The Library at St. Cloud State University

MGMT 497 - Strategic Management (Moorthy)

Company Information
Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Business Source Premier searches 350 scholarly journals back to 1965. Includes searchable references for more than 1,170 journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics and economics.
 
Finding Company Information in BSP: 
At the top of the BSP web page, you'll see a blue bar with links to various items; one of these is "Company Profiles." Click on this to get downloadable company profiles from MarketLine, a well-known and reputable purveyor of company and business data. Key information presented in MarketLine reports include sales, employees, SWOT analyses, and primary competitors. 

To find news about the company, enter the correct name of the company (for example, "Costco Wholesale Corporations," not "Costco") in the search interface. You'll find the correct name by looking in the Company Profiles listing. Make sure to specify in the drop-down menu in the search interface that you're searching by "CO Company Entity." 

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online full text databases covering News, Business, Legal, Medical, and Reference. News includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, broadcast transcripts, regional and international news sources, scholarly & trade journals, and a guide to current issues. Business includes company SEC reports, company profiles and financial data, and accounting literature and standards. Law resources include law reviews (journals), federal and state congressional laws as well as federal court cases. Includes the text of the U.S. Code as well as the Federal Regulations and CFR. It includes hundreds of scholarly journals in a wide range of disciplines.

Finding Company Information in LexisNexis: 
At the upper right corner of LexisNexis's search interface, you'll see a box labeled "Get Company Info." You can search by company name or ticker. The resulting list of company records will include an advisory note stating whether the company is private, public, a subsidiary or a parent company; be sure to choose those company records described as "parent - headquarters."

Once you've chosen your company record, you'll see the "Snapshot," a short precis of the company with information like headquarters location, a list of officers, recent stock activity and so forth. Look to the left for additional search options, including top news publications (major newspapers and magazines, as well as transcripts of board meetings), a search-by-topic option, and links to SEC filings.

International Directory of Company Histories
REF HD2721 .D36x Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
This directory includes the historical development of companies that exceed US$25 million in annual sales and are leading influences in their industries or geographic area. Each volume contains a cumulative, industry and geographic indexes  
 

 
Industry Trends
NOTE:  While there are a number of guides that follow trends in particular industries, often the only real way to track trends is through the press. Below is a list of databases that publish news on industry trends. In addition to databases, there are print resources in Miller Library that track trends in specific industries. Please consult the librarians for assistance in finding additional resources in the print reference collection. 

NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's) Restricted Resource database
A comprehensive source of business and investment information including industry surveys, stock reports, company descriptions and financials, and mutual fund research. For tips, see the NetAdvantage User Guide.

Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Business Source Premier searches 350 scholarly journals back to 1965. Includes searchable references for more than 1,170 journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics and economics.

Finding Information on Markets and Economic Conditions in BSP 
BSP includes in-depth analyses of the economies, markets and financial environments of almost all nations. These analyses are compiled and written by reputable companies like the Economist Intelligence Unit and Business Monitor (EIU publications have a six-month embargo). To limit your search to economic reports for a particular country, enter the industry you're researching, then the name of the country in the search interface. Specify "GE Geographic Terms" in the pull-down menu for the country.

 

 
Market Research
SRDS Media Solutions Advertising Sources Restricted Resource database
The Standard Rate and Data Service (SRDS) is a collection of databases offering information of interest to advertising and marketing students, including the Business Media Advertising Source and Consumer Media Advertising Source. Most importantly, SRDS offers access to Claritas Segmentation and Market Solutions, the online replacement for the print resource, Lifestyle Market Analyst.  



U.S. Census Bureau Unrestricted Resource
The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.

American FactFinder Unrestricted Resource
Tables and maps of most recent demographic and economic data for all geographies including the U.S., states, counties, cities, towns, American Indian reservations, metropolitan areas, zip codes, census tracts, blocks, and more. Produced by the US Census Bureau.

U.S. Economic Census Unrestricted Resource
The U.S. Economic Census offers detailed statistics and information on all aspects of business and industry in the United States, including retail trade, manufacturing, and other sectors.
 
NOTE:  The U.S. Census and affilliated websites, including the Economic Census and American FactFinder, are not available during the 2013 government shutdown.

Market Share Reporter
REF HF5415.M37x Unrestricted Resource Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
A compilation of market share statistics on companies, products and services, drawn from periodical sources providing a unique source of data for competitive analysis and marketing research. Indexed by SIC code, brand name, product category or company name. Most recent five years are in Reference; older editions are located in the Main Collection.


 
Case Studies and Strategic Analysis
Harvard Business School Cases
From the HBS Case Studies website: "The case method forms the basis of learning at Harvard Business School. It is designed to challenge students by bringing them as close as possible to business situations of the real world. Judgment and experience lie at the very core of managerial success. Harvard Business School Publishing makes cases and related materials available to improve and enhance business education around the world." Cases are available only for sale here, but tend to be reasonably priced ($3.00-8.00 each).

ABI/INFORM (Business) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
ABI/INFORM indexes content from 3,200 trade publications and scholarly journals (with full text or full-image for 2,100 titles) that help students and researchers track business conditions, trends, management techniques, corporate strategies, and industry-specific topics worldwide.
Note: 1972 to present

Emerald FullText Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Emerald provides access to the fulltext content or more than 100 management and information services journals published by MCBPress (UK). Among the journal titles for business are European Business Review, European Journal of Marketing, Benchmarking, Balance Sheet, International Journal of Public Sector Management, International Marketing Review, and Journal of Consumer Marketing; titles for information services include Library Hi Tech, and Reference Services Review.

Finding Case Studies and Competitive Analysis in Emerald FullText: 
Unfortunately, Emerald FullText offers no way to search by subject term or topic. Use the terms you found in ABI/Inform or BSP to do keyword searches in Emerald. 

Finding Case Studies and Competitive Analysis in BSP: 
While BSP offers the research the option of limiting a search to case studies only, this option is likely to block any number of useful materials. A better way to find in-depth analysis of the management structures and strategic planning of a particular company in BSP is to first use the Thesaurus (in the blue bar at the top of the web page) to find terms related to strategic planning and/or competitive advantage. Try a search for "strategic" or "competitive" to find related subject terms within BSP: "strategic planning," "strategic alliances," "strategic enterprise planning," "competitive advantage," "competitive business intelligence," etc. Try a combined company name search with one of the above terms to find articles on the strategic planning of that company.



 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Olivia Olivares

Olivia Olivares
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140E
(320) 308-4822
oolivares@stcloudstate.edu

Olivia's contact hours, Fall 2013
At the Reference Desk:
Thursday, 4:00 - 6:00 pm

Office hours:
Monday, 3:30 - 4:30 pm
Thursday, 3:00 - 4:00 pm

If the above times are not convenient, please call or e-mail to set up an appointment.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University