The Library at St. Cloud State University

HONS 106: Honors Research Seminar II

Some thoughts about libraries
Effective Research Strategies
Before searching the library databases, spend a few minutes brainstorming keywords and considering synonyms that describe the individual concepts within your topic. Developing a search strategy in this way can improve the effectiveness and efficiency of your search results.
 


University of Rhode Island - University Libraries
LibSearch and Databases
LibSearch Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase provides a single search box that allows users to search for books, audio-visual materials, journal articles, and other resources contained in many of the Library's databases.LibSearch is one of several databases that provide general or subject-specific coverage of an academic discipline or subject area. The screenshot below highlights some of the features of Library Search.



Databases A-Z
Alphabetical list of library databases. Useful if a professor directs you to a specific database.
Research Guides (By Subject or Course Number)
Guides for doing research in a particular subject area (Art, Education, Social Work, etc.) or for a specific course. Think about the broad subject areas that your topic fits within.
Search for Books
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search

Finding Library Books
Tips for Finding Books
  • Academic libraries contain materials that support the curriculum, or what is taught and studied at the college or university.
  • Most academic libraries use the Library of Congress (LC) Call Number System to organize their physical items.
  • When you search for books, videos, or other materials in the library catalog (MnPALS), you find information about each item. This information is displayed in what's called a "record." For instance, a record for a book looks like this:



To find the book, you must look for it in the library using its Call Number and its location. In our example, we can see that the item is Available and is in the Main Collection - Basement. The call number, LC67.62 .M58 2010, translates to...
  • Subclass LC -- “Special aspects of education” -- Shelved in alphabetical order
  • 67.62 -- “Social aspects of education. Economic aspects of education.” -- Shelved numerically as a whole number, sometimes with a decimal
  • .M58 -- (a.k.a. the Cutter line) author’s last name, “Mullen” -- Shelved alphabetically by the letter, then numerically as a decimal
  • 2010 -- the year the book was published -- Shelved in chronological order
Find Articles
For all topics, excellent places to start:
First: Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

Second: JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
JSTOR provides unique access to full text backfiles for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles.

For topics related to art:
Art Full Text Restricted Resource findit database
Provides indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, including full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995. Also provides indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations.
Note: For articles published from 1929-1984, use the print version of Art Index, available on the Miller Center Reference Index Shelves.

For topics related to communications:
Communication & Mass Media Complete Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
The main database for Communication Studies and Mass Communications. Searches over 600 journal titles that support research in communication, mass media, linguistics, language learning and related fields of study.

For topics related to criminal justice:
Criminal Justice Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other informaiton related to criminal justice.  Topics covered include: courts and the legal process; adult corrections; crime prevention and control strategies; crime, the offender, and the victim; juvenile justice and delinquency; and police.

For topics related to diversity and racial issues:
Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.
GenderWatch Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Articles on topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace that support LGBT studies, family studies, gender studies, and women's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach. Click the check box to limit results to "Peer-reviewed" for scholarly articles.

For topics related to education:
ERIC (EBSCO) Restricted Resource findit database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.

For topics related to music:
Music Literature (RILM) Restricted Resource findit database
Covers all areas of music scholarship, including, concert reviews, recording notes, dance, anthropology, ethnomusicology, music theory, music therapy, instruments and voice.

For topics related to psychology (the study of how people behave, think and feel) :
PsycINFO Restricted Resource findit database
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.

For topics related to sociology (the study of social life, social change, and the social causes and consequences of human behavior):
Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
Sociological Abstracts is the primary index to articles and conference proceedings for sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study. It also provides links to full text articles from Academic Press journals where appropriate. Links to fulltext where SCSU maintains fulltext subscriptions.
Note: 1963 to Present

For topics related to business and economics:
ABI/INFORM (Business) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
ABI/INFORM indexes content from 3,200 trade publications and scholarly journals (with full text or full-image for 2,100 titles) that help students and researchers track business conditions, trends, management techniques, corporate strategies, and industry-specific topics worldwide.
Note: 1972 to present

Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Business Source Premier searches 350 scholarly journals back to 1965. Includes searchable references for more than 1,170 journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics and economics.

EconLit Restricted Resource findit database
Index to scholarly articles and dissertations in economics and related fields. Updated monthly. Corresponds to the print index published as part of the Journal of Economic Literature.
Note: 1969 to present

For topics related to world history (excluding the United States and Canada):
Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
Search over 2,000 scholarly journals covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Note: 1954 to present

For topics related to the history of the United States and Canada (including military science):
America: History & Life Restricted Resource findit database
Search 2,000 scholarly journals on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present (the rest of the world is covered in Historical Abstracts).

For topics related to political science:
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other informaiton related to political science topics.

For topics related to science (including agriculture, astronomy, computer technology, environmental studies, and geography):
ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Search over 1,200 scholarly journals published by Elsevier. ScienceDirect is multisubject, but specializes in science. Note: We do not have full text access to all journals. 1993 to present for Academic Press journals; 1996 to present for Elsevier journals
Scopus (Science) Restricted Resource findit database
Science, technology, engineering, medical and some social sciences literature from 15,000 scholarly journals from 4,000 international publishers.

For topics related to public health:
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Index with fulltext for 550 scholarly journals covering many areas of medicine. Include the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide covering 1300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4700 brand names.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Nursing) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Search 3,000+ journals in nursing and allied health back to 1937; covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, etc.
Research consultation
As you work on your research colloquium project, I encourage you to meet with a librarian for a research consultation. Research consultations are intended to give you in-depth assistance in identifying and locating the resources most useful for your project. Please complete the form on our Ask a Librarian page to schedule a consultation.
RefWorks
RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere.

How to export from Academic Search Premier to RefWorks
Cite Your Sources
Citation Styles

Choose a citation style (APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian, etc) and follow the guidelines for formatting your paper and references.
 

APA Formatting and Style Guide (2010 update) (OWL at Purdue) Provides examples of formatting papers, in-text citations, footnotes and endnotes, and reference lists in APA style. Updated according to the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar Restricted Resource database
Google Scholar allows you to search the Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles available from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. When on campus click on "Available via SCSU FindIt" to locate the item through the Library's subscriptions.   
Some tips for searching Google Scholar:
http://guides.library.illinois.edu/c.php?g=347668&p=3835551

More tips:
http://www.umuc.edu/library/libhow/googlescholar.cfm

Information from Google about Google Scholar:

http://scholar.google.com/intl/en-US/scholar/help.html
 

Information about the "Cited by" function in Google Scholar:
http://academicguides.waldenu.edu/content.php?pid=225643&sid=1870041

Finding Your Way in the Library
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jennifer Quinlan

Jennifer Quinlan
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140G
(320) 308-5626
jmquinlan@stcloudstate.edu


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University