The Library at St. Cloud State University

HPE 438 - Methods of 5-12 Health

Methods of 5-12 Health
Journal Articles and Resource Databases

Health Education Journals

Use the databases below to find journal articles, reports, books, and other reference resources

Education/Physical Education


ERIC (Education) Restricted Resource findit database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.
Note: 1966 - present

Professional Collection (Education) Restricted Resource findit database
The Professional Collection is a selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators. It offers balanced coverage for any professional educator in the following areas: arts and humanities; child and adolescent psychology and development; drug and alcohol abuse; health/nutrition/fitness; learning disabilities; literature; school law; science and technology; social sciences; and sports/athletic training

Teacher Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators.

 

Health/Social Services

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Nursing) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Search 3,000+ journals in nursing and allied health back to 1937; covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, etc. Coverage: 1937 - present
Medline Restricted Resource findit elm database
Indexes more than 19,000 journals, 1950 to present, in all areas of medicine, nursing, health services administration, nutrition, and other areas.
PsycINFO Restricted Resource findit database
The premier index for scholarly articles relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.
Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
Sociological Abstracts is the primary index to articles and conference proceedings for sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study. It also provides links to full text articles from Academic Press journals where appropriate. Links to fulltext where SCSU maintains fulltext subscriptions.
Note: 1963 to Present

Minnesota Newspapers

Minneapolis Star Tribune: ProQuest Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Minnesota's biggest newspaper. Search and print full-text articles from 1986 onward.
St. Paul Pioneer Press Restricted Resource
Minnesota's second largest newspaper and a major source of news about state government.  Search and print full-text articles from 2010 onward.
St. Cloud Times Restricted Resource
Search or browse full-text articles from 2002 to present. Articles from the most recent seven days are also available online at www.sctimes.com.

Other 


Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
This full-text reference resource presents multiple sides on current controversial topics. Each topic may include topical essays, supporting articles, primary source documents, images, and videos. ​
 
Web Resources - Specialized Topics
ALCOHOL & Drug Education

D.A.R.E. America
"Teaching students good decision-making skills to help them lead safe and healthy lives."

NIDA for Teens: The Science Behind Drug Abuse
"...National Institutes of Health (NIH), created this Web site to educate adolescents ages 11 through 15 (as well as their parents and teachers) on the science behind drug abuse."

National Institute on Drug Abuse: Parents & Educators
"Find the latest science-based information about the health effects and consequences about drug abuse and addition..."

PACT 360: Police and Communities Together
"...PACT360 is a program of research-based, multimedia community education presentations."


Mental Health

National Institute of Mental Health - Educational Resources
Educational resources for teachers and students

MedlinePlus: Teen Mental Health
Teen mental information, research, and resources links
TeenMentalHealth.org
An interesting mental health site from Nova Scotia specifically for working with teens 
Statistics - Facts
Minnesota

Minnesota Department of Health: Data & Statistics
A variety of health and social statistics specific to Minnesota
National Substance Abuse Index: Minnesota
Contains statistics, law and policy, and other information relevant to substance abuse.
Substance Use in Minnesota
Provides a wide variety of data on substance abuse in MN, including demographics by grade and age

Federal

FastStats.gov
The fastats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically."
HealthData.gov
This site is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all.  
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
Contains national data on the prevalence, treatment, and consequences of substance abuse in the U.S.

Other 

Bureau of Justice Statistics
Includes statistics on crimes & victims, criminal offenders, special topics, national and statement law enforcement, prosecution, courts and sentencing, corrections, expenditures and criminal records' systems. Also includes data for analysis (data sets, spread sheets, code books), and links to other relevant sources. Includes comprehensive list of published reports and surveys.
Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health (DRC)
"The DRC is a non-profit data resource providing access to children's health data on a variety of important topics, including the health and well-being of children and the access to quality care."
U.S. Census Bureau
The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
Minnesota Laws, Policy, & Organizations
Controlled Substances &  Crime Penalties
Crimes & penalty chart from MN State University, Mankato

NORML: Working to Reform Marijuana Laws 
A variety of marijuana-related law and state information

Minnesota Clean Indoor Air Act
Statutes related to "Freedom to Breathe"

Minnesota Legislative Reference Library 
Resources on Minnesota Issues - Legal age in Minnesota

Revisor of Statues: Minnesota Law 
Search Minnesota Laws
Subject Specialist
Picture: Cindy Gruwell

Cindy Gruwell
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140D
(320) 308-1508
cagruwell@stcloudstate.edu


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University