The Library at St. Cloud State University

History (United States)

Explore Your Topic
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook

CREDO provides online access hundreds reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is a good place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a topic.
Books and More
Books are an excellent source of research for United States history.  The Miller Center Library's collection of books, videos, and more can be searched using MnPALS .  Books related to United States history are going to be located primarily in the Basement West at  call numbers starting with E and F.  Find books for some specific topics with the following links:

WorldCat Restricted Resource database
WorldCat is a catalog of materials from thousands of libraries and institutions around the world. Click on the FindIt! button and use Interlibrary Loan to request items St. Cloud State University does not own.
Journal Articles
To find journal articles, start with America History and Life, a database that specifically contains journals related to American History.  JSTOR and Project Muse are multidisciplinary databases, but can be limited to just history journals but using the Advanced Search option. 

America: History & Life Restricted Resource findit database
Search 2,000 scholarly journals on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present (the rest of the world is covered in Historical Abstracts).

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
JSTOR provides unique access to full text backfiles for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles.

Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Full-text access to more than 150 scholarly journals and eBooks in all disciplines published by Johns Hopkins University and several other university presses.

Search Tips for Library Databases:
  • Search by concepts, taking out common words like effect, affect, good, bad, etc.
  • Using AND focuses or limits your search (you get fewer results). Using OR broadens or expands your search (you get more results).
  • Use * to search for different word endings (child* searches child, child's, children, children's but also childbirth) and plurals.
  • Use quotation marks around phrases.
  • Try the Advanced Search. Change the "field" you are search using the pull down menu (for example, search for keywords only in the "Title" of an article).
Primary Sources
Many primary sources can be found online using the following webpages.  Primary sources can also be located in print in the Miller Center Library can be located using the Books and More Advanced Search (MnPALS Plus) by combining keywords about your topic with these keywords: personal narratives, diaries, letters, reminiscences, correspondence, sources, speeches, notebooks, anecdotes, interviews, oral histories.

American Decades: Primary Sources
Ref E 169.1 A471977 2004 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
10-volume set spanning the 20th century includes approximately 200 full or excerpted primary sources in 160-170 entries from the period representing a diversity of views that provide insight into the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from the decade.

American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
The gateway to the Library of Congress’s digitized American historical materials including manuscripts, prints, photographs, posters, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, books, pamphlets, and sheet music.

AP Images (Associated Press)
A source of over 500,000 current and historic photo images, graphic images, audio files, and publicity. Content may be used for educational purposes in papers, presentations, and secure Web spaces (e.g., in Desire2Learn pages). Approximately 1,000 photo images are added daily.

Avalon Project at the Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy
A collection of primary source (full-text) documents particularly rich in legal and diplomatic history. Organized by period and topic and searchable by keyword, this collection is well edited and high quality. Documents include internal links to materials referenced in the text (Diana Hacker, 2003).

Civil War: Antebellum to Reconstruction, 1843-1877 Restricted Resource database
This collection of primary materials features more than 150 newspapers from all regions of the United States—plus approximately 50,000 government documents and 4,000 rare broadsides and pieces of ephemera. It provides unprecedented local and national coverage of American culture, politics and society from 1840 through 1877.

Core Documents of U.S. Democracy
Direct online access to the basic federal government documents that define our democratic society.

Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.  The DPLA offers a single point of access to millions of items—photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more—from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States.

Discovering American Women's History Online
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.

Historical Text Archive
Offers more than 3,000 links to materials by country and region (with the United States receiving the strongest coverage) and by topic such as Native American, African American, movie history, and genealogy. Resources include both primary and secondary sources (Diana Hacker, 2003).

Internet Archive: Digital Library
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, and more.

Kappler’s Indian Affairs: Laws & Treaties
"Originally compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler, in 1904, this is an electronic reproduction of an historically significant, seven volume compilation of U.S. treaties, laws and executive orders pertaining to Native American Indian tribes. The volumes cover U.S. Government treaties with Native Americans from 1778-1883 (Volume II) and U.S. laws and executive orders concerning Native Americans from 1871-1970 (Volumes I, III-VII)," (Oklahoma State University).

