The Library at St. Cloud State University

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Issues

Pride in the Library!
  
Databases for Journal Articles
Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

Alternative Press Index Restricted Resource findit database
Index to articles published from 1991-present in over 250 alternative, radical, and liberal publications that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change.

Alternative Press Index Archive Restricted Resource findit database
Index to articles published from 1969-1990 in over 250 alternative, radical, and liberal publications that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change.

Consulta Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Spanish language. Provides a comprehensive collection of Spanish-language materials, including reference material, journals, and primary source documents. Includes a graphic chronological timeline of specific eras, plus an image gallery.

GenderWatch Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Articles on topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace that support LGBT studies, family studies, gender studies, and women's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach. Click the check box to limit results to "Peer-reviewed" for scholarly articles.

PsycINFO Restricted Resource findit database
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.

Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
Sociological Abstracts is the primary index to articles and conference proceedings for sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study. It also provides links to full text articles from Academic Press journals where appropriate. Links to fulltext where SCSU maintains fulltext subscriptions.
Note: 1963 to Present


LGBTIQ Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers
Advocate,The Unrestricted Resource
Online version of the popular LGBT news and culture magazine.

Gay and Lesbian Review Unrestricted Resource
"A bimonthly journal of [LGBT] history, culture, and politics."

GLQ: A Journal of Gay and Lesbian Studies Restricted Resource Some full text available
"Providing a much-needed forum for interdisciplinary discussion, GLQ publishes scholarship, criticism, and commentary in areas as diverse as law, science studies, religion, political science, and literary studies. Its aim is to offer queer perspectives on all issues touching on sex and sexuality. In an effort to achieve the widest possible historical, geographic, and cultural scope, GLQ particularly seeks out new research into historical periods before the twentieth century, into non-Anglophone cultures, and into the experience of those who have been marginalized by race, ethnicity, age, social class, body morphology, or sexual practice. A notable feature is "The GLQ Archive," a special section featuring previously unpublished or unavailable primary materials that may serve as sources for future work in lesbian and gay studies." (Description from website0

Lambda Literary Foundation Unrestricted Resource
"The Lambda Literary Foundation nurtures, celebrates and preserves LGBT literature through programs that honor excellence, promote visibility and encourage development of emerging writers" [from website]. Includes book reviews, columns, Lambda Literary Award winners, and other literary resources for those interested in LGBT writing and publishing.

Trans-Health.com Unrestricted Resource
"The online magazine of health and fitness for transsexual and transgendered people" (from home page).





Media
After Ellen Unrestricted Resource
"Reviews and commentary on the representation of lesbians and bisexual women in entertainment and the media, including television, movies, and books." [from Google Search]

The Backlot Unrestricted Resource
Formerly "AfterElton", this website focuses on gay male celebrities and the representation of gay men in television and film.

LOGO TV Unrestricted Resource
The official website of LOGO TV, a television channel which specializes in LGBTA programming.

PlanetOut Multimedia Unrestricted Resource
Web radio dedicated to news and information focusing on lesbian and gay culture, politics, and interests. For lesbians and gays and those who care about them.


Organizations
Accredited Schools Online: LGBTQ Student Resources and Support Unrestricted Resource
Great resources here for LGBTQ students, particularly first year undergraduates. Includes links to scholarships and relevant non-profit organizations.

Campus Pride Unrestricted Resource
"Campus Pride serves LGBT and ally student leaders and campus organizations in the areas of leadership development, support programs and services to create safer, more inclusive LGBT-friendly colleges and universities. It exists to develop, support and give “voice and action” in building future LGBT and ally student leaders" [from website]. Website includes resources for leadership and organizing, activism and advocacy, event planning and fundraising, trans advocacy, bias and hate crime prevention, fraternity and sorority life, athletics, HBCUs, religion and faith, and health and wellness.

