The Library at St. Cloud State University

International Relations

All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Articles, journals, magazines and newspapers

Academic Search Premier (all topics) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
Search over 2,000 scholarly journals covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
note: 1954 to present
MLA International Bibliography (Languages & Literature) Restricted Resource findit database
Comprehensive current index to articles and chapters in scholarly collections for literature, linguistics, and folklore. Covers all the world's languages and literatures, both contemporary and historical.
note: 1963 - present
NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's) Restricted Resource database
A comprehensive source of business and investment information including industry surveys, stock reports, company descriptions and financials, and mutual fund research. For tips, see the NetAdvantage User Guide.
Newsbank Special Reports Restricted Resource database
NewsBank's Special Reports focus on topics of current interest. They include content from sources throughout the world to provide a global perspective, current and background information, statistics, maps, images, websites, and suggested search terms. New information is added daily to featured and current reports.
PapersFirst Restricted Resource findit elm database
Index of papers of every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop, and meeting received by the British Library. Updated twice a month.
note: 1993 - present
Wall Street Journal Index
Print Location: Miller Center Reference Index Shelves
Check availability
Index to the national and international, political, business and financial news appearing in the microfilmed edition of the Wall Street Journal. (EASTERN EDITION)
note: 1958 - 2002
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other informaiton related to political science topics.

  Facts, definitions, and overviews

Almanac of American Politics
Print Location: REF JK1012 .A44
Check availability
Summarizes the state of American politics at both national and state levels, giving voting results on key issues and state-by-state analyses of political concerns.
American Treaties and Alliances
Print Location: REF KZ236 2000
Check availability
Settlement, union, expansion, boundaries, and military alliances. Diplomacy and international organizations. Trade, commerce, transportation, human and political rights, and science and the environment.
Dictionary of Media Literacy
Print Location: REF P91.3 S527 1997
Check availability
A compilation of important concepts, people, issues, organizations, and international developments in the field of media literacy. Index.
Encyclopedia of International Peacekeeping Operations
Print Location: REF JZ6374 .R36 1999
Check availability
This work gives a comprehensive source for infomation on all aspects of the practice and theory of peacekeeping in modern times. Includes entries for individual nations and how they have been involved in peacekeeping along with explanations of peacekeeping concepts and organizations.
Encyclopedia of the United Nations
Print Location: REF KZ4968 .O84 2003
Check availability
This is a 4 vol. set and the third English edition of the this work which was first published in Poland in 1975. Includes topics like the U.N.'s work on developing and codifying international law, text of major human rights instruments, and treaties/agreements governing activities in outer-space, etc.
Globalization of World Politics: An Introduction to International Relations
Print Location: JZ1242 .G58 2001
Check availability
History, theories, international issues. Signed articles include data, websites, bibliographies.
Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref
Using humanistic principles to strip away the jargon and narrowness inherent in much of modern-day political scholarship, this historical encyclopedia reclaims the breadth of vision, the privileging of factual evidence over theory, and the moral tenor prevalent in classical political inquiry.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History
Print Location: REF HC15 .O94 2003
Check availability
Includes articles on all aspects of economic history including the economic histories of more than 100 countries, regions, and cities.

  Websites

Export.gov
This web site includes links to Country Commercial Guides, articles, reports, other supportive information prepared by U.S. Embassy staff to assist U.S. businesses in doing business in other countries. Register (it's free) for access to the International Market Research Library. The registration link is at the top of the screen; you MUST register with your SCSU e-mail account to be recognized as a student/faculty researcher entitled to free access.
Foreign Affairs of the United States
An Oklahoma State University/Government Printing Office list of annotated links to U.S. government sites dealing with Foreign Affairs.
Foreign Affairs Online
A meta-index to sites related to international law, international relations, and U.S. foreign policy. Well organized and annotated, this site is hosted by the Department of Information Technology and Communication at the University of Virginia (Diana Hacker, 2003).
Foreign Relations of the United States: U.S. Department of State
The Department of State official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.
InternationalAffairs.com
Provides annotated "links to a wide variety of resources ranging from news wires and newspapers to economic think-tanks to strategic studies institutes to the official web pages of governments and international institutions like the World Bank, OECD, and the United Nations." Maintained by Oxford Analytica.
National Security Archive
The Web site of a project that has collected the world's largest non-governmental archive of declassified documents, many of them covering controversial issues and obtained through the Freedom of Information Act.
Transparency International
Founded in 1993, Transparency International monitors corruption in the public sector in over 90 countries. Transparency International also produces the "Corruption Perception Index," a well-known measure of public perception of the existence of corruption in national and local government entities. Click on the "Regional Pages" and "Policy and Research" tabs for white papers and reports.

  Research guides and manuals

Columbia Guide to Online Style
This site provides many examples for citing online resources in the bibliography of a humanities, social science or science research paper. See Preparing the Bibliographic Material once you have linked to this page.

  Laws, legislation, and government reports

Europa: Gateway to the European Union
Europa is the portal site of the European Union. It provides up-to-date coverage of European Union affairs and essential information on European integration. Users can also consult all legislation currently in force or under discussion, access the websites of each of the EU institutions and find out about the policies administered by the European Union under the powers devolved to it by the Treaties.
Library of Congress Country Studies
Online editions of book-length country profiles produced for U.S. diplomats. This site includes substantial information on each nation's culture, history, economy, and political system. It is searchable by topic and country.
OpenCRS: Congressional Research Reports for the People
The Congressional Research Service is an arm of the Library of Congress that was legislatively created to provide nonpartisan research and analysis to Congress. Most reports are available to the public by contacting legislators directly, but this site attempts to point to all reports that have been posted to the Web, making it a one-stop shop for reports on issues and disciplines including law, economics, foreign affairs, public administration, and the information, social, political, and natural sciences.
U.S. Department of State - International Information
Home of the State Department's country-specific information on the web. This page links to lists of many kinds, such as country names and diplomatic lists, as well as State Department authored reports.
U.S. Office of Trade and Industry Information
International trade and industry data from the U.S. Department of Commerce and international sources, with links to related data sources.

  Statistics and data

Chartbook of International Labor Comparisons
"Produced by the Bureau of International Labor Affairs and Bureau of Labor Statistics, this resource brings together data from a wide range of US and international sources, providing comparative information that can be used to evaluate the competitive position of the US in the global economy. Tables are organized into four main areas of comparison: gross domestic product per capita; labor market indicators; competitive indicators for manufacturing; as well as other indicators. Well organized with options for either HTML or PDF formats," (Choice, January 2004).
MPI Data Hub Some full text available
MPI provides current immigration statistics, maps, and other data for:
  • US--national and state level demographic, social, and economic characteristics
  • Europe, North America, Oceania--national level migration patterns, net migration, and historical data
  • Selected regional and national comparative statistics.
    Also publishes Migration Information Source, an online journal of articles on policy issues and data sources.

NSSN: A National Resource For Global Standards
The database provides access to bibliographic information for more than 250,000 standards, from more than 600 national, foreign, regional, and international standards organizations.  Abstracts are not included in NSSN.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Michael Gorman

Michael Gorman
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140F
(320) 308-2028
msgorman@stcloudstate.edu


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University