The Library at St. Cloud State University

Business - Marketing

Market Research (size, share, segments, etc.)
Market Share Reporter
REF HF5415.M37x Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
A compilation of market share statistics on companies, products and services, drawn from periodical sources providing a unique source of data for competitive analysis and marketing research. Indexed by SIC code, brand name, product category or company name. Most recent five years are in Reference; older editions are located in the Main Collection.

Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Business Source Premier searches 350 scholarly journals back to 1965. Includes searchable references for more than 1,170 journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics and economics.

To find market research in BSP:
Search for a particular market or industry, then look at the left side of the screen. Under "Source Types," choose "Industry Surveys" and/or "Market Research Reports." If you don't see "Industry Surveys" or "Market Research Reports," click "Show more," then choose either or both options from the subsequent list. BSP's industry surveys come from MarketLine, a reputable business intelligence company, and include market size, value, forecasts, and segmentations. The market research reports are from various sources, but all are reliable and authoritative.

ABI/INFORM (Business) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
ABI/INFORM indexes content from 3,200 trade publications and scholarly journals (with full text or full-image for 2,100 titles) that help students and researchers track business conditions, trends, management techniques, corporate strategies, and industry-specific topics worldwide.
Note: 1972 to present

To find market research in ABI/Inform:
Search for a particular market or industry, then look at the left side of the screen. Under "Narrow Results," scroll down to "Document Type" and choose "Market Research" and "Market Reports."
Marketing Journals and Articles
ABI/INFORM (Business) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
ABI/INFORM indexes content from 3,200 trade publications and scholarly journals (with full text or full-image for 2,100 titles) that help students and researchers track business conditions, trends, management techniques, corporate strategies, and industry-specific topics worldwide.
Note: 1972 to present

Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Business Source Premier searches 350 scholarly journals back to 1965. Includes searchable references for more than 1,170 journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics and economics.

PsycINFO Restricted Resource findit database
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.

While not a business database, PsycINFO has a huge amount of information and resources on the psychology of marketing and related aspects, including: consumer behavior and satisfaction; brand names and preferences; public relations; product design; advertising; and much more.

 
Reference resources (dictionaries, etc.)
Credo Reference: Business Collection Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
A collection of 52 online, full-text business and economics encyclopedias from Credo Reference, including dictionaries, handbooks and case study collections. Coverage includes reference resources on accounting, finance, marketing, management and real estate.

Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Marketing Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
Written by faculty at the Manchester (UK) School of Management, this title provides definitions and essays on core terms and concepts for marketing. Most entries include a bibliography for further research.

Advertising Red Books: Advertisers / Business Classifications
REF HF 5805 .S7 [year] Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Formerly known as the Standard Directory of Advertisers. Lists companies that advertise by product, along with contact information for each company and the names of the persons at each company responsible for decisionmaking on advertising and marketing for the company.

Advertising Red Books: Agencies
REF HF 5805 .S72x [year] Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
An index of advertising agencies by agency name, type, personnel, and location. Each entry includes a list of accounts held and a list (where applicable) of the sort of advertising in which the agency specializes (for example, "Seniors Market," "Production (Ad, Film, Broadcast," "E-commerce").


 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Olivia Olivares

Olivia Olivares
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140E
(320) 308-4822
oolivares@stcloudstate.edu

Psychographics and Demographics
SRDS Media Solutions Advertising Sources Restricted Resource database
The Standard Rate and Data Service (SRDS) is a collection of databases offering information of interest to advertising and marketing students, including the Business Media Advertising Source and Consumer Media Advertising Source. Most importantly, SRDS offers access to Claritas Segmentation and Market Solutions, the online replacement for the print resource, Lifestyle Market Analyst.  



Strategic Business Insights: VALS Segments Unrestricted Resource
Developed by SRI Consulting/Business Intelligence, VALS(tm) "identifies current and future opportunities by segmenting the consumer marketplace on the basis of the personality traits that drive consumer behavior." SCSU does not subscribe to GeoVALS, displaying the statistical relationship between VALS charateristics and geographic statistics, but the understanding of VALS characteristics can be valuable in consumer research.

U.S. Census Bureau Unrestricted Resource
The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.

American FactFinder Unrestricted Resource
Tables and maps of most recent demographic and economic data for all geographies including the U.S., states, counties, cities, towns, American Indian reservations, metropolitan areas, zip codes, census tracts, blocks, and more. Produced by the US Census Bureau.

American Community Survey Unrestricted Resource
Provides up-to-date statistical summaries based on US Census data for states, selected cities(with populations greater than 65,000) and counties. Similar to the American FactFinder.
Websites
KnowThis.com
"A knowledge source for marketing since 1998." Information on marketing plan writing, tutorials, a blog, and links to other online marketing resources.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University