The Library at St. Cloud State University

HLTH 301 Health Issues and Strategies for Teachers

Resources for Teaching
Journal Articles and Resource Databases

Health Education Journals

Use the databases below to find journal articles, reports, books, and other reference resources

Education/Physical Education


ERIC (Education) Restricted Resource findit database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.
Note: 1966 - present

Professional Collection (Education) Restricted Resource findit database
The Professional Collection is a selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators. It offers balanced coverage for any professional educator in the following areas: arts and humanities; child and adolescent psychology and development; drug and alcohol abuse; health/nutrition/fitness; learning disabilities; literature; school law; science and technology; social sciences; and sports/athletic training

SPORTDiscus Restricted Resource findit database
SPORTDiscus provides comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sports, fitness and related disciplines; does not contain fulltext but may link to the fulltext of articles in other sources.
Teacher Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators.

 

Health/Social Services

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Nursing) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Search 3,000+ journals in nursing and allied health back to 1937; covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, etc. Coverage: 1937 - present
Medline Restricted Resource findit elm database
Indexes more than 19,000 journals, 1950 to present, in all areas of medicine, nursing, health services administration, nutrition, and other areas.
PsycINFO Restricted Resource findit database
 The premier index for scholarly articles relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.
Scopus (Science) Restricted Resource findit database
Science, technology, engineering, medical and some social sciences literature from 15,000 scholarly journals from 4,000 international publishers.
Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
Sociological Abstracts is the primary index to articles and conference proceedings for sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study. It also provides links to full text articles from Academic Press journals where appropriate. Links to fulltext where SCSU maintains fulltext subscriptions.
Note: 1963 to Present
Subject Specialist
Picture: Cindy Gruwell

Cindy Gruwell
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140D
(320) 308-1508
cagruwell@stcloudstate.edu

Ask a Librarian

Reference Desk: (320) 308-4755

Miller Center 1st Floor W  (Hours vary during holidays and breaks)
  • Monday-Thursday: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
  • Friday: 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • Sunday: 4:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Email us:  askref@stcloudstate.edu  
Computer chat with a  librarian: Chat (24/7)    
Consultation for individuals or small groups: Schedule a research consultation 
Web Resources - Health & Nutrition
CDC Learning Connection
"Link. Log in. Learn. CDC Learning Connection (CDC LC) helps you locate learning products and resources from across the public health community."
ChooseMyPlate.gov
"East to follow tips for consumers and professionals alike. Available in English and Spanish."
K12 Science and Health Education
"Working with teachers and scientific experts to provide FREE reliable resources to help introduce, reinforce, and supplement education programs."
KidsHealth in the Classroom
"KidsHealth in the Classroom offers educators free health-related lesson plans for all grades and subject areas"
PE Central
"Premier health site for health & physical education"
Research and Citation Guides
Citation Styles and RefWorks Unrestricted Resource
Consult examples of APA, MLA, Chicago, etc. citation styles and use RefWorks to manage your references and format your bibliography. Citing Government Documents (Columbia University)
Provides a list of websites that offer citation information and examples for citing government information sources.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University