The Library at St. Cloud State University

Holocaust and Genocide Studies

All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Articles, journals, magazines and newspapers

Academic Search Premier (all topics) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Alternative Press Index Restricted Resource findit database
Index to articles published from 1991-present in over 250 alternative, radical, and liberal publications that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change.
America: History & Life Restricted Resource findit database
Search 2,000 scholarly journals on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present (the rest of the world is covered in Historical Abstracts).
Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
Search over 2,000 scholarly journals covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
note: 1954 to present
Social Sciences Index
Print Location: Miller Center Reference Index Shelves
Check availability
Index to articles published on topics in the social sciences including sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science, and law.
note: 1974-1996

  Facts, definitions, and overviews

Armenian Genocide : News Accounts from the American Press (1915-1922)
Print Location: REF DS195.5 .A738 1985x
Check availability
Reprints of American newspaper articles concerning the Armenian genocide. Includes chronology of news accounts.
Bibliography on Holocaust Literature
Print Location: REF Z6374 .H6 E33 1986
Check availability

Blackwell Companion to Jewish Culture from the Eighteenth Century to the Present
Print Location: REF DS102.8 .B46 1989
Check availability
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Destruction of the European Jews
Print Location: REF D810.J4 .H5 1985b
Check availability

Dictionary of the Holocaust: Biography, Geography, and Terminology
Print Location: REF D804.25 .E67 1997
Check availability
An easy-to-use resource on the Holocaust is rich in factual and statistical information, and provides a comprehensive compilation of the people and terms that are essential for an understanding of the Holocaust. In 2,000 entries, it profiles major personalities, covers concentration and death camps, cities and countries, and significant events. Also included are important terms translated from German, French, Polish, Yiddish, and twelve other languages. Biographical entries give a brief history, the person's significance, and their historical context. Geographical entries pinpoint exact locations using other cities or countries as landmarks, and give the number of Jewish inhabitants before Nazi occupation, and the percentage of Jews killed. Historical background is provided for such events as Kristallnacht and the Warsaw Ghetto Uprising, and entries on concentration and death camps give details on the nationalities interned, the camp's specific location, and its history.

This reference is impressive in its scope and includes major perpetrators, bystanders, collaborators, victims, rescuers such as Righteous Gentiles, Jewish ghetto fighters, and partisans. It also explores the role of women and the complicity of physicians and industrialists during the Holocaust more fully than any other reference. This dictionary provides the information needed by students whose understanding of the Holocaust is limited by the absence of a single accessible research text.


Encyclopaedia Judaica Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
Print Location: REF DS102.8 .E496
Check availability
SCSU owns both the original print and the updated online editions of this title. The updated online edition of this classic work includes more than 21,000 entries on all aspects of Jewish life, culture, history, and religion.
Encyclopedia of Genocide
Print Location: REF HV6322.7 .E53 1999
Check availability
Alphabetical entries define names, places, and events associated with genocide, and major sections deal with the Armenian genocide, the Holocaust, and the process, detection, denial, and prevention of genocide.
Encyclopedia of Holocaust Literature
Print Location: REF PN56 .H55 E53 2002
Check availability
Organized by authors, this reference work provides entry into this unique genre of literature encompassing novels, diaries and dramas depicting individual "struggle to return to life, meaning, and identity" following the horrors of the Holocaust. Appendix includes listings by: authors' birth, country of origin, as well as birth name. In addition there is a bibliography of primary works as well as critical studies.
Encyclopedia of the Holocaust
Print Location: REF D804.3 .E53 1990
Check availability
The first place to start research on the Holocaust. Longer entries which include bibliography 4 vols. - arranged alphabetically
Encyclopedia of the Third Reich
Print Location: DD256.5 .S92 1989
Check availability
An encyclopedia of the Third Reich. Short entries dealing with the people, places, and events of the Third Reich.
Historical Dictionary of the Holocaust
Print Location: REF D804.25 .F57 1999
Check availability

Holocaust and World War II Almanac
Print Location: REF D804.17 .H65 2001
Check availability
A three volume detailed timeline of events leading up to the Holocaust through the Nuremberg Trials. Includes many primary source documents that have been reproduced. Includes bibliographical references and index.
Holocaust: An Annotated Bibliography and Resource Guide
Print Location: REF Z6374 .H6 1985
Check availability

