The Library at St. Cloud State University

History (Minnesota)

Books
Books are an excellent source of research for Minnesota history.  The Miller Center Library's collection of books, videos, and more can be searched using MnPALS .  Books related to Minnesota History are going to be located primarily in the Basement West at these call numbers : 

E 83.86         Dakota Conflict of 1862
E 99.C6        Ojibwa Indians
E 99.D1        Dakota Indians
F 601- F 615  Minnesota history
F 612.S75     Stearns County history
F 614.S25     Saint Cloud history
Journal Articles
MInnesota History
A lively, richly illustrated magazine published by the Minnesota Historical Society.  The magazine covers a variety of topics drawn from more than 150 years of state and regional history and is searchable at the MHS website.  Issues from 1948-present are available in print in the Miller Center Library and older issues are available in microform.  Full-text available online from MHS for 2005 and older. 

America: History & Life Restricted Resource findit database
This database searches 2,000 scholarly journals on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, and is another good source to look for articles related to Minnesota History.
Newspapers
The full text of the Minneapolis Star Tribune (1986-present) is available online:
Minneapolis Star Tribune: ProQuest Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase

The St. Cloud Times on microfilm from 1988 in the Miller Center Library.  The Great River Regional Library has an online index for the Times from 1928-2008. 
St. Cloud Times Index

Nineteenth Century US Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Full-text content and images from about 500 U.S. newspapers published during the 19th Century. Includes The Penny Press (Minneapolis) (1893-1896), The Evening Penny Press (1896-1896), and The St. Paul Daily News (1889-1894). 

African American Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Searchable database of approximately 270 U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. Includes eight Minnesota newspapers spanning the years 1869-1903.  Click on the "Places of Publication" tab to browse or search the Minnesota papers. 

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Use the "Advanced Search" option to search 40 Minnesota newspapers from 1856-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about newspapers published between 1690-present.
Primary Sources
Primary sources can also be located in print in the Miller Center Library can be located using the Books and More Advanced Search (MnPALS Plus) by combining keywords about your topic with these keywords: personal narratives, diaries, letters, reminiscences, correspondence, sources, speeches, notebooks, anecdotes, interviews, oral histories.

The University of Minnesota, the Minnesota Digital Library, and the Minnesota Historical Society have extensive online collections of primary sources related to Minnesota history.


Digital Collections of the University of Minnesota Libraries
Find graphics from image collections ranging from African-American Literature Cover Art to World War I and II posters. The poster collection from both world wars contains 8,000 posters from the U of M and Minneapolis Public Library. They are from government, commercial, and charitable sources.

Minnesota Digital Library: Minnesota Reflections
The collection brings you more than 210,000 images, maps and documents from more than 155 of the state's cultural heritage organizations. This site offers resources on Minnesota's history and geography for researchers, educators, students, and the public.

Minnesota Historical Society Collections Online
Collections from the Minnesota Historical Society visually represent Minnesotans, their lives, landscapes, leisure and occupations from the pre-territorial period to the present.  Collections Online includes records for three-dimensional objects, photographs, art, maps, some manuscripts, and the KSTP-TV Archive.
Historical Societies and Museums
History Societies collect a variety of research and primary resources and are often staffed by knowledgeable and helpful experts. 

Minnesota Historical Society

Central Minnesota History Centers
Benton County Historical Society
Morrison County Historical Society
Sherburne History Center
Stearns Musuem and Research Center
Citing Sources
Chicago Manual of Style
Print Location: READY REF Z253 U69 2003 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Online reference source for the Chicago Manual of Style. The Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide is particularly helpful. Official print manual is available in the Ready Reference section of the library, 1st floor. Latest edition is 15th, 2003.

Chicago Manual of Style (OWL at Purdue)
Provides examples of formatting papers, in-text citations, footnotes and endnotes, and reference lists according to the Chicago Manual of Style.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA)
READY REF BF76.7 .P83 2010 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Official manual for APA documentation. Available in print only, in the Ready Reference section of the library, 1st floor. Latest edition is 6th edition, 2010.

APA Formatting and Style Guide from OWL at Purdue
Provides examples of formatting papers, in-text citations, footnotes and endnotes, and reference lists in APA style. Updated according to the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.
 
Featured Books
We are what we drink : the temperance battle in Minnesota
HV5235.M6 M49 2015 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Eschews the generalities of other temperance histories to provide a close-grained story about the connections between alcohol consumption and identity in the upper Midwest. Meyer examines the ever-shifting ways that ethnicity, gender, class, religion, and place interacted with each other during the long temperance battle in Minnesota.

Women of Mayo Clinic : the founding generation
R692 .W75 2016 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
The story of Mayo Clinic begins on the Minnesota prairie following a devastating tornado in 1883. It also begins with the women who joined the growing practice as physicians, as laboratory researchers, as developers of radium theory and cancer treatments, and as innovators in virtually all aspects of patient care, education, and research. In tracing the perspectives of more than forty of these women, this book introduces a new perspective on the history of both Mayo Clinic and women in medicine.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Michael Gorman

Michael Gorman
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140F
(320) 308-2028
msgorman@stcloudstate.edu

Ask a Librarian

Reference Desk - Miller Center 1st Floor W
  • Monday-Thursday: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
  • Friday: 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • Sunday: 4:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Phone: 320-308-4755
Email: askref@stcloudstate.edu
Related Guides

Social Studies 

Provides resources for citing sources, writing annotated bibliographies and literature reviews, and doing Social Science research.

History (United States)
History (World)
Minnesota
Primary Sources
Career Information
Career Services Center
St. Cloud State's Career Services Center works with students to clarify academic major and career aspirations, identify internship and employment opportunities, and offer advising and support at every stage of career development.

CareerOneStop
Sponsored by the US Department of Labor, this resource provides comprehensive, up-to-date, and reliable information on careers and job opportunities. The site is organized into six major areas: Explore Careers, Salary & Benefits, Education & Training, Job Search, Resumes & Interviews, and People & Places to Help. Also contains valuable links to One-Stop Career Centers located in all 50 states.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. Describes what workers do on the job, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations.
Previous Featured Books
38 nooses : Lincoln, Little Crow, and the beginning of the frontier's end
E83.86 .B47 2012 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability


Conflicted Mission : faith, disputes, and deception on the Dakota frontier
E99.D1 C56 2014 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability

Her honor : Rosalie Wahl and the Minnesota women's movement
KF373.W26 S78 2014 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability

The Millers and the Saints: baseball championships of the Twin Cities rivals, 1903-1955
GV863.M6 H36 2014 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability


Minnesota in the 70's
F610 .K46 2013 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability

Minnesota Twins Baseball : hardball history on the prairie
GV875.M55 T57 2014 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability


Mni sota makoce : the land of the Dakota
E99.D1 W63 2012 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability

North country : the making of Minnesota
F606 .W56 2010 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability

They Chose Minnesota: A Survey of the State's Ethnic Groups
F615 .A1 T45 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability

 


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University