The Library at St. Cloud State University

IM 502 - Information Media: Theory, Res. & Practice (Thompson)

Readings Assignment
ERIC (Education) Restricted Resource findit database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.
Note: 1966 - present

PsycINFO Restricted Resource findit database
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.

Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Research Paper: Topics
As the primary education database, ERIC is always a good place to search for materials on any education-related issue. The following is a list of additional databases with materials that might touch on topics related to education and information media. All databases can be accessed from the following link: http://stcloud.lib.mnscu.edu/subjects/databases.php

Any specific learning theory:  PsycINFO

Any specific management theory: Business Source Premier

Technology: integration, predication, applications, and concerns:  Academic Search Premier

Instructional design: relationship to learning, : PsycINFO  

Instructional design: project management or performance improvement: Business Source Premier

Technology integration in educational or training environments: Academic Search Premier, IEEE Xplore

Gender issues and learning: GenderWatch

Attitudes: relationship to learning, teaching, training and management: PsycINFO

Professional ethics: Business Source Premier

Team building: Business Source Premier

 
Media sources (videos, blogs, etc.)
Books and More Advanced Search (MnPALS Plus) Unrestricted Resource database
Search for books, ebooks, video, government publications, recordings, music scores, and other materials available at the library. Use the limits to focus on specific collections.
The SCSU Library's collection of DVDs, VHS cassettes and online streaming video can be searched through the library catalog. 

Films on Demand
A large collection of educational/instructional films and documentaries, available online. Click on "Collections" to browse the Education, Psychology, and Business and Economics collections. As this is an SCSU-licensed product, you must access this resource from the link above or from the link in the list of library databases.

Open Education Database: Top 100 Education Blogs

The Teaching Channel (requires free registration):  https://www.teachingchannel.org/

TeacherTube: http://www.teachertube.com/
Subject Specialist
Picture: Robin Ewing

Robin Ewing
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 130B
(320) 308-2093
rlewing@stcloudstate.edu

Picture: Olivia Olivares

Olivia Olivares
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140E
(320) 308-4822
oolivares@stcloudstate.edu

Assistance for Distance Students
Services for distance students: http://stcloud.lib.mnscu.edu/subjects/guide.php?subject=servicesdistance 

Interlibrary Loan: http://lrts.stcloudstate.edu/library/services/illrequest.asp 
This service can also be used to request books and articles from SCSU's library. When using this service, please specify in the online request form that you live further than 30 miles from the SCSU campus in St. Cloud.
Citations and bibliographic information
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA)
READY REF BF76.7 .P83 2010 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Official manual for APA documentation. Available in print only, in the Ready Reference section of the library, 1st floor. Latest edition is 6th edition, 2010.

APA Formatting and Style Guide from OWL at Purdue Unrestricted Resource
Provides examples of formatting papers, in-text citations, footnotes and endnotes, and reference lists in APA style. Updated according to the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.

APA Citation Style from Long Island University Unrestricted Resource
Color-coded examples of how to document your sources (i.e. books, journal articles, newspaper articles, etc.) in your works cited page.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.

RefWorks Basics (.pdf) Unrestricted Resource
A one-page guide with directions for managing citations and creating bibliographies in RefWorks.

 


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University