The Library at St. Cloud State University

IM 620 School Library Media Program

Library Resources for Information Media
Annotated Bibl. -- Journal Articles
Start with:

Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

NOTE:  Search both Academic Search Premier and other EBSCO databases simultaneously. Just above the first search box in Academic Search Premier, click Choose Databases. Scroll down and click ERIC, Library Literature, and Professional Collection Education. Search results will now be from these four databases and will include the FindIt icon to access full text of the article.

NOTE:  Search for articles written by leaders in field of school library media, information technologies, and/or education.  Enter name phonebook style (Eisenberg, Michael B.) and change search field to AUTHOR.  All of the leaders listed on the syllabus have published articles that appear in Academic Search Premier and/or other databases below. 

Other databases to try:

ERIC (EBSCO) Restricted Resource findit database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.

Library Literature & Information Science Full Text Restricted Resource findit database
Provides indexing and abstracting of over 400 journals from 1980 to present, including key library and information science periodicals, and full-text coverage of over 170 journals.
Note: Electronic-1980 to present , Print -1921-1996

Professional Collection (Education) Restricted Resource findit database
The Professional Collection is a selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators. It offers balanced coverage for any professional educator in the following areas: arts and humanities; child and adolescent psychology and development; drug and alcohol abuse; health/nutrition/fitness; learning disabilities; literature; school law; science and technology; social sciences; and sports/athletic training
Find Books, Videos, and More
Books and More Search (MnPALS Plus)
The SCSU Library owns books written by most of the leaders listed on your syllabus.
You may also want to do a Google search for author's websites or blogs.

Films on Demand Restricted Resource database Resource contains video
Films on Demand is a streaming media system from Films Media Group that provides educational videos online from all disciplines or subject areas. Users can set up their own accounts and create customized playlists.
Find Background and Overview Information
Print items in Reference Collection:
Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media
REF HQ784 .M3 E53 2007 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
2 vol. A-Z encyclopedia includes articles on a wide variety of issues related to media. Topics include advertising, computers and electronic media, gender and sexuality, television, violence and aggression, and many others. Signed articles includes suggestions for further reading. Index is included in each volume.

Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science. 2nd edition
Ref Z1006 .E57 2003 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
4 vol. Topics include historical topics as well as ones from the contemporary digital age of libraries and information. Articles (some extensive) are signed and include bibliographies for further reading.

Online reference items:
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.
Finding Scholarly Articles on the Job
After you receive your Masters degree, you can still access scholarly journal articles through ELM (Electronic Library of Minnesota). You may need a barcode or identification number from your public library to sign into these databases.

ELM: Electronic Library for Minnesota Unrestricted Resource database
ELM (Electronic Library for Minnesota) gives Minnesota residents online access to magazine, journal, and newspaper articles; eBooks (electronic books); and information from other reference sources via a selection of databases.

On the ELM homepage, click Minnesota Community. Click Databases for You, then A to Z, then use Choose a Database pulldown menu to select Academic Search Premier or another database. Use the Advanced Search to locate journal articles.

You will then have access to any full-text articles on the database. You may be able to work with your public library to get copies of articles not available through ELM.
Ask a Librarian

Click to access email (answered usually within an hour during regular Reference Desk hours), chat (available 24 / 7), phone numbers for SCSU Reference Desk, and online form to set up a one-on-one (in person or via telephone) research consultation with a librarian.

I encourage you to set up a research consultation with me if you need more assistance with your research.
Cite Your Sources
Citation Styles
Choose a citation style (APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian...) and follow the guidelines for formatting your paper and references.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA)
READY REF BF76.7 .P83 2010 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Official manual for APA documentation. Available in print only, in the Ready Reference section of the library, 1st floor. Latest edition is 6th edition, 2010.

Citations in Library Databases
-- Look at the article record for icons or links such as Cite This...Citation Information...Citing This Source
-- Select citation text, copy, then paste into word processing document
-- Reorder bibliography, usually alphabetically by author's last name.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.
RefWorks Basics (.pdf)
RefWorks Help
Write Place
Write Place
The Write Place offers free, one-on-one tutoring to all members of the St. Cloud State University community, at any stage in the writing process. They are located in Building 51 and also have a satellite location in the library on first floor.
The Write Place also consults online by appointment during office hours. Click Make an Appointment and after the login, click Online Appointment box to schedule.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University