Consortium of Higher Education LGBT Resource Professionals Unrestricted Resource
"The combined vision and mission of the Consortium is to achieve higher education environments in which lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender students, faculty, staff, administrators, and alumni have equity in every respect. Our goals are to support colleagues and develop curriculum to professionally enhance this work; to seek climate improvement on campuses; and to advocate for policy change, program development, and establishment of LGBT Office/Centers." (from website)

GLAAD: Gay and Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation Unrestricted Resource
"GLAAD is dedicated to ensuring recognizable and inclusive representation of gay people and events in the media as a means of eliminating homophobia and discrimination on grounds of sexual orientation and gender identity."

GLSEN: Gay, Lesbian, and Straight Education Network Unrestricted Resource
"The Gay, Lesbian and Straight Education Network strives to assure that each member of every school community is valued and respected regardless of sexual orientation or gender identity/expression."

International Gay and Lesbian Rights Commission (IGLHRC) Unrestricted Resource
A US-based non-profit, non-governmental organization whose mission is "to secure the full enjoyment of the human rights of all people and communities subject to discrimination or abuse on the basis of sexual orientation or expression, gender identity or expression, and/or HIV status."

Lesbian and Gay Archives Roundtable of the Society of American Archivists Unrestricted Resource
This archival guide to Lesbian and Gay resources in North America provides a geographical index of repositories by state and province as well as a cross-index by repository name. Each entry provides contact information as well as web site, if available.

National Center for Transgender Equality Unrestricted Resource
"Dedicated to advancing the equality of transgender people through advocacy, collaboration, and empowerment" (from home page). Includes government documents, statistics, news, reports, and authoritative websites regarding the legal status of transgender people in the United States and their rights as transgender people.

PFLAG: Parents, Families and Friends of Lesbians and Gays Unrestricted Resource
PFLAG is a national organization head quartered in Washington, D.C. that promotes the health and well-being of gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgendered persons, their families and friends. Their web site provides information pertaining to education regarding issues of important to this community, publications and other resources, links to advocacy and legislative information, and contact information and web sites for local chapters.

Transgender Law and Policy Institute Unrestricted Resource
State legislation, court cases, college policies, school policies, and employment policies that affect transpeople. Includes resources for transpeople who need legal information or other services.
Primary Sources
OutHistory Unrestricted Resource
Exhibits of photographs, postcards, and other primary sources which document LGBT American history. Register for free, and you will receive permission to add or edit material, as well as discuss LGBT historical and cultural issues with prominent scholars in the field. Jonathan Ned Katz, author of Gay American History, is the director of this website, and provider of most of the historical material.

PEOPLE WITH A HISTORY: An Online Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Trans* History Unrestricted Resource
"People with a History" presents the history of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals and transgendered people [=LGBT]. It includes hundreds of original texts, discussions, and [soon] images, and addresses LGBT history in all periods, and in all regions of the world."


Websites
How to Find LGBTQ-Friendly Colleges Unrestricted Resource
This website provides tips for students on assessing LGBTQ campus climate, as well as links to national LGBTQ organizations and SCHOLARSHIPS FOR LGBTQ STUDENTS. 

GLBT Literature Unrestricted Resource
LGBT literature, art, and film resource. History and classics are featured, as well as links to news and reviews of up and coming LGBT authors.

glbtq: An Encyclopedia of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Culture Unrestricted Resource
"Covers the arts, literature, and social sciences."

University Queer Programs Unrestricted Resource
Since 1997, University of Kansas professor John G. Younger has maintained a list of university LGBT/queer programs, courses, departments, organizations, and listservs in the United States and Canada.

WSSLINKS Lesbian Links (Plus A Few Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Sites) Unrestricted Resource
Produced by the Women's Studies Section of the American Library Association, this site provides organized acces to: comprehensive and topical sites, directories and search engines, discussion lists, diversity resources, library and archival resources, media, special topics, bisexual sites, and transgender sites.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Rachel Wexelbaum

Rachel Wexelbaum
Associate Professor, Collection Management Librarian
MC 135D
(320) 308-4756
rswexelbaum@stcloudstate.edu

Search for Books
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search

Academic Search Premier


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University