The Library at St. Cloud State University

MBA 690 - Strategic Management (Moorthy)

Country analysis (demographics, culture, etc)
Please see the International Business guide at http://stcloud.lib.mnscu.edu/subjects/guide.php?subject=HBSI.
Finding Company Information
Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
 
Finding company profiles and news in Business Source Premier:
At the top of the BSP web page, you'll see a blue bar with links to various items; one of these is "Company Profiles." Click to get company profiles from MarketLine, a well-known and reputable business intelligence company. Key information presented in MarketLine profiles includes company sales, revenue, SWOT analyses and primary competitors.

A good way to locate product information is to do a search for news of the company. To find news about the company, enter the correct name of the company (for example, "Ford Motor Co." not "Ford") in the search interface. You'll find the correct name by looking in the Company Profiles listing. Make sure to specify in the drop-down menu in the search interface that you're searching by "CO Company Entity." You could also try a combined company/product search by specifying a company name and the name of a particular product; for example: "Whirlpool Corp. - CO Company Entity" and "refrigerators." 

NOTE: there's an option in the pulldown menu to search by "PS Reviews and Products." It does not give good results, so avoid it.

U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) Unrestricted Resource
This site allows users to access the EDGAR database of corporate SEC filings, SEC news digests and public statements, current SEC rulemaking, proposals and final rules, SEC enforcement actions, etc.

Finding the 10-k for publicly traded companies:
Publicly traded companies in the United States (i.e., companies that sell shares on public stock exchanges) are required to file an annual report or 10-k form with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. These reports feature huge amounts of information on how the company is organized, who runs the company, profits and losses, and so forth. 
Industry Analysis
NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's) Restricted Resource database
A comprehensive source of business and investment information including industry surveys, stock reports, company descriptions and financials, and mutual fund research. For tips, see the NetAdvantage User Guide.

Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.

Using Business Source Premier to find industry analysis: A PowerPoint tutorial is available here.

Value Line Investment Survey
REF HG4501 .V26 Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Value Line covers more than 1,700 companies listed on the major U.S. stock exchanges. The "Weekly summary and index" gives ratios, rankings, and price data in an alphabetical list. Detailed listings for each company are arranged in "Ratings and reports" sections, grouped by industry sectors, each introduced with an industry overview. Each also includes Value Line ratings, projections, and betas. The "Weekly selection and opinion" contains predictions about economic conditions and outlook, with profiles on recommended investments.
 
NOTE: Value Line Investment Survey is available through the SCSU Library in print format only. However, you may find this useful item in  a library closer to you. The University of Minnesota-Twin Cities' Library has this in their collection, as do many other Twin Cities area college and university libraries; check the library closest to you for more information.

U.S. Economic Census Unrestricted Resource
The U.S. Economic Census offers detailed statistics and information on all aspects of business and industry in the United States, including retail trade, manufacturing, and other sectors.

NOTE: The U.S. Economic Census page includes links of particular interest to industry researchers, including the Current Industrial Reports (direct link: http://www.census.gov/manufacturing/cir/index.html) and the Annual Survey of Manufactures (direct link: http://www.census.gov/manufacturing/asm/index.html).

 
News Articles and Analysis
Wall Street Journal Restricted Resource database
One of the most important business newspapers in the country. Search, view, and print full-text articles from 1984 to the present.

Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.


 

Newsmagazine webpages

Bloomberg Businessweek

Fortune.com

Financial Times

The Economist

NOTE: the full-text archives of all of these are available from Business Source Premier, with the exception of the Financial Times, available from ProQuest Newsstand.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Olivia Olivares

Olivia Olivares
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140E
(320) 308-4822
oolivares@stcloudstate.edu

Olivia's Spring 2015 contact hours
OFFICE HOURS:
Mondays, 4 - 5 pm
Thursdays, 3 - 4 pm


AT THE LIBRARY REFERENCE DESK:
Mondays, 5 - 6 pm
Wednesdays, 2 - 4 pm
Thursdays, 1 - 2 pm


Please call or e-mail to set up an appointment if the above times are not convenient. If you can't make it up to Saint Cloud, I'm available via phone, or send me a detailed e-mail with your questions.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University