The Library at St. Cloud State University

Introduction



Build it yourself!  Your students' research needs vary and so will their library instruction.  LibSmart lets you select the instruction modules you need most because you know their needs the best. The goal of the library instruction program is to help students become efficient, effective, and independent researchers who think critically while gathering a variety of information resources. 

This page describes the modules available for instruction with the time allocated included in the description.  Just select between one - three when you make your request and we'll get things started. Sessions should be scheduled a minimum of two weeks in advance and instructors should plan on attending along with their students. All sessions are open for modification.
Basic Research
Library Overview:  20 - 50 Minutes
This session includes a general overview of library resources and services. Students will become familiar with subject and course guides, along with LibSearch, a single search box that allows students to search for books, videos, journal articles and other resources contained in many of the Library's databases.  Hands-on optional.

Library 101:  50 - 90 Minutes
This session is an extension of the library overview and designed for application to real-time assignments.  Students will explore resources for topic selection, the library catalog, and journal/newspaper databases.  Time is allocated for students to explore and obtain resources for their assignment(s).

Managing Information and Using Refworks Lite: 30 Minutes
Managing and building bibliographies can be challenging.  This session focuses on print and online resources that assist students with their APA or MLA citations. Also included is an introduction to RefWorks, our online reserach and citation manager.

Academic Integrity + Plagiarism:  30 - 50 Minutes
Students understanding of what constitutes plagiarism and how to avoid its trappings is more important now than ever.  This session will review the SCSU Student Code of Conduct, define plagiarism, paraphrasing vs.quotes, and the importance of citing in a clear and concise format.     
Advanced and Graduate Research
Advanced Research Strategies:  50 - 90 Minutes
This session provides a deeper exploration of topics and research strategies.  Information resources include subject-specific databases, statistics, multimedia, and web sites. There will also be a light overview of RefWorks.

Graduate Library Review:  50 - 90 Minutes
The needs of graduate students go well beyond basic academic research.  This session will introduce and/or review resources and services available in the library including databases, inter-library loan, RefWorks, and our consultation service.

Managing Information and Using RefWorks: 50 Minutes
This session provides a more in-depth exploration of Web resources and RefWorks. Students will set up RefWorks accounts, find and manage citations, and understand how to review and modify output styles. 
A la Carte Menu
Librarians are available to collaborate on course integrated library instruction to help your students learn effective research strategies. Each topic in this menu is 10 - 20 minutes long.

Select from the following:
 
  • Selecting an appropriate research topic
  • Developing strategies for gathering information
  • Identifying appropriate resources for research topics
  • Performing effective author, title, subject, and keyword searches
  • Searching subject specific databases
  • Applying Boolean logic, limits, and advanced search tools
  • Locating articles or books from a citation or bibliography
  • Finding government information
  • Requesting books or articles from other libraries via Inter-library Loan
  • Distinguishing between different types of sources:
    • Scholarly vs. popular publications
    • Primary vs. secondary sources
  • Evaluating sources
  • Citing sources
  • Searching and evaluating Web resources
Library Instruction Request
Faculty Only
Faculty Updates: 20 - 90 Minutes
Library faculty are ready and willing to provide up-to-date resource information and work with you to personally create research guides for your course. Sessions are hands-on optional and customized for your particular needs. 

Faculty Consultations: 20 - 60 Minutes
Have special research needs for yourself and/or your students?  On-on-one and small group consultations are available and can be scheduled based on your availability. For more information check out our consultation page.
Beyond Library Instruction
Research Project Calculator (RPC): Help your students keep up with their research progress with the RPC.  Timely email reminders and links to resources keep your students on track to complete their paper or project on time!  

Course Guides: Faculty librarians are available to create online library guides for your course(s) or research assignment.  Contact us at askref@stcloudstate.edu. Guides may take 2-3 days to develop.

Successful Research Assignments:  Let us help you to integrate information literacy into your curriculum to create effective research assignments.  
Technology Instruction
InforMedia Services (IMS) provides a variety of technology resources, services, tools, and instruction regarding cloud/mobile apps, learning technology, instructional design, and more.  

For technology workshops and instruction requests,
please follow the links below

Current Workshops

Workshop Registration

Technology Instruction Requests
   
Contact Information
Questions?  Please contact:

Cindy Gruwell - Coordinator of Library Instruction
cagruwell@stcloudstate.edu
320-308-1508

Librarians by Subject Specialty


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University