The Library at St. Cloud State University

HONS 160: Myth and Legend (Abartis)

Reference Print Resources/Starting points








Dictionary of gods and goddesses
Overview information on gods and goddesses
Located on the first floor of the Miller Center in the Reference Collection, in-library use only
Call number: BL473 .J67 2004






The Facts on File encyclopedia of world mythology and legend
Overview information on mythology and legend.
Located on the first floor of the Miller Center in the Reference Collection, in-library use only
Call number: BL303 .M45 2004 (2 volumes)


Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.

A basic search in Credo Reference for "Zeus," for example, will get you entries about the Greek god from the Dictionary of Classical Mythology and Routledge's Who's Who in Classical Mythology, among other resources.
Search for Books
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search

Find Scholarly Journal Articles

Scholarly vs. Popular Materials Guide (NCSU) Unrestricted Resource
Guide to distinguishing between scholarly journals, popular magazines, and trade journals/magazines.

All topics:
LibSearch Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Your first stop for finding scholarly high-quality research. Search the library's physical collection (books, movies, music, government publications, etc.) along with most of the online journals and e-books to which the Library subscribes -- all in a single search. Tip: For scholarly articles, click the check box to limit your results to peer-reviewed journals.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
JSTOR provides unique access to full text backfiles for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles.

ProTip: As JSTOR doesn't allow searching by time period, it might be useful to use search terms that describe the period you're searching: "Hellenistic," "Iron Age," "Classical," "Minoan," and so forth.

Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Full-text access to more than 150 scholarly journals and eBooks in all disciplines published by Johns Hopkins University and several other university presses.

ProTip: In the menu on the left side of the screen, look for the box titled, "Research Area." Scroll down to "Studies by Time Period," click the box, then scroll down again to choose "Studies by Time Period > Ancient Studies and Classics," and/or "History > Ancient History."


 

Search tips for library databases:
  • Search by concepts, taking out common words like effect, affect, good, bad, etc.
  • Using AND focuses or limits your search (you get fewer results). Using OR broadens or expands your search (you get more results).
  • Use * to search for different word endings (child* searches child, child's, children, children's but also childbirth) and plurals.
  • Use quotation marks around phrases.
  • Try the Advanced Search. Change the "field" you are search using the pull down menu (for example, search for keywords only in the "Title" of an article, especially helpful in Project Muse and JSTOR).
Subject Specialist
Picture: Olivia Olivares

Olivia Olivares
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140E
(320) 308-4822
oolivares@stcloudstate.edu

Ask a Librarian

Click to access email (answered usually within an hour during regular Reference Desk hours), chat (available 24 / 7), phone numbers for SCSU Reference Desk, and online form to set up a one-on-one (in person or via telephone) research consultation with a librarian.
WorldCat
WorldCat Restricted Resource database
WorldCat is a catalog of materials from thousands of libraries and institutions around the world. Click on the FindIt! button and use Interlibrary Loan to request items St. Cloud State University does not own.
Interlibrary Loan
On Library homepage, select Interlibrary Loan (ILL) link: http://lrts.stcloudstate.edu/library/services/illrequest.asp

To request a book, select Request a book link: https://mplus.mnpals.net/vufind/MyResearch/ILLRequest/?mylocn=SCS

To request an article, select Request an Article link:  https://mplus.mnpals.net/vufind/MyResearch/ILLRequest?illForm=SE&mylocn=SCS 

Login using your StarID and password. Fill out the required fields of the form. Be sure to check the copyright agreement box. Select Submit Request. Watch your HuskyNet email for information about your request.
Citing your sources
Citation Styles
Choose a citation style (APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian ...) and follow the guidelines for formatting your paper and references.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University