The Library at St. Cloud State University

Higher Education Administration (Doctoral)

Ask a Librarian
Click red box above to access help through:
  • email (answered usually within an hour during regular Reference Desk hours)
  • chat (available 24 / 7)
  • phone numbers for SCSU Reference Desk
  • online form to set up a one-on-one (in person or via telephone) research consultation with a librarian
Library resources for HIED (Docto
Current Issues in Higher Education
Chronicle of Higher Education Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
The Chronicle of Higher Education is the premier source of news and statistics about higher education. In addition to an online weekly newspaper, the Chronicle provides valuable in-depth articles on aspects of higher education and is a source of useful statistics on faculty and administrative compensation, admissions, graduation rates, tuition and fees, gender equity, etc. 1998 to present.

Almanac of Higher Education Restricted Resource
Facts & Figures section of Chronicle of Higher Education.

Inside Higher Ed Unrestricted Resource
"Inside Higher Ed is the online source for news, opinion and jobs for all of higher education." A search engine is provided.
For free subscription, click Get Your Daily News Update at bottom of homepage.
Finding scholarly journal articles
Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

ERIC (EBSCO) Restricted Resource findit database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.

PsycINFO Restricted Resource findit database
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.

Professional Collection (Education) Restricted Resource findit database
The Professional Collection is a selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators. It offers balanced coverage for any professional educator in the following areas: arts and humanities; child and adolescent psychology and development; drug and alcohol abuse; health/nutrition/fitness; learning disabilities; literature; school law; science and technology; social sciences; and sports/athletic training

Teacher Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators.


Dissertation Abstracts - PQDT Open Unrestricted Resource findit database
Selective index to open access masters theses and dissertations from U.S., Canada, Great Britain, and Europe. Note: This is an open access subset of Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI).
More on books
Books and More Advanced Search (MnPALS Plus) Unrestricted Resource database
Search for books, ebooks, video, government publications, recordings, music scores, and other materials available at the library. Use the limits to focus on specific collections.

WorldCat Restricted Resource database
WorldCat is a catalog of materials from thousands of libraries and institutions around the world. Click on the FindIt! button and use Interlibrary Loan to request items St. Cloud State University does not own.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Unrestricted Resource
Login with your StarID and complete an interlibrary loan request form to order a book or article that is not available from our library. You will receive an email when your item is available for you.
If you don't live in the St. Cloud area, try doing interlibrary loan borrowing through your nearest public library.
Facts and background information
Available in the Reference Collection on 1st West

Encyclopedia of American Education
REF LB17 .U54 2001 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Brief articles on philosophical, historical, and current education topics.


Available online

21st Century Education: A Reference Handbook Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
Highlights the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates facing educators today.

FedStats Unrestricted Resource
More than 100 agencies in the United States Federal Government produce statistics of interest to the public.

U.S. Census Bureau Unrestricted Resource
The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.

U.S. Department of Education Unrestricted Resource
The Department of Education website includes valuable information on all levels of education, including statistical and financial infomation sources. The site provides a useful search engine.

National Center for Education Statistics Unrestricted Resource
This official agency site includes: Education Statistics at a Glance which is comprised of The Condition of Education, The Digest of Education Statistics, and Projections of Education Statistics. In addition, there is a searchable database of NCES tables and figures. This search tool lets the user locate all tables/figures published in the inventory of NCES' "Education Statistics Quarterly"; the NEDRC (National Education Data Resource Center) Postsecondary Table Library; and many NCES publications.
Scholarly research
Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations
REF LB 2359 .T8 2007 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
A useful guide to Chicago Style for students and researchers. Available in print, in the Reference section of the library, 1st floor. Latest edition is 7th edition, 2007.

SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
Presents current and complete information as well as ready-to-use techniques, facts, and examples from the field of qualitative research in a very accessible style.

Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
Includes definitions as well as lengthy articles with references on wide variety of social science research topics: qualitative research, quantitative research, basic statistics, ethnography, evaluation, experimental design, interviewing, longitudinal analysis, scaling, significance testing, survey design, and other related topics.

SAGE Reference Online Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides access to 90 full-text specialized encyclopedias that offer excellent background information on a topic.

SAGE Journals Online Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Full text of over 500 journals in business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine.
Featured library books

The mobile academy: mLearning for higher education
LB2395.7 .Q56 2012







The handbook of student affairs administration
LB2342.92 .B37 2009
RefWorks
RefWorksRefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.
RefWorks Basics (.pdf)
A one-page guide with directions for managing citations and creating bibliographies in RefWorks.
RefWorks Help
Use this step-by-step guide to set up a RefWorks account (must be done on a campus computer), to import citations from library databases, and to create a bibliography.
Finding Scholarly Articles on the Job
After you receive your Doctoral degree, you can still access scholarly journal articles through ELM (Electronic Library of Minnesota). You may need a barcode or identification number from your public library to sign into these databases.

ELM: Electronic Library for Minnesota Unrestricted Resource database
ELM (Electronic Library for Minnesota) gives Minnesota residents online access to magazine, journal, and newspaper articles; eBooks (electronic books); and information from other reference sources via a selection of databases.

On the ELM homepage, click Minnesota Community. Click Databases for You, then A to Z, then use Choose a Database pulldown menu to select Academic Search Premier. Use the Advanced Search to locate journal articles.

You will then have access to any full-text articles on the database. You may be able to work with your public library to get copies of articles not available through ELM.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Robin Ewing

Robin Ewing
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 130B
(320) 308-2093
rlewing@stcloudstate.edu


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University