The Library at St. Cloud State University

MKTG 333 - Bus. Comm. (Goenner)

Finding Your Way Around The Library
Books and More (MnPALS Advanced Search)
Search for books, ebooks, videos, government publications, recordings, music scores, and other materials available at the library. Use the limiters (formats, collections, language, call numbers, etc.) to focus on specific collections. 

Borrow, Request, Renew
Information on library materials checkout, online renewal, interlibrary loan, equipment checkout, and more.

Learn, Evaluate, Cite
Citation resources, information on evaluating materials for credibility and authenticity, and more.
Articles and Databases
Scholarly vs Popular vs TRADE journals
An excellent guide from the University of Washington-Bothell to the various types of publications available to undergradates. Of particular importance to business students is the description of trade journals.

Business Source Complete Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
 
Using BSC articles to find appropriate article subject headings: 
Each article in BSC has subject headings attached to it. A full list of subject headings can be found in the Thesaurus, in the blue menu bar at the top of the page. Look for these to do more narrowly focused searches. For example, a search in BSP's Thesaurus for "retirement" will retrieve additional subject headings like "retirement planning," "retirement benefits," and so forth. 

Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
 
Using ASP articles to find appropriate article subject headings: see information on BSP, above.

 
FOR ALL TOPICS

HR Magazine

The official trade journal of the Society for Human Resource Management. Try a search for "social media," "cellphone use," "business etiquette," etc. You can also place your cursor over "HR Topics and Strategy" in the menu bar for a list of subjects.

NOTE: While much of HR Magazine is available online for free, most is available full-text through Business Source Complete. After examining HR Magazine's website, try searching Business Source Complete for additional articles from HR.

There is a competing magazine indexed by Business Source Complete called "HR Magazine (MA Business & Leisure)." To ensure that your articles are from the HR Magazine published by the Sociedty for Human Resource Management, do a search for ["HR Magazine" not "Business & Leisure"], followed by your topic. Like this:

bsphr
 

 
Plagiarism and Academic Dishonesty
Academic Dishonesty and SCSU
From the SCSU Student Handbook - Prohibited Student Conduct:  

Any student who attempts or assists others to commit prohibited conduct as defined below may be held accountable as committing the prohibited act ... Academic dishonesty [is] including but not limited to: cheating, plagiarism, falsification, and collusion. This includes any violation of the Academic Integrity Policy: 
http://www.stcloudstate.edu/policies/categories/documents/AcademicIntegrityPolicy.pdf

University of Texas at Austin - Plagiarism Tutorial
An interactive tutorial on avoiding plagiarism, complete with videos and mini-quizzes.

University of Southern Mississippi Plagiarism Tutorial
A tutorial with examples of incorrect and correct paraphrases and advice of acceptable use of resources. 




 
Funny but Appropriate
From the University of Arizona's Career Services Office: What Not To Do at the Job Interview

 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Olivia Olivares

Olivia Olivares
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140E
(320) 308-4822
oolivares@stcloudstate.edu

Olivia's contact hours, Fall 2017
On the Reference Desk:
Monday, 4:00 - 6:00 pm
Thursday, 10:00 am - noon

Office Hours:
Monday, 3:00 - 4:00 pm
Tuesday, 2:00 - 3:00 pm

If the above times are not convenient, please call or e-mail to set up an appointment.
A NOTE ABOUT HBR ARTICLES
You'll note that I linked in the topic boxes below to a number of articles from the Harvard Business Review, one of the top business journals in the world. You can download three articles a month for free without registering, and six per month if you register with your SCSU e-mail address. Be sure to register; it's free. If you should wish to see more articles from HBR, they're also available from Business Source Complete.
Retirement Planning

Dictionary of Finance and Investment Terms Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
Terms related to stocks, bonds, mutual funds, banking, tax laws, and transactions in the various financial markets are presented alphabetically with descriptions. Readers will also find a helpful list of financial abbreviations and acronyms, as well as illustrative diagrams and charts.


Harvard Business Review: The Crisis in Retirement Planning (article)

Retirement essentials from AARP (American Association of Retired Persons)
Advice, planning, calculators and other useful tools.

Work/Life Balance
Harvard Business Review: Work-Life Balance
A collection of articles about work/life balance from the premier business magazine in the United States. You can have three free articles; more than that, and you have to register. Alternatively, you can read a selection of these articles in Business Source Complete.

TEDTalks: Work-Life Balance
From the website: "TED Talks are influential videos from expert speakers on education, business, science, tech and creativity, with subtitles in 100+ languages."

Work-life balance research: CAVEAT EMPTOR (let the buyer beware)
There are quite a few companies, some reputable, some not, that are selling services and "training" to companies and organizations on achieving the perfect work-life balance in the workplace. It would take far too long to separate the reputable from the crooks, so for purposes of this assignment, best avoid them altogether.
Information Security
INFORMATION SECURITY vs INFORMATION ASSURANCE vs CYBERSECURITY:
These three terms are NOT interchangeable. Cybersecurity refers to the securing of electronic data, records, transmissions, and other online transactions. Information security is the securing and protection of all data, records, transmissions, and transactions, whether they're online or face-to-face. Both of these are subsets of the larger field of information assurance, which refers to the managerial policies, legal aspects, risk management, training, and methods taken to secure the flow of information within companies, government agencies, industry, and so forth.

Business - Information Assurance
The online library research guide for Information Assurance majors in the Herberger Business School.

US-CERT: United States Computer Emergency Readiness Team
From the US Department of Homeland Security.
Insurance Options as Employment Benefits
US Department of Labor: Health Plans and Benefits
Information on health plans and benefits commonly offered by US employers, with links to information on subtopics like mental health coverage, maternity leave, plan portability, and more.

Researching benefits at individual companies
The best place to find information about employee benefits at companies in the United States is the corporate website for the company. The corporate websites are separate from the main public websites, but usually linked to them anyways.

To find corporate websites:
  • Go to the company's public website, usually listed as www.companyname.com. For example: HomeDepot.com, Sears.com, WellsFargo.com.
  • On the public website, look for the link to the company website. This is usually at the bottom of the page. Sometimes it's called "Company Information," sometimes "About the company," sometimes something similar. 
  • You may not have to look for the corporate website, as companies often have a separate link for employment opportunities. Look for a link called "Careers," or "Job opportunities," or something similar. It'll be near the company information link.
  • Whatever path you take to the careers/job opportunities section, once you're there, look for information about job-related benefits. Companies use these webpages as recruitment tools, so they're usually pretty expansive.
Salary Negotiation
PayScale: Salary Negotiation Guide
PayScale is a business intelligence company started in 2002 that compiles salary data from around the country in almost all areas of industry and makes them available to consumers and companies. Use the salary negotiation guide to learn more about asking for and getting the salary you want and to find out how much people are making in that particular profession.

WomenForHire.com: Negotiating Salary 101
Many studies have shown that one of the reasons women make less than men in most industries is that their salary negotiation skills are undermined by their own perceptions of worth. WomenForHire.com offers advice to women seeking employment and tips for negotiating equitable salaries.

Occupational Outlook Handbook Unrestricted Resource
Nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. Describes what workers do on the job, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations.
 


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University