The Library at St. Cloud State University

Jewish Studies

All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Articles, journals, magazines and newspapers

Academic Search Premier (all topics) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Alternative Press Index Restricted Resource findit database
Index to articles published from 1991-present in over 250 alternative, radical, and liberal publications that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change.
Alternative Press Index Archive Restricted Resource findit database
Index to articles published from 1969-1990 in over 250 alternative, radical, and liberal publications that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change.
America: History & Life Restricted Resource findit database
Search 2,000 scholarly journals on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present (the rest of the world is covered in Historical Abstracts).
Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
Search over 2,000 scholarly journals covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
note: 1954 to present
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
JSTOR provides unique access to full text backfiles for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles.
Project MUSE Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Full-text access to more than 150 scholarly journals and eBooks in all disciplines published by Johns Hopkins University and several other university presses.
ProQuest Global Newsstream Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Fulltext of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times (1999 to present), The Times of London (index and abstract only), the Wall Street Journal (1984 to present), and the StarTribune of Minneapolis (1986 to present).

  Facts, definitions, and overviews

American Memory from the Library of Congress database
The gateway to the Library of Congress’s digitized American historical materials including manuscripts, prints, photographs, posters, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, books, pamphlets, and sheet music.
Blackwell Companion to Jewish Culture from the Eighteenth Century to the Present
Print Location: REF DS102.8 .B46 1989
Check availability
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Encyclopaedia Judaica Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
Print Location: REF DS102.8 .E496
Check availability
SCSU owns both the original print and the updated online editions of this title. The updated online edition of this classic work includes more than 21,000 entries on all aspects of Jewish life, culture, history, and religion.
Encyclopedia of German Resistance to the Nazi Movement
Print Location: REF DD256.5 .L51313 1997
Check availability
Despite the encyclopedia title, this book is more a collection of essays (about 5 pgs. in length) on resistance to the Nazi movement. Consists of a general overview, encyclopedia of resistance groups, and biographical sketches.
Encyclopedia of Holocaust Literature
Print Location: REF PN56 .H55 E53 2002
Check availability
Organized by authors, this reference work provides entry into this unique genre of literature encompassing novels, diaries and dramas depicting individual "struggle to return to life, meaning, and identity" following the horrors of the Holocaust. Appendix includes listings by: authors' birth, country of origin, as well as birth name. In addition there is a bibliography of primary works as well as critical studies.
Jewish Encyclopedia Some full text available
This is the online version of the Jewish Encyclopedia which was originally published between 1901-1906. Because of this works publication date, it does not include events of the 20th century. However, it contains important information that is relevant today.
JPS Dictionary of Jewish words
Print Location: REF BM50 .E47 2001
Check availability
Judaism--Terminology. Subject: Hebrew language--Terms and phrases. Includes bibliographical references (p. 185-187) and index.
Oxford Biblical Studies Online Restricted Resource database
Provides a comprehensive resource for the study of the Bible and biblical history. Includes authoritative scholarly texts and reference works with tools for research into the background, context, and issues related to the Bible.

  Maps and atlases

Times Atlas of the Second World War
Print Location: Atlas G1038 .T6 1989
Check availability
It covers sophisticated presentations on such less-obvious subjects for an atlas such as resistance, intelligence, and special operations.  The book's core is its operational maps. 

  Websites

Beliefnet
Website contains information and links of all different faiths and beliefs.
Jewish Virtual Library
Website for information and links to History, Biography, Statistics, Maps, Religion and News for Judism and the Jewish People.
Judaism 101
(Taken from website)"Judaism 101 is an online encyclopedia of Judaism, covering Jewish beliefs, people, places, things, language, scripture, holidays, practices and customs. My goal is to make freely available a wide variety of basic, general information about Judaism, written from a traditional perspective in plain English. This web site has grown continually for more than 10 years and continues to be updated periodically."
My Jewish Learning.com
My Jewish Learning.com - the personal gateway to Jewish exploration. Contains information and links to Culture, Daily Life & Practice, Holidays, History & Community, Lifecycle, Ideas & Beliefs, Texts and Special Topics
What Jews Believe
Website devoted to Jewish beliefs concerning life, death, sin, forgiveness, and atonement. Also includes a bibliography.

  Laws, legislation, and government reports

Simon Wiesenthal Center
An international center for Holocaust remembrance and the defense of human rights and the Jewish people. This site is a major contribution in the electronic dissemination of Holocaust and human rights resources. Includes the Museum of Tolerance and CyberWatch (dedicated to fighting hatred).

  Primary sources

Making of America (University of Michigan) database
This collection "is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology." (From Website)
Subject Specialist
Picture: Susan Hubbs

Susan Hubbs
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 130C
(320) 308-4996
shubbs@stcloudstate.edu


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University