The Library at St. Cloud State University

Information Media

Library resources for Information Media
Finding scholarly journal articles
Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

Emerald FullText Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Emerald provides access to the fulltext content or more than 100 management and information services journals published by MCBPress (UK). Among the journal titles for business are European Business Review, European Journal of Marketing, Benchmarking, Balance Sheet, International Journal of Public Sector Management, International Marketing Review, and Journal of Consumer Marketing; titles for information services include Library Hi Tech, and Reference Services Review.

Library Literature & Information Science Full Text Restricted Resource findit database
Provides indexing and abstracting of over 400 journals from 1980 to present, including key library and information science periodicals, and full-text coverage of over 170 journals.
Note: Electronic-1980 to present , Print -1921-1996

ERIC (EBSCO) Restricted Resource findit database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.

Professional Collection (Education) Restricted Resource findit database
The Professional Collection is a selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators. It offers balanced coverage for any professional educator in the following areas: arts and humanities; child and adolescent psychology and development; drug and alcohol abuse; health/nutrition/fitness; learning disabilities; literature; school law; science and technology; social sciences; and sports/athletic training

Teacher Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators.
Facts and background information
Available in the Reference Collection on 1st West

Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media
REF HQ784 .M3 E53 2007 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
2 vol. A-Z encyclopedia includes articles on a wide variety of issues related to media. Topics include advertising, computers and electronic media, gender and sexuality, television, violence and aggression, and many others. Signed articles includes suggestions for further reading. Index is included in each volume.

Bowker Annual: Library and Book Trade Almanac
REF Z731 .A47 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Annual volumes include News of the Year, National Association and Organization Reports (ALA and others), Legislation, Library Science Education, Research and Statistics, Reference Information, and Directory of Organizations. Latest volume in Reference, others in Circulation.
Note: 1961 -

Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science. 2nd edition
Ref Z1006 .E57 2003 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
4 vol. Topics include historical topics as well as ones from the contemporary digital age of libraries and information. Articles (some extensive) are signed and include bibliographies for further reading.

Available online

21st Century Education: A Reference Handbook Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
Highlights the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates facing educators today.

Nation's Report Card Unrestricted Resource
The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) is the largest nationally representative and co‚Äčntinuing assessment of what America's students know and can do in various subject areas.

National Center for Education Statistics Unrestricted Resource
This official agency site includes: Education Statistics at a Glance which is comprised of The Condition of Education, The Digest of Education Statistics, and Projections of Education Statistics. In addition, there is a searchable database of NCES tables and figures. This search tool lets the user locate all tables/figures published in the inventory of NCES' "Education Statistics Quarterly"; the NEDRC (National Education Data Resource Center) Postsecondary Table Library; and many NCES publications.
Resources for K-12 students
ELM: Electronic Library for Minnesota -- Resources for K-12 Unrestricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
ELM provides access to the following databases for use in K-12 environments: From Gale: InfoTrac Junior Edition for junior high and middle school students InfoTrac Student Edition for high school students Kids InfoBits for elementary school students Junior Reference Collection for junior high and middle school students Student Resources in Context for high school students From EBSCO: MAS Ultra-School Edition for high school students Middle Search Plus for junior high and middle school students Primary Search for elementary school students
 
Featured recent library books
Connecting libraries with classrooms: The curricular roles of the media specialist
LB2806.15 .B48 2011

 






The power of media specialists to improve academic achievement and strengthen at-risk students
Z675.S3 J7274 2008


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University