The Library at St. Cloud State University

Human Relations and Multicultural Education (HURL)

Library resources for HURL
Finding scholarly journal articles
Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

ERIC (EBSCO) Restricted Resource findit database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.

GenderWatch Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Articles on topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace that support LGBT studies, family studies, gender studies, and women's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach. Click the check box to limit results to "Peer-reviewed" for scholarly articles.

Alternative Press Index Restricted Resource findit database
Index to articles published from 1991-present in over 250 alternative, radical, and liberal publications that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change.

Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.

CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Reliable, unbiased, and in-depth information on a wide variety of current issues. Excellent for browsing hot topics.
Facts and background information
Available in the Reference Collection on 1st West

Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education
REF LC1099.3 H35 2004 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
This volume describes and analyzes changes such as increased immigration to the United States and new developments in theory and research related to race, culture, ethnicity, and language. It addresses new issues such as findings on the increase in the number of interracial children and the characteristics of children of immigrant families. The educational implications of new research and trends are also discussed. 

Encyclopedia of Multiculturalism
E184 .A1 E58 1994 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Broad encyclopedic coverage of multicultural people, events, and issues. Entries cover various groups and subsets(e.g., Asian American women); topics such as architecture, arts and entertainment; important individuals and groups (e.g., Buffalow soldiers), and issues (e.g., anti-Asian violence), and resources (e.g., women's studies programs). Illustrated, with a comprehensive subject list and a general index, 6 volumes.

Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
REF E184.A1 G15 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
4 vols. Medium to lengthy entries for American ethnic groups. Organized by ethnic groups. Each entry includes information on history, geography, immigration, culture, religion, family structures, and more. Bibliographies are included with each entry.

Encyclopedia of the World's Minorities Unrestricted Resource
A-Z articles are organized into four entry types: topics, nations, groups, and biographies. Includes nation entries and essays concerning minority groups.

Encyclopedia of Social Issues
REF HN57 .E59 Unrestricted Resource Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Brief articles on a wide variety of social issues. Most entries include recommended readings.

Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice
REF HM 671 .E53 2007 Unrestricted Resource Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Volume 3. A-Z encyclopedia includes signed articles on social justice, social activism, and social reformers. Voume 1 includes a Reader's Guide of entries related to themes such as education, environmentalist, human rights, etc.

Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups
E184 .A1 H35 Unrestricted Resource Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Exhaustive and scholarly coverage of every ethnic group in the United States. Each lengthy article generally includes historical background, immigration, settlements, social and economic life, religious institutions, politics, etc. Each article is signed and includes a bibliography. Published in 1980, this encyclopedia remains a core resource.



Available online

Diversity & Ethnic Studies: Recommended Websites & Research Guides Unrestricted Resource
Provides links to African American, American Indian, Asian American, and U.S. Latino resources, along with links to resources on often-overlooked minorities such as lesbians, bisexuals, and gays. There's also a brief list of multicultural resources, meaning those that deal with more than one ethnic minority or cultural group.

Library of Congress Country Studies Unrestricted Resource
Online editions of book-length country profiles produced for U.S. diplomats. This site includes substantial information on each nation's culture, history, economy, and political system. It is searchable by topic and country.
 
Featured Library Books
American multicultural studies: Diversity of race, ethnicity, gender, and sexuality
E184.A1 A636644 2013







Is everyone really equal? An introduction to key concepts in social justice education
LC191 .S38 2012


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University