Making of America (University of Michigan)
This collection "is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology." (From Website)

National Archives and Records Administration
Provides access to federal and executive government documents. This site is searchable by keyword, title, or citation information (Diana Hacker, 2003).
Historic Newspapers
Newspapers are an excellent primary documet sources.  The library has several databases that include the fulltext of historic newspapers. 

African American Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Searchable database of approximately 270 U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers Unrestricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Nineteenth Century US Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Full-text content and images from about 500 U.S. newspapers published during the 19th Century. The "Research Guide" link leads to commissioned essays that provide context for the collection.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Full page and full article images from The New York Times with searchable fulltext from 1851 through 2013. Full indexing is available for articles, performance and book reviews, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth/marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.
Note: 1851-2009
Featured Books
A short history of the U.S. working class
HD8066 .L384 2016 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Noting that standard accounts of U.S. history often pay little attention to the working class, labor historian Paul Le Blanc presents a colorful, fact-filled history that concentrates on the struggles and achievements of that often-neglected laboring majority. Employing a blend of economic, social, and political history, Le Blanc shows how important labor issues have been and continue to be in the forging of our nation’s history. Within a broad analytical framework he highlights issues of class, gender, race, and ethnicity, and includes the views of key figures of U.S. labor. }

The Alien and Sedition Acts of 1798 : testing the Constitution
KF9397.A3281798 H35 2016
 In The Alien and Sedition Acts of 1798, Terri Diane Halperin discusses the passage of these laws and the furor over them, as well as the difficulties of enforcement. She describes in vivid detail the heated debates and tempestuous altercations that erupted between partisan opponents
Subject Specialist
Picture: Michael Gorman

Michael Gorman
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140F
(320) 308-2028
msgorman@stcloudstate.edu

Ask a Librarian

Reference Desk - Miller Center 1st Floor W
  • Monday-Thursday: 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
  • Friday: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Phone: 320-308-4755
Email: askref@stcloudstate.edu
Related Guides
Career Information
Career Services Center
St. Cloud State's Career Services Center works with students to clarify academic major and career aspirations, identify internship and employment opportunities, and offer advising and support at every stage of career development.

CareerOneStop
Sponsored by the US Department of Labor, this resource provides comprehensive, up-to-date, and reliable information on careers and job opportunities. The site is organized into six major areas: Explore Careers, Salary & Benefits, Education & Training, Job Search, Resumes & Interviews, and People & Places to Help. Also contains valuable links to One-Stop Career Centers located in all 50 states.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. Describes what workers do on the job, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations.
Citing Sources
Chicago Manual of Style
Print Location: READY REF Z253 U69 2003 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Online reference source for the Chicago Manual of Style. The Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide is particularly helpful. Official print manual is available in the Ready Reference section of the library, 1st floor. Latest edition is 15th, 2003.

Chicago Manual of Style (OWL at Purdue)
Provides examples of formatting papers, in-text citations, footnotes and endnotes, and reference lists according to the Chicago Manual of Style.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA)
READY REF BF76.7 .P83 2010 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Official manual for APA documentation. Available in print only, in the Ready Reference section of the library, 1st floor. Latest edition is 6th edition, 2010.

APA Formatting and Style Guide from OWL at Purdue
Provides examples of formatting papers, in-text citations, footnotes and endnotes, and reference lists in APA style. Updated according to the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.
 
Previous Featured Books
Bourgeois Radicals: The NAACP and the Struggle for Colonial Liberation, 1941-1960
E185.5.N276 A53 2015 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability


Foreign Relations of the United States: Diplomatic Papers
Print Location: S 1.1: Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability

History of American Higher Education: Learning and Culture from the Founding to World War II
LA226 .G395 2015 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability


Letters of Delegates to Congress, 1774-1789
LC 1.34 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability

The problem of slavery in the age of emancipation
E449 .D24 2014 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability

Relentless Reformer : Josephine Roche and progressivism in twentieth-century America
HQ1419 .M86 2015 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University