The Library at St. Cloud State University

HIST 361 - Latin America, 1492-1825

Mesoamerican Codex, British Museum
Print and Online Library Resources
The SCSU Library's Catalog: Books and More
The link to the library's catalog is also available from the library's main website, on the left side of the page under "Be a Power Searcher" and "Articles and Databases." 

MnPALS Classic: Browse
The "Browse" function is available only from MnPALS Classic (the previous version of the online library catalog). The link above will take you directly there; otherwise, you can find the Browse function by clicking "Classic MnPALS," next to the Books and More Catalog simple search box.

  • Using "Browse" to find appropriate subject headings:
    When you choose "Subject begins with ..." from the pulldown menu, "Browse" will give you the various subheadings in the Library of Congress classification system. For example, if you were to browse by subject for "latin america history" (just like that, without the quotation marks), you'd get a list of subject headings beginning with "Latin America -- History." You can also use this to find subject headings for specific countries: "mexico history," "cuba history," "venezuela history," and so forth.
     
  • Examples of searches in "Browse:"
    • mexico history = Mexico - History - Conquest, 1519-1540; Mexico - History - Spanish Colony, 1540-1810
    • brazil history = Brazil - History - 1500-1548; Brazil - History - 1763-1822; Brazil - History - To 1822
       
The University of Minnesota Libraries catalog can be searched for additional resources in much the same way. 

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.
 
  • A partial list of Latin America-related encyclopedias in Credo:

    Companion to Latin American Studies Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
    Provides a brief and accessible overview of the whole of Latin American Studies. Covering all the possible topics, from colonial cultures and identity to US Latino culture and issues of race, gender and sexuality, this book situates Latin America in its historical, linguistic and cultural context.

    Companion to Hispanic Studies Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
    Provides a concise and accessible overview of the discipline as taught today and suggests new directions for future developments. 'Hispanic Studies' is broadly concerned with the languages and cultures of the vast 'Hispanic' world, extending chronologically from Roman Hispania to today, and geographically from Roman Hispania to today, and geographically from California in the North to Patagonia in the South, and from Majorca in the East to the Andes in the West.

    Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society and Culture

    Women's Roles in History: Women's Roles in Latin America and the Caribbean

    Iberia and the Americas: Culture, Politics and History

     
Subject Specialist
Picture: Olivia Olivares

Olivia Olivares
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140E
(320) 308-4822
oolivares@stcloudstate.edu

Olivia's contact hours, Fall 2016
On the Reference Desk:

Monday, 4:00 - 6:00 pm
Tuesday, noon - 1:00 pm
Thursday, 1:00 - 3:00 pm

Office Hours:

Monday, 3:00 - 4:00 pm
Tuesday, 3:00 - 4:00 pm

If the above times are not convenient, please call or e-mail to set up an appointment.
Databases with Latin American Resources
Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
Search over 2,000 scholarly journals covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Note: 1954 to present

HAPI: Hispanic-American Periodical Index Restricted Resource findit database
HAPI is an index to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals. The index covers information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the US-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
Note: 1970 - present

Handbook of Latin American Studies
From the Handbook's webpage: "The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources."

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
JSTOR provides unique access to full text backfiles for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles.

Project MUSE Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Full-text access to more than 150 scholarly journals and eBooks in all disciplines published by Johns Hopkins University and several other university presses.

Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
Sociological Abstracts is the primary index to articles and conference proceedings for sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study. It also provides links to full text articles from Academic Press journals where appropriate. Links to fulltext where SCSU maintains fulltext subscriptions.
Note: 1963 to Present
Resources on the Internet
Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) Unrestricted Resource
A site sponsored by the University of Texas Institute of Latin American Studies that provides information on Latin America. The site contains country-specific links, links by topic, and assorted links to libraries, and conferences. Unfortunately, the site has not been maintained and updated since 2015; however, most of the links and information are still current.

Latin Americanist Research Resource Project (LAARP)
From the webpage: LAARP is "a consortium of research libraries that seeks to increase free and open access to information in support of learning and scholarship in Latin American Studies." Click "Electronic Resources" in the menu near the top of the page for access to the full text of Latin American historical newspapers, government documents, and more.

Handbook of Latin American Studies from the US Library of Congress
An extensive and annotated bibliography of the best research on issues and subjects related to Latin America, compiled annually by top scholars and bibliographers. While the Handbook does not include full-text resources or links to full text, you can use the Handbook to find resources, then search for them in SCSU's library catalog or ask for them via interlibrary loan.

Colonial Latin America at Fordham University
A lengthy list of links to primary sources on colonial Latin America, all available full-text online.

Digital Library of the Caribbean

VISTAS: Visual Culture in Spanish America, 1520-1820


 


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University