JPS Dictionary of Jewish words
Print Location: REF BM50 .E47 2001
Check availability
Judaism--Terminology. Subject: Hebrew language--Terms and phrases. Includes bibliographical references (p. 185-187) and index.
Learning about the Holocaust: A Student's Guide
Print Location: REF D804.33 .L43 2001
Check availability
A four volume encyclopedia written for the beginning student's introduction to the Holocaust. Includes bibliographical references and index.
Nazi Holocaust
Print Location: D804.3 .L355 1994
Check availability

Oryx Holocaust SourceBook
Print Location: REF D804.3 .F42 2002x
Check availability

Remembering for the Future: The Holocaust in an Age of Genocide
Print Location: REF D804.18 .R46 2001
Check availability
Topical encyclopedia arranged by broad subject areas: Volume 1:History Volume 2:Ethics and Religion Volume 3:Memory Essays on specific subjects written by known scholars in the field. Includes index
Timetables of History: A Horizontal Linkage of People and Events
Print Location: REF D11 .G78 2005
Check availability
Provides chronological tables that cover, for a given year, worldwide politics, religion, the arts, and science. This work provides an interdisciplinary and global picture of a period.

  Maps and atlases

Atlas of the Holocaust
Print Location: REF G1797.21 .E29 G58 1993
Check availability
Includes a large amount of text. Authored by a Holocaust scholar Martin Gilbert.
Historical Atlas of the Holocaust
Print Location: REF G1797 .E29 1996
Check availability
Published by the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. Includes charts with the layout of the death camps and gazetteer of place names.
Times Atlas of the Second World War
Print Location: Atlas G1038 .T6 1989
Check availability
It covers sophisticated presentations on such less-obvious subjects for an atlas such as resistance, intelligence, and special operations.  The book's core is its operational maps. 

  Websites

Armenian Genocide
Site contains a summary of the Aremenian genocide, bibliography, articles and links to other genocide sites.
University of Minnesota Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies
The University of Minnesota's site for Holocaust and Genocide information.

  Research guides and manuals

Columbia Guide to Online Style
This site provides many examples for citing online resources in the bibliography of a humanities, social science or science research paper. See Preparing the Bibliographic Material once you have linked to this page.

  Laws, legislation, and government reports

Cybrary of the Holocaust
An electronic library of Holocaust materials.
Facing History and Ourselves
A non-profit organization that provides teachers with professional development through institutes and seminars. "For more than 25 years, Facing History has engaged teachers and students of diverse backgrounds in an examination of racism, prejudice, and antisemitism in order to promote the development of a more humane and informed citizenry,"(From Website).
Simon Wiesenthal Center
An international center for Holocaust remembrance and the defense of human rights and the Jewish people. This site is a major contribution in the electronic dissemination of Holocaust and human rights resources. Includes the Museum of Tolerance and CyberWatch (dedicated to fighting hatred).
Southern Poverty Law Center
A resource that includes teaching resources and updates on hate crimes.
Survivors of the Shoah Visual History Foundation
The foundation is a non-profit organization founded by Steven Spielberg. It is dedicated to videotaping as many Holocaust survivor testimonies as possible, all over the world, for historical preservation, research and educational use.
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
The museum is dedicated to presenting the history of the Holocaust through a variety of methods including artifacts, photographs and cinematographic materials.
Yad Vashem The Holocaust Martyrs' and Hereos' Remembrance Authority
Yad Vashem is the Holocaust and Martyrs' and Heroes' memorial and archives located in Jerusalem; numerous resources are available online.

  Primary sources

Holocaust: Selected Documents in Eighteen Volumes
Print Location: REF D810 .J4 H655
Check availability
Reprints of primary source documents. Divided into four areas: 1)Planning and Preparation 2)The Killing of the Jews 3)Rescue Attempts 4)Punishment
Treatment of Armenians in the Ottoman Empire, 1915-1916 : Documents Presented to Viscount Greyof Falloden by Viscount Bryce
Print Location: REF D638.A7 T6 2000x
Check availability
"In February 1916 the British government commissioned James Bryce and Arbold Toynbee to compile evidence concerning 'recent events in Armenia'." Includes index.
Trials of War Criminals Before the Nuremberg Military Tribunals (Green Set)
Print Location: U.S. Gov. Docs. REF D 102:8:vol.1-15
Check availability
Complete transcript of the Nuremberg war trials. The green set is in English.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Susan Hubbs

Susan Hubbs
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 130C
(320) 308-4996
shubbs@stcloudstate.edu


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University