The Library at St. Cloud State University

Military Science

Library Resources for Research
Articles and Databases
America: History & Life Restricted Resource findit database
Search 2,000 scholarly journals on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present (the rest of the world is covered in Historical Abstracts).
Making of America (Cornell)
This database includes "a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology." (From Website)
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Online
"To provide essential, technical research, development, testing and evaluation (RDT&E) information rapidly, accurately and reliably to support our DoD customers' needs."
Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
Search over 2,000 scholarly journals covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Note: 1954 to present
Homeland Security Digital Library
"The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation's premier research collection of open-source resources related to homeland security policy, strategyand organizational management."
IHS Jane's 360
IHS Jane's 360 is widely regarded as the ultimate source for defence, aerospace and transportation information. This web site provides news briefs, and links to many articles. The user may need to subscribe for access to fuller versions of the articles. In addition there is a plethora of product information.
National Security Archive
The Web site of a project that has collected the world's largest non-governmental archive of declassified documents, many of them covering controversial issues and obtained through the Freedom of Information Act.
Open Source Center
"The Open Source Center (OSC) is the US Government's premier provider of foreign open source intelligence." This resource is free to use, but requires registration.
Parameters: The U.S. Army War College Quarterly
"Our focus is on the art and science of land warfare, national and international security affairs, military strategy, senior leadership, ethics, and military history with contemporary relevance."  
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other informaiton related to political science topics.
Reference and Facts
Encyclopedia of The American Civil War: A Political, Social, And Military History Restricted Resource
"An award-winning and highly recommended comprehensive set on the political, social, and military aspects of the American Civil War."
Great Military Lives: Leadership and Courage - From Waterloo to the Falklands in Obituaries Restricted Resource
 "The Times Great Military Lives is an authoritative and fascinating collection of obituaries depicting the great military commanders of the 19th and 20th centuries, from Wellington to Fieldhouse."
Reader's Companion to Military History Restricted Resource
"...The Reader's Companion covers major events and battles, commanders, and theorists, weaponry and technological advances, and strategy and tactics."
SAGE Encyclopedia of Terrorism Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref
Explores the impact of terrorism on economics, public health, religion, and even pop culture. Ethical issues such as the role of torture in interrogations, competing notions of security versus liberty, and the debates over FISA legislation and Guantanamo Bay will also be covered.
Women's Military History
"Recognition is given here to the voluntary contributions and sacrifices made by American women in the military. Their biographies include roles as warriors, spies, soldiers, prisoners, and astronauts; the site also takes a look at their portrayal in television and film. Don't miss the forgotten Significant Trivia and a look at the captivating appeal of the Women's Recruiting Posters," 
Defense Manpower Data Center (DMDC)
"DMDC serves under the Office of the Secretary of Defense (OUSD) to collate personnel, manpower, training, financial, and other data for the Department of Defense (DoD)."
World Military Expenditures
This site, produced by the Bureau of Verification and Complianced, provides statistics on military expenditures and arms transfers during the years 1995-1998. Provides links to the WMEAT 1995 (HTML format) and 1996 documents, as well as specific parts of WMEAT 1996. All 1996 documents are in PDF format
Note: 1995-1998

Additional resources may be found in MNPals Plus (the library's catalog) by clicking on the links located below.  Note: Use the column on the right side of the results page to narrow your search.

Military (Reference Books)
Military (General Collection)
Military and Women
Military and African Americans
Military and Gender
War (Reference Books)
War (General Collections) 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Cindy Gruwell

Cindy Gruwell
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140D
(320) 308-1508
cagruwell@stcloudstate.edu

Search for Books
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search

Web Resources
U.S. Department of Defense
"The mission of Defense.gov is to support the overall mission of the Department of Defense by providing official, timely and accurate information about defense policies, organizations, functions and operations. Also, Defense.gov is the single, unified starting point for finding military information online."
USA.gov
The U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state, and local government web resources and services.
Research and Citation Guides
Citation Styles (APA, MLA, etc.)
Consult examples of APA, MLA, Chicago, etc. citation styles and use RefWorks to manage your references and format your bibliography.
RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University