The Library at St. Cloud State University

Business - International

International Company Research
International Directory of Company Histories
REF HD2721 .D36x Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
This directory includes the historical development of companies that exceed US$25 million in annual sales and are leading influences in their industries or geographic area. Each volume contains a cumulative, industry and geographic indexes

D & B Principal International Businesses
REF HF54.U5 P74 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Note: Information on over 50,000 international businesses, with information on total sales, employment, and whether the firm imports or exports to the United States. In-library use only.

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online full text databases covering News, Business, Legal, Medical, and Reference. News includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, broadcast transcripts, regional and international news sources, scholarly & trade journals, and a guide to current issues. Business includes company SEC reports, company profiles and financial data, and accounting literature and standards. Law resources include law reviews (journals), federal and state congressional laws as well as federal court cases. Includes the text of the U.S. Code as well as the Federal Regulations and CFR. It includes hundreds of scholarly journals in a wide range of disciplines.

Finding internationally-based company information in LexisNexis Academic:
Click "Search by Subject or Topic" near the top of the search interface. This will bring up a menu; select "Dossier (Company, Executive & Industry). This will bring up a new search interface that allows you to search for companies by the countries in which they're headquartered.

Finding news articles about internationally-based companies in LexisNexis Academic:
Click the box marked "Search the News - U.S. and World News" in the lower left corner of the search interface. Enter search terms, then choose "Major World Publications" to get articles from the most important English-language newspapers from around the world, including the Times (London), the Evening Standard (London), the Jerusalem Post (Israel), the Moscow Times (Russia), The Age (Australia), and many others.

For newspapers in languages other than English, click "Search by Subject or Topic" near the top of the search interface, then choose "Foreign Language News." This will bring up a new search interface; click "Advanced Options" to bring up an additional menu with which you can limit your search to particular languages. Available languages include Dutch, German, Spanish, French, Italian, Portuguese, and Russian. There's also an "All Non-English" search option.

Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Business Source Premier searches 350 scholarly journals back to 1965. Includes searchable references for more than 1,170 journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics and economics.
 
Finding internationally-based company information in Business Source Premier:
At the top of the BSP web page, you'll see a blue bar with links to various resources. One of these is "Company Profiles." Click to get company dossiers from MarketLine, a well-known and reputable business intelligence company. Key information presented in MarketLine profiles includes company sales and revenues, SWOT analyses, and lists of primary competitors. The list of companies presented in the search results included the country in which the company is based.

 
Legal and Regulatory Environment
LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
 
Finding business-oriented country investment risk profiles in LexisNexis:
Click "Search by Subject or Topic" near the top of the search interface, then choose "Country Information." This will give you access to country reports from PRS Risk Guide & Service, BBC Monitoring, BMI Country Risk Report, and Business Monitor International. Click "Advanced Options" for more flexible searching.
 

GlobalEdge Unrestricted Resource
"Global business knowledge Web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities." GlobalEDGE resources include a market potential index, a database of international business statistics, and in-depth country information. Provided by the Broad College of Business at Michigan State University.

DoingBusiness.org Unrestricted Resource
From the International Finance Corporation, World Bank Group. The Doing Business Project "provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 181 economies and selected cities at the subnational and regional level." This site offers measures of the strength of the legal and regulatory environments in countries: not only what regulations are in place, but what bodies exist to enforce them, and to what extent the regulations are enforced.

Doing Business in International Markets Unrestricted Resource
From the Office of Commercial and Business Affairs (CBA) of the US State Department. US-CBA coordinates trade and investment matters in support of US firms doing business overseas, providing information on "corruption and bribery in overseas markets, U.S. export controls on sensitive equipment and technologies, and business-related visas for employees, partners and clients of U.S. firms."


 

Regional Resources

Africa


African Development Bank

African Economic Outlook
 

Asia


Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation

ASEAN - Association of Southeast Asian Nations, Economic Community

 

Central and South America


Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) Unrestricted Resource
A site sponsored by the University of Texas Institute of Latin American Studies that provides information on Latin America. The site contains country-specific links, links by topic, and assorted links to libraries, and conferences. Unfortunately, the site has not been maintained and updated since 2015; however, most of the links and information are still current.
Check out the "Economy" section for hundreds of links to business-related resources on Central and South America.
 

LatinTrade.com - check out the Indexes and Rankings sections. Short summaries of articles are available free to non-subscribers. The full text of articles and resources is available in Business Source Premier, MasterFILE Premier, and Expanded Academic Index.

LAVCA/Latin American Private Equity and Venture Capital Association
 


Europe


Europa - European Union
Position your cursor over "EU by topic" in the menu bar to see the sections on business, economy and finance, tax law, and others.
 

