The Library at St. Cloud State University

Business - General

Manufacturing and Distribution USA
News and Journal Articles
ABI/INFORM (Business) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
ABI/INFORM indexes content from 3,200 trade publications and scholarly journals (with full text or full-image for 2,100 titles) that help students and researchers track business conditions, trends, management techniques, corporate strategies, and industry-specific topics worldwide.
Note: 1972 to present

Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.

Emerald FullText Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Emerald provides access to the fulltext content or more than 100 management and information services journals published by MCBPress (UK). Among the journal titles for business are European Business Review, European Journal of Marketing, Benchmarking, Balance Sheet, International Journal of Public Sector Management, International Marketing Review, and Journal of Consumer Marketing; titles for information services include Library Hi Tech, and Reference Services Review.


LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online full text databases covering News, Business, Legal, Medical, and Reference. News includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, broadcast transcripts, regional and international news sources, scholarly & trade journals, and a guide to current issues. Business includes company SEC reports, company profiles and financial data, and accounting literature and standards. Law resources include law reviews (journals), federal and state congressional laws as well as federal court cases. Includes the text of the U.S. Code as well as the Federal Regulations and CFR. It includes hundreds of scholarly journals in a wide range of disciplines.

Regional Business News Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
A supplemental database for customers of Business Source Premier. With daily updates, Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). Regional Business News has full text for more than 60 sources.

Wall Street Journal Restricted Resource database
One of the most important business newspapers in the country. Search, view, and print full-text articles from 1984 to the present.

 

 

Company Research
Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
 
Finding company profiles and news in Business Source Premier:
At the top of the BSP web page, you'll see a blue bar with links to various items; one of these is "Company Profiles." Click to get company profiles from MarketLine, a well-known and reputable business intelligence company. Key information presented in MarketLine profiles includes company sales, revenue, SWOT analyses and primary competitors.
To find news about the company, enter the correct name of the company (for example, "Costco Wholesale Corporations," not "Costco") in the search interface. You'll find the correct name by looking in the Company Profiles listing. Make sure to specify in the drop-down menu in the search interface that you're searching by "CO Company Entity." - See more at: http://research.stcloudstate.edu/page.phtml?page_id=580#sthash.wm58Lqz6.dpuf
To find news about the company, enter the correct name of the company (for example, "Costco Wholesale Corporations," not "Costco") in the search interface. You'll find the correct name by looking in the Company Profiles listing. Make sure to specify in the drop-down menu in the search interface that you're searching by "CO Company Entity." - See more at: http://research.stcloudstate.edu/page.phtml?page_id=580#sthash.wm58Lqz6.dpuf


To find news about the company, enter the correct name of the company (for example, J. C. Penney, not "jc penney" or "Penney's") in the search interface. Use the drop-down menu in the search interface to specify that you're searching for a company by clicking "CO Company Entity."



 
To find news about the company, enter the correct name of the company (for example, "Costco Wholesale Corporations," not "Costco") in the search interface. You'll find the correct name by looking in the Company Profiles listing. Make sure to specify in the drop-down menu in the search interface that you're searching by "CO Company Entity." - See more at: http://research.stcloudstate.edu/page.phtml?page_id=580#sthash.wm58Lqz6.dpufLexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online full text databases covering News, Business, Legal, Medical, and Reference. News includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, broadcast transcripts, regional and international news sources, scholarly & trade journals, and a guide to current issues. Business includes company SEC reports, company profiles and financial data, and accounting literature and standards. Law resources include law reviews (journals), federal and state congressional laws as well as federal court cases. Includes the text of the U.S. Code as well as the Federal Regulations and CFR. It includes hundreds of scholarly journals in a wide range of disciplines.
LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online full text databases covering News, Business, Legal, Medical, and Reference. News includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, broadcast transcripts, regional and international news sources, scholarly & trade journals, and a guide to current issues. Business includes company SEC reports, company profiles and financial data, and accounting literature and standards. Law resources include law reviews (journals), federal and state congressional laws as well as federal court cases. Includes the text of the U.S. Code as well as the Federal Regulations and CFR. It includes hundreds of scholarly journals in a wide range of disciplines.
 
