The Library at St. Cloud State University

Gerontology (Aging)

Library Resources for Research
Find Journal Articles in Databases
Start With: 

AgeLine Restricted Resource database
AgeLine focuses exclusively on the population aged 50+ abd issues of aging. The premier source for social gerontology literature, it includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics and public policy.

Other Databases: 
PsycINFO Restricted Resource findit database
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.

PubMed
"PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books."

Scopus (Science) Restricted Resource findit database
Science, technology, engineering, medical and some social sciences literature from 15,000 scholarly journals from 4,000 international publishers.

Social Services Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other informaiton focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300  journals as well as dissertations, and citations to book reviews.

Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
Sociological Abstracts is the primary index to articles and conference proceedings for sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study. It also provides links to full text articles from Academic Press journals where appropriate. Links to fulltext where SCSU maintains fulltext subscriptions.
Note: 1963 to Present


Journal Lists:

Gerontology
Geriatrics
Reference and Facts

Search for background information on your topic in CREDO Reference


Cambridge Handbook of Age and Ageing Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
The Cambridge Handbook of Age and Ageing is a state-of-the-art guide to the current body of knowledge, theory, policy and practice relevant to age researchers and gerontologists around the world. The broad focus of the book is on the behavioural and social sciences but it also includes important contributions from the biological and medical sciences.

Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref
Provides a comprehensive summary and evaluation of recent research on the social aspects of aging.
Find Web Resources
Association for Gerontology in Higher Education
The Association for Gerontology in Higher Education (aka AGHE) is the international leader in advancing education on aging and is the only institutional membership organization devoted primarily to gerontology and geriatrics education since 1974.

ElderWeb
"Award-winning online eldercare sourcebook."

Gerontological Society of America
GSA's goal is "to promote the scientific study of aging...and to foster growth and diffusion of knowledge relating to problems of aging and of the sciences contributing to [their] understanding...."

Institute of Gerontology - Wayne State University
The mission of the IOG is to increase knowledge about aging, improve the practice of gerontology, and influence public policy. A useful site for advanced gerontology research information.

National Center on Elder Abuse
"The NCEA is the place to turn to for up-to-date information regarding research, training, best practices, news and resources on elder abuse, neglect and exploitation. "

National Institute on Aging (NIA)
NIA, one of the National Institutes of Health, promotes healthy aging by conducting and supporting biomedical, social, and behavioral research and public education.
 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Cindy Gruwell

Cindy Gruwell
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140D
(320) 308-1508
cagruwell@stcloudstate.edu

Exploring Scholarly Literature
Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
An interactive guide that describes the features of a scholarly research article (NCSU Libraries).

How to Read a Scholarly Article
 
 

Popular Magazines vs. Trade Magazines vs. Scholarly Journals (CSU)
Provides general criteria that can be used to distinguish between popular magazines, trade magazines, and scholarly journals.

Find Statistics
Age Data
Statistical data from the U.S. Census Bureau.
FASTSTATS: Older Person's Health
Statistics concerning health status, risk and utilization for the elderly
National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging (NACDA)
NACDA, located within ICPSR, is U.S.'s largest library of electronic data on aging.
Research and Citation Guides
Citation Styles (APA, MLA, etc.)
Consult examples of APA, MLA, Chicago, etc. citation styles and use RefWorks to manage your references and format your bibliography.
RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU. ​


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University