The Library at St. Cloud State University

Latin American Studies

All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Articles, journals, magazines and newspapers

Academic Search Premier (all topics) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Dialnet
Index, many with links to fulltext, to contemporary scholarship in Spanish from Spain and South America. Indexes over 3,000 scholarly journals in all disciplines and over 1.2 million documents; also includes citations to articles in edited books and working papers from academic research centers. The database is created as part of the Open Access movement. Interface is in Spanish.
Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.
HAPI: Hispanic-American Periodical Index Restricted Resource findit database
HAPI is an index to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals. The index covers information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the US-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
note: 1970 - present
Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
Search over 2,000 scholarly journals covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
note: 1954 to present
Informe Académico Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Spanish- and English-language scholarly journals and popular magazines with an emphasis on the Americas. Topics covered include business, health, technology, culture, current affairs, economics, and more.
note: 1994 to present
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
JSTOR provides unique access to full text backfiles for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles.
MLA International Bibliography (Languages & Literature) Restricted Resource findit database
Comprehensive current index to articles and chapters in scholarly collections for literature, linguistics, and folklore. Covers all the world's languages and literatures, both contemporary and historical.
note: 1963 - present
Project MUSE Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Full-text access to more than 150 scholarly journals and eBooks in all disciplines published by Johns Hopkins University and several other university presses.

  Books and eBooks

Biblioteca Virtual
Free Spanish language EBook collection, with a focus on human rights, social sciences, and economics publications from Latin America.  Books available in PDF format, free to download and read offline from any program that can read PDF files.

  Facts, definitions, and overviews

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Print Location: REF F1406 .E53 1996
Check availability
An encyclopedia of Latin American history and culture. 5,300 articles in 5 volumes. Entries range from short paragraph to several pages in length. With appendixes listing the names of people according to occupation (e.g., 'education', or 'journalism' or 'the military').
Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature
Print Location: REF PQ7081 .A1 E53 1997x
Check availability
A single volume encyclopedia, with entries on writers, works, and topics relating to the literature of Latin America. Includes survey articles on literature in each individual country. Entries include biographical sketch, list of further reading. Volume has a title index and a general index.
Encyclopedia of Latino Popular Culture
Print Location: REF E184.S75 E59 2004
Check availability
The work focuses predominantly on Mexican American, Puerto Rican, and Cuban American culture within the U.S. It covers a wide variety of topics, and beyond an alphabetical list of entries, there are several lists that sort entries by subject and, for individuals, by field of endeavor and country of origin or heritage. (Booklist)
Fodor's South America
Print Location: F2211 .F6 1995
Check availability
"The complete guide to the best of the Andes, Amazon, big cities, small towns, and beaches"
Gods and Symbols of Ancient Mexico and the Maya
Print Location: REF F1435.3 .R3 M55 1993
Check availability
An illustrated dictionary of Mesoamerican religion. Includes a substantial introduction to the topic. Entries range up to a few pages in length, treating the fasinating customs and beliefs (enemas, human sacrifice, and the Fat God, etc.). With 260 illustrations.
Handbook of Hispanic Cultures in the United States
Print Location: E184.S75 H365 1993
Check availability
A survey of art, history, sociology, and anthropology of Hispanic Americans. Chapters within each volume are arranged by topic, and articles are lenghty and well illustrated (Diana Hacker, 2003).
Historical Dictionary of the Spanish Empire
Print Location: REF DP56 .H57 1992
Check availability
A historical dictionary of the Spanish Empire, 1402-1975. The major people, places, and events are described in brief (from a paragraph to a few pages). Includes a chronology, a selected bibliography, and an index.
note: 1402-1975
Latin America After a Decade of Reforms: Economic and Social Progress
Print Location: REF HC125 .L38 1997x
Check availability
A report examining the social and economic impacts of a decade of economic and political reform. Topics covered include fiscal stability and fiscal decisionmaking, democracy, and decentralization. Includes numerous charts and tables, and a statistical index. Should be cited in any treatment of the present Argentine situation.
note: to 1997
Latin American Studies: A Basic Guide to Sources
Print Location: REF Z1601 .L324 1990
Check availability
A guide to sources in Latin American Studies, this book is a bibliography of bibliographies. It also lists major libraries, archives, publishers, booksellers, encyclopedias, theses and dissertations, etc.
note: to 1990
Mexican Cultural Code Words
Print Location: REF F1210 .D38 1996
Check availability
"The complete guide to key words that express how the Mexicans think, communicate, and behave." Long entries (usually 2 pages) for 139 key words or phrases, from "abrazo" to "zonas de tolerencia". Humorous and instructive as to the culture.
Political Database of the Americas Some full text available
The PDBA provides information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to the strengthening of democracy in the region. Includes numerous links to sites within each country.

  Websites

Internet Resources for Latin America (NMSU)
A high-quality directory of resources on Latin America. Includes links to newspapers, listings of librarians' directories of resources on the topic, links for current events and networking, etc.
Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)
A site sponsored by the University of Texas Institute of Latin American Studies that provides information on Latin America. The site contains country-specific links, links by topic, and assorted links to libraries, and conferences. Unfortunately, the site has not been maintained and updated since 2015; however, most of the links and information are still current.

  Research guides and manuals

Columbia Guide to Online Style
This site provides many examples for citing online resources in the bibliography of a humanities, social science or science research paper. See Preparing the Bibliographic Material once you have linked to this page.

  Primary sources

New Iberian World
Print Location: REF F1411 .I18 1984
Check availability
A collection of various documents created during the period of the Spanish conquest. Five volumes: "The Conquerors and the Conquered", "The Carribean", "The Andes", "Coastlines and Rivers". Includes descriptions of the native peoples, geography, voyages, cultures, countries. With reproductions of maps, indexes, and a bibliography.
note: approx 1500 to the early 1600's

  Statistics and data

International Historical Statistics: The Americas
Print Location: REF HA175 .M55 2003
Check availability
Offers time-series data for countries, including figures on population, agriculture, the economy, transport and communications, and education. Other volumes by the same author cover other regions of the world (Diana Hacker, 2003).
Subject Specialist
Picture: Olivia Olivares

Olivia Olivares
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140E
(320) 308-4822
oolivares@stcloudstate.edu


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University