Using LexisNexis to find company information:
There's a small box on the lower left corner of the initial interface marked "Get Company Info - over 80 million companies." Click to get the company search interface (by company name or ticker symbol), or click on "Company Dossier" for the full range of search possibilities. Company Dossier will also allow you to search for company executives or for industry information. Alternatively, you can click on "Search by Subject or Topic" in the upper-right corner, then select "Dossier," "Company Profiles," or "SEC Filings."
 
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) Unrestricted Resource
This site allows users to access the EDGAR database of corporate SEC filings, SEC news digests and public statements, current SEC rulemaking, proposals and final rules, SEC enforcement actions, etc.

Value Line Investment Survey
REF HG4501 .V26 Unrestricted Resource Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Value Line covers more than 1,700 companies listed on the major U.S. stock exchanges. The "Weekly summary and index" gives ratios, rankings, and price data in an alphabetical list. Detailed listings for each company are arranged in "Ratings and reports" sections, grouped by industry sectors, each introduced with an industry overview. Each also includes Value Line ratings, projections, and betas. The "Weekly selection and opinion" contains predictions about economic conditions and outlook, with profiles on recommended investments.

Hoover's Handbook of Private Companies
REF HG4057 .A28616 Unrestricted Resource Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Subject Specialist
Picture: Olivia Olivares

Olivia Olivares
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140E
(320) 308-4822
oolivares@stcloudstate.edu

Reference resources: encyclopedias, etc.
Credo Reference - Business titles Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains imageseref ebook
Over one hundred encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks related to aspects of business and economics, both general and subtopic-specific. All resources are full-text, and individual entries can be printed. 
Market Research
Market Share Reporter
REF HF5415.M37x Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
A compilation of market share statistics on companies, products and services, drawn from periodical sources providing a unique source of data for competitive analysis and marketing research. Indexed by SIC code, brand name, product category or company name. Most recent five years are in Reference; older editions are located in the Main Collection.



SRDS Media Solutions Advertising Sources Restricted Resource database
The Standard Rate and Data Service (SRDS) is a collection of databases offering information of interest to advertising and marketing students, including the Business Media Advertising Source and Consumer Media Advertising Source. Most importantly, SRDS offers access to Claritas Segmentation and Market Solutions, the online replacement for the print resource, Lifestyle Market Analyst.  
Industry Reports and Research
NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's) Restricted Resource database
A comprehensive source of business and investment information including industry surveys, stock reports, company descriptions and financials, and mutual fund research. For tips, see the NetAdvantage User Guide.
 
Using NetAdvantage to find industry trends and information:
Click on "Industries" in the menu bar at the top of the page to get to the primary search interface for industries. From here, you can search a list of in-depth S&P industry surveys. You can also do a search for an industry survey by company name, if you're unsure of the industry in which your company is classified.
 
LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase

Using LexisNexis to find industry trends and information:
Click on "Search by Subject or Topic," then select "Market and Industry Reports."

Manufacturing and Distribution USA: Industry Analyses, Statistics and Leading Companies
REF HD 9721 .M364 [year] Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Provides statistical information on the U.S. manufacturing sector, including data on major companies within each industry. Data includes financial ratios, employee compensation, sales, and materials consumed within each industry. Arranged by NAICS code.
Note: 2000 - present

Industries at a Glance from the U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics.

U.S. Economic Census Unrestricted Resource
The U.S. Economic Census offers detailed statistics and information on all aspects of business and industry in the United States, including retail trade, manufacturing, and other sectors.

North American Industry Classification System Unrestricted Resource
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) has replaced the U.S. Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system. This site includes tables to NAICS-to-SIC and SIC-to-NAICS conversion. NAICS is the key to using and understanding economic statistics collected by the U.S. Census Bureau.

Bureau of Economic Analysis Unrestricted Resource
BEA produces economic accounts statistics that enable government and business decision-makers, researchers, and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the Nation's economy. To do this, BEA collects source data, conducts research and analysis, develops and implements estimation methodologies, and disseminates statistics to the public. (Website)
Minnesota Business Resources
Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development
Place your cursor over the "For Business" tab for links to resources for starting, managing and financing a business, among other useful items.
Minnesota Business magazine (full-text archive available in Regional Business News )

Twin Cities Business magazine

Minneapolis/St Paul Business Journal

Minnesota Real Estate Journal


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University