UNICE - United Nations Economic Commission for Europe

EU Business

 

Subject Specialist
Picture: Olivia Olivares

Olivia Olivares
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140E
(320) 308-4822
oolivares@stcloudstate.edu

International Business Environment
Library of Congress Country Studies Unrestricted Resource
Online editions of book-length country profiles produced for U.S. diplomats. This site includes substantial information on each nation's culture, history, economy, and political system. It is searchable by topic and country.

World Bank Countries & Regions Unrestricted Resource
World Bank provides a Country Brief (overview of history, economy, and World Bank development strategy), basic economic and demographic data and statistics, and lengthier publications and reports compiled by World Bank researchers.

World Development Indicators Unrestricted Resource
Social, economic and environmental statistics, available by country. Data reports can be organized by time or series. An extensive data archive is also available.
International Trade and Markets
Export.gov Unrestricted Resource
This web site includes links to Country Commercial Guides, articles, reports, other supportive information prepared by U.S. Embassy staff to assist U.S. businesses in doing business in other countries. Register (it's free) for access to the International Market Research Library. The registration link is at the top of the screen; you MUST register with your SCSU e-mail account to be recognized as a student/faculty researcher entitled to free access.

International Trade Administration Unrestricted Resource
"Publishes statistical reports on exports and imports by country, commodity trade, and trade data by state. Some detailed and specific data is accessible for a fee only."

United States International Trade Commission
From the "About" section: "The mission of the Commission is to (1) administer U.S. trade remedy laws within its mandate in a fair and objective manner; (2) provide the President, USTR, and Congress with independent analysis, information, and support on matters of tariffs, international trade, and U.S. competitiveness; and (3) maintain the Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States (HTS)."

World Trade Organization Unrestricted Resource
An international organization dedicated to providing a forum for discussing and creating trade agreements between sovereign nations, settling trade disputes, and writing trade rules and regulations. The website provides access to trade statistics, the text of trade agreements and regulations, research and data, white papers, and other useful resources.

Market Research Library Unrestricted Resource
Political, socioeconomic and market analysis, searchable by country or region. The full text of country commercial guides, market research reports, and best market reports. Published by the U.S. Department of Commerce, Foreign Commercial Service.

World Economic Forum Unrestricted Resource
The World Economic Forum is the new name of the International Organization for Public-Private Cooperation. It's a non-profit foundation that coordinates cooperative ventures between public and private agencies for the betterment of international business, trade and industry. The "Reports" section offers white papers on numerous topics, including alternative investments, food security,  technology, public-private partnerships, and other issues. Also available: The annual Global Competitiveness Report, with analyses and statistics by country and region. When the option is available, choose "Report Reader" for interactive reports. 

FITA - Federation of International Trade Organizations Unrestricted Resource
From the website: "FITA, founded in 1984, fosters international trade by strengthening the role of local, regional, national and global associations that have an international mission. FITA provides resources, benefits and services to the international trade community and useful tools to help you do business globally." The website features a database of country profiles, along with hundreds of links to useful international business resources.

Market Share Reporter
REF HF5415.M37x Unrestricted Resource Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
A compilation of market share statistics on companies, products and services, drawn from periodical sources providing a unique source of data for competitive analysis and marketing research. Indexed by SIC code, brand name, product category or company name. Most recent five years are in Reference; older editions are located in the Main Collection.

Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Finding market reports by country in Business Source Premier:
Search for a country by name, and specify that you're looking for a geographic entity by clicking on the pulldown menu in the search interface and choosing "GE Geographic Term."



Once you've done so, look to the left side of the page showing your search results. Look for "Source Types," then click "Show More." From the resulting menu, choose "Country Reports" and or "Market Research Reports."
International Business Etiquette

Kiss, Bow or Shake Hands: How to Do Business in Sixty Countries

Reference Collection: REF HF 5289 .M67 2006
Provides overviews of over sixty cultures and describes behavior, negotiating techniques, and business practices in each country

ExecutivePlanet.com Unrestricted Resource
A wiki with information and pointers on business etiquette and cultural norms around the world, searchable by country.

 

Kwintessenial Country Profiles Unrestricted Resource
Free business etiquette guides to all countries, provided by Kwintessenial, a respected translation and interpretation company.

Ethics and Corruption
Transparency International Unrestricted Resource
Founded in 1993, Transparency International monitors corruption in the public sector in over 90 countries. Transparency International also produces the "Corruption Perception Index," a well-known measure of public perception of the existence of corruption in national and local government entities. Click on the "Regional Pages" and "Policy and Research" tabs for white papers and reports.

Group of States against Corruption (GRECO) Unrestricted Resource
An agency of the Council of Europe, GRECO includes 47 member states, including the USA, dedicated to ensuring compliance with the Council of Europe's anticorruption standards. Click on "Evaluations," then "Evaluation and Compliance Reports," to get to GRECO's reports on corruption in countries around the world. The home page includes links to the most recent published reports, including reports on corruption in sports/athletics.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University