The Library at St. Cloud State University

GLST 495: Senior Seminar in Global Studies

GLST 495: Senior Seminar in Global Studies
Mercado, Gdansk, Polonia, 2013-05-20, DD 02
Explore Your Topic Online
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.

SAGE Reference Online Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides access to 90 full-text specialized encyclopedias that offer excellent background information on a topic.

Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref
Provides an informative guide to the myriad discrete ethnic and cultural groupings that have inhabited our planet over the past 6000 years.


Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
This work covers the many important areas of overlap between anthropology and related disciplines, and includes key terms, ideas, and people.


Sage Dictionary of Cultural Studies Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
Provides an unparalled guide to the terrain of cultural studies. The definitions are authoritative, stimulating and written in an accessible style. There are up-to-date entries on new concepts and innovative approaches.



 
Find Journal Articles in Library Databases
Start With: 
Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

Other Databases to try:
Use the Advanced Search option to limit to specific subject.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
JSTOR provides unique access to full text backfiles for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles.

ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Search over 1,200 scholarly journals published by Elsevier. ScienceDirect is multisubject, but specializes in science. Note: We do not have full text access to all journals. 1993 to present for Academic Press journals; 1996 to present for Elsevier journals

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
Search over 2,000 scholarly journals covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Note: 1954 to present

Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.


Google Scholar Restricted Resource database
Google Scholar allows you to search the Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles available from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. When on campus click on "Available via SCSU FindIt" to locate the item through the Library's subscriptions.   


Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Unrestricted Resource
Login with your StarID and complete an interlibrary loan request form to order a book or article that is not available from our library. You will receive an email when your item is available for you.


Databases A-Z

FindIt!  This software checks all SCSU library databases to locate full text of articles. If full text is not available, read the screen to see if the library has a copy in another format (bound volumes, microfiche, recent issues) or if you need to use interlibrary loan to get a copy.
Find Books
Books and More Search (MnPALS Plus)
Click Advanced Search for more options.

WorldCat Restricted Resource database
WorldCat is a catalog of materials from thousands of libraries and institutions around the world. Click on the FindIt! button and use Interlibrary Loan to request items St. Cloud State University does not own.

E-Books at SCSU Unrestricted Resource
Links to E-book collections subscribed to by the Miller Center at SCSU.
Surveys & Statistics
Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods

SCSU Statistical Consulting and Research Center


American FactFinder Unrestricted Resource database
Tables and maps of most recent demographic and economic data for all geographies including the U.S., states, counties, cities, towns, American Indian reservations, metropolitan areas, zip codes, census tracts, blocks, and more. Produced by the US Census Bureau.

National Center for Education Statistics Unrestricted Resource
This official agency site includes: Education Statistics at a Glance which is comprised of The Condition of Education, The Digest of Education Statistics, and Projections of Education Statistics. In addition, there is a searchable database of NCES tables and figures. This search tool lets the user locate all tables/figures published in the inventory of NCES' "Education Statistics Quarterly"; the NEDRC (National Education Data Resource Center) Postsecondary Table Library; and many NCES publications.


Bureau of Labor Statistics Unrestricted Resource
"The Bureau of Labor Statistics is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics."

MPI Data Hub Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
MPI provides current immigration statistics, maps, and other data for:
  • US--national and state level demographic, social, and economic characteristics
  • Europe, North America, Oceania--national level migration patterns, net migration, and historical data
  • Selected regional and national comparative statistics. Also publishes Migration Information Source, an online journal of articles on policy issues and data sources.


NationMaster Unrestricted Resource
Comparative country statistics. Compilation of data from sources such as CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. User can generate maps and graphs and view more than 5,000 statistical points.



FedStats Unrestricted Resource
More than 100 agencies in the United States Federal Government produce statistics of interest to the public.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Robin Ewing

Robin Ewing
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 130B
(320) 308-2093
rlewing@stcloudstate.edu

Ask a Librarian - Write Place

Questions? Ask a Librarian...

Phone: 320-308-4755
 
Write Place
The Write Place offers free, one-on-one tutoring to all members of the St. Cloud State University community, at any stage in the writing process. They are located in Building 51 and also have a satellite location in the library on first floor.
Citing Sources
Chicago/Turabian Documentation from the University of Wisconsin Unrestricted Resource
Provides examples on formatting your paper and creating your works cited list in Chicago/Turabian style.


RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.

RefWorks Basics (.pdf) Unrestricted Resource
A one-page guide with directions for managing citations and creating bibliographies in RefWorks.

RefWorks Help Unrestricted Resource
Use this step-by-step guide to set up a RefWorks account (must be done on a campus computer), to import citations from library databases, and to create a bibliography.
 


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University