The Library at St. Cloud State University

HIED 624 - Legal and Ethical Aspects of Higher Ed (Siminoe)

Finding your way around the library
Books and More Advanced Search (MnPALS Plus) Unrestricted Resource database
Search for books, ebooks, video, government publications, recordings, music scores, and other materials available at the library. Use the limits to focus on specific collections.

NOTE: Library of Congress Subject Headings related to higher education and law:
Universities and colleges -- Law and legislation -- United States
Educational law and legislation -- United States
Education, Higher -- Law and legislation -- United States
Universities and colleges -- Administration -- Law and legislation -- United States
Universities and colleges -- Administration -- Moral and ethical aspects -- United States
 
Topical subject headings within higher education and law:
College teachers -- Legal status, laws, etc. -- United States
College students -- Legal status, laws, etc. -- United States
Discrimination in education -- United States
School management and organization -- Law and legislation -- United States
Sex discrimination in education -- Law and legislation -- United States
People with social disabilities -- Education (Higher) -- United States
Student aid -- Law and legislation -- United States
Tort liability of universities and colleges

 
Case Law and Administrative Law

Case law



West's Education Law Reporter
REF KF 4119 .W45x Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
The full text of education-related cases decided in the United States Supreme Court, the U. S. Federal Courts of Appeals, the U. S. Federal District Courts, and the state appellate courts. All cases are annotated according to West Co.'s KeyCite system. Case indexing can be found in West's Education Law Digest. 
 

Administrative Law

Federal statutes, rules and regulations

Federal Register Unrestricted Resource
The Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.



Regulations.gov - commenting on federal rules and regulations prior to implementation
 

Minnesota statutes, rules and regulations

Minnesota Statutes
Print Location: latest year in REF KFM 5430 .A24x earlier years in MN DOCS KFM 5430 .A24x Unrestricted Resource Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
The laws of the state of Minnesota.

MN State Register

 

Finding Guides

The Federal Register: What it is and how to use it  (includes chapters on use of the CFR)

Researching Federal and Minnesota Regulations (from the University of Minnesota Law Library)

 
Articles and databases
ERIC (Education) Restricted Resource findit database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.
Note: 1966 - present

Chronicle of Higher Education Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
The Chronicle of Higher Education is the premier source of news and statistics about higher education. In addition to an online weekly newspaper, the Chronicle provides valuable in-depth articles on aspects of higher education and is a source of useful statistics on faculty and administrative compensation, admissions, graduation rates, tuition and fees, gender equity, etc. 1998 to present.

Inside Higher Education

Education Week
SCSU Library reference resources
Encyclopedia of Education Law Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
The Encyclopedia of Education Law is a compendium of information drawn from the various dimensions of education law that tells its story from a variety of perspectives.

Encyclopedia of Law and Higher Education Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
The Encyclopedia of Law and Higher Education is a compendium of information that tells the story of law and higher education from a variety of perspectives.

Education Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
This volume in The SAGE Reference Series on Disability explores education issues for people with disabilities and is one of eight volumes in the cross-disciplinary and issues-based series, which examines topics central to the lives of individuals with disabilities and their families.

Encyclopedia of Gender and Society Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
The Encyclopedia of Gender and Society provides users with a “gender lens” on society by focusing on significant gender scholarship within commonly recognized areas of social research

Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
The Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education provides a comprehensive introduction to the social and cultural foundations of education.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Olivia Olivares

Olivia Olivares
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140E
(320) 308-4822
oolivares@stcloudstate.edu

Olivia's contact hours, Spring 2016
On the Reference Desk:

Wednesdays, 4:00 - 6:00 pm
Thursdays, 2:00 - 4:00 pm

Office Hours:

Mondays, 4:00 - 5:00 pm
Thursdays, 3:00 - 4:00 pm

If the above times are not convenient, please call or e-mail to set up an appointment.
Legal Resources
HIED 624 pt 2 - Legal Aspects of Higher Ed (Siminoe)
This used to be the online research guide for St Cloud Technical and Community College students in the SCTCC paralegal program. It provides a more comprehensive overview of the legal system in the United States. All links are to resources available in the SCSU Library.

 
Education law journals
Brigham Young University Education and Law Journal [full text available in Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO ]; now available from WestlawNext Campus Research

Education and the Law [full text available in Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO ]

Education Policy Analysis Archive from Arizona State University

Journal of Law and Education [the most recent two years of issues are available in Current Periodicals; archived issues,1982-2007, available in Microforms Collection (fiche)]; now available in WestlawNext Campus Research

NOLPE School Law Journal, vols. 1-10 (1970-1982)
The National Organization on Legal Problems in Education was the precursor to the Educational Law Association. Its journal is available in Bound Periodicals.

Special Education Law Monthly [selected full text articles,1982-2009, available in LexisNexis Academic ]

School Law Bulletin and School Law Bulletin Online Archive

EDUCATION LAW JOURNALS AVAILABLE FROM WESTLAW NEXT CAMPUS RESEARCH
(to access these journals, go to "Secondary Sources," then "Law Reviews and Journals, then "Law Reviews and Journals Index")


Brigham Young Univ. Education and Law Journal
Journal of College and University Law
Journal of Law and Education

 
Resources on the web
U. S. Department of Education

National Association of College and University Attorneys (NACUA)


American Association of University Professors: Legal Issues in Higher Education

Higher Education Compliance Alliance (HECA)
HECA is a repository of federal laws pertaining to higher education in the United States. It includes links to partnering associations in higher education, and the HECA Compliance Matrix, which allows participating universities and colleges to determine if they are in compliance with applicable federal laws. 

MOOCS - Key Legal and Policy Issues for Colleges and Universities



 


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University