases. Compiled by Olivia Olivares.

Project MUSE Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Full-text access to more than 150 scholarly journals and eBooks in all disciplines published by Johns Hopkins University and several other university presses.
Facts, Definitions, Overviews
Facts About the World's Languages: An Encyclopedia of the World's Major Languages, Past and Present
REF P371 .F33 2000 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Each of the 191 chapters is written by an expert and devoted to a single language. Three indexes are included for cross reference: Language by Country, Language by Family, Language by Alternate Names. Entry Headings include: Language Name, Location, Family, Related Languages, Dialects, Number of Speakers, Origin and History, Orthography and Basic Phonology, Basic Morphology, Basic Syntax, Contact with Other Languages, Common Words, Selected Bibliography, and Efforts to Preserve, Protect, and Promote the Language. (Amazon Editorial Review)

Oxford-Duden German Dictionary
REF PF3640 .O95 1997 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
A German-English/English German dictionary, one which should be large enough for most undergraduate work.

Austria: Society and Regions
REF DB17 .L53 2000 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Actually a regional geography book, with more than half the content being textual, though there are many color illustrations and maps. Topics covered include: history; politics; population; environment; farming; etc. With a bibliography, index of subjects and index of geographical names.

Dictionary of Literary Biography
Print Location: REFERENCE PN451 .D54 and online
Contains in-depth biographical information on writers, poets, and playwrights world-wide. Each entry places the major works in the context of that person's life. Entries include a list of major works of the author, and a list of references.

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.

Deutsche Grundsprache: Wort- und Satzlexikon
REF PF3640 .M27x Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
A dictionary-style list of a limited number of basic German words and phrases. Each entry for a noun, for instance, gives some common adjectives, an example of declension, the word-family it belongs to, etc. This book is meant more for reading & study, to acclimate one to the idiosyncrasies of the German language. Dated but useful.

Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart; allgemeine Enzyklopadie der Musik
REF ML100 .M92 Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
German music encyclopedia (in German). Forerunner of Grove's Music and Musicians. Excellent for complete listings of composer's works. Bd. 1. Aachen-Blumner.--Bd. 2. Boccherini-Da Ponte.--Bd. 3. Daquin-Fechner.--Bd. 4. Fede-Gesangspadagogik.--Bd. 5. Gesellschaften-Hayne.--Bd. 6. Head-Jenny.--Bd. 7. Jensen-Kyrie.--Bd. 8. Laaff-Mejtus.--Bd. 9. Mel-Onslow.--Bd. 10. Oper-Rappresentazione.--Bd. 11. Rasch-Schnyder von Wartensee.--Bd. 12. Schoberlechner-symphonische Dichtung.--Bd. 13. Syrinx-Volksgesang, volksmusik und Volkstanz.--Bd. 14. Vollerthun-Zyganow.--Bd. 15. Supplement: Aachen-Dyson.--Bd. 16. Supplement, Earsden-Zweibrucken

Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture
REF DD290.26 .E53 1999 Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
More than half of the material deals with literature, but the coverage includes events, movements, non-literary personages, some rock bands, etc. Entries range from short paragraph to a few pages.

Encyclopedia of German Literature
REF PT91 .E53 2000 Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
An encyclopedia of German literature. Presents the work of German literature scholars in Anglo-American countries. Entries are from a page long to several; sometimes there is a section devoted to each one of the author's works. Each entry has a brief biography, a list of selected works, and recommendations for further reading.

Feminist Encyclopedia of German Literature
REF PT41 .F46 1997 Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
A feminist encyclopedia of German literature. Covers the entire range of topics in German Studies. Focuses less on the persons and more on their works. Entries tend to be about a page in length. Includes an appendix of names and an index.

Encyclopedia of German Resistance to the Nazi Movement
REF DD256.5 .L51313 1997 Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Despite the encyclopedia title, this book is more a collection of essays (about 5 pgs. in length) on resistance to the Nazi movement. Consists of a general overview, encyclopedia of resistance groups, and biographical sketches.

Encyclopedia of the Third Reich
DD256.5 .S92 1989 Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
An encyclopedia of the Third Reich. Short entries dealing with the people, places, and events of the Third Reich.

Oxford Companion to German Literature
REF PT41 .G3 1986 Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
A companion to German literature. Short entries in alphabetical order, providing the factual background that might be required whilst reading German literature.

 
Websites
American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages Unrestricted Resource
"The American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL) is the only national organization dedicated to the improvement and expansion of the teaching and learning of all languages at all levels of instruction. ACTFL is an individual membership organization of more than 9,000 foreign language educators and administrators from elementary through graduate education, as well as government and industry." (from website)

American Translators Association Unrestricted Resource
"ATA is a professional association founded to advance the translation and interpreting professions and foster the professional development of individual translators and interpreters. Its 10,000 members in more than 90 countries include translators, interpreters, teachers, project managers, web and software developers, language company owners, hospitals, universities, and government agencies." (from website) They offer a certiciation exam for translators, seminars and mini-conferences, as well as an annual conference.

CARLA: Center for Advanced Research on Language Acquisition Unrestricted Resource
"The Center for Advanced Research on Language Acquisition (CARLA) is one of the US Department of Educatin's Title VI National Language Resource Centers, whose role is to improve the nation's capacity to teach and learn foreign languages effectively." (From website). Its headquarters are on the University of Minnesota's Twin Cities campus. CARLA organizes an annual conference, second language proficiency assessments, and a working paper series.

Central States Conference on the Teaching of Foreign Language Unrestricted Resource
"Founded and incorporated in 1969, the Central States Conference on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (CSCTFL) is a regional foreign language organization that serves 17 Midwestern states through its annual spring conference...CSCTFL’s aim is to promote the study of world languages on all levels of instruction. CSCTFL publishes the Central Connection three times a year: the Conference Preview, the Conference Preliminary Program, and the Conference Program, It also publishes a conference proceedings book, the CSC Report." (from website)

German Language School Conference Unrestricted Resource
GLSC is the national umbrella organization for private German language schools in the United States. The organization projects a positive image of the language and culture of German speaking countries, providing a forum for pedagogical, administrative, legal, social, and other issues for member schools. They offer continuous education and an annual conference for sharing pedagogical ideas and professional experiences.

Language Conferences Worldwide Unrestricted Resource
Schedule of language-related conferences taking place around the world. Includes conferences for linguistics, second language acquisition, humanities, and other subject areas.

Modern Language Association Unrestricted Resource
"Founded in 1883, the Modern Language Association of America provides opportunities for its members to share their scholarly findings and teaching experiences with colleagues and to discuss trends in the academy. MLA members host an annual convention and other meetings, work with related organizations, and sustain one of the finest publishing programs in the humanities. For over a hundred years, members have worked to strengthen the study and teaching of language and literature." (From website)

World Languages Day Unrestricted Resource
"World Languages Day is a free, all-day conference for high school students, teachers, and parents. Participants can choose from a wide variety of sessions on language, culture, globalization, and general information about Michigan State University." (From website)
Subject Specialist
Picture: Rachel Wexelbaum

Rachel Wexelbaum
Associate Professor, Collection Management Librarian
MC 135D
(320) 308-4756
rswexelbaum@stcloudstate.edu

Search for Books
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search

Academic Search Premier


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University