The Library at St. Cloud State University

MKTG 333 - Bus. Comm. (Marco)

Finding Your Way Around The Library
Books and More (MnPALS Advanced Search)
Search for books, ebooks, videos, government publications, recordings, music scores, and other materials available at the library. Use the limiters (formats, collections, language, call numbers, etc.) to focus on specific collections. 

Borrow, Request, Renew
Information on library materials checkout, online renewal, interlibrary loan, equipment checkout, and more.

Learn, Evaluate, Cite
Citation resources, information on evaluating materials for credibility and authenticity, and more.
Articles and Databases
Scholarly vs. Popular vs. TRADE Publications
An excellent guide from the University of Washington-Bothell to the various types of publications available to undergradates. Of particular importance to business students is the description of trade journals.

Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
 
Using BSP articles to find appropriate article subject headings: 
Each article in BSP has subject headings attached to it. A full list of subject headings can be found in the Thesaurus, in the blue menu bar at the top of the page. Look for these to do more narrowly focused searches. For example, a search in BSP's Thesaurus for "retirement" will retrieve additional subject headings like "retirement planning," "retirement benefits," and so forth. 

Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
 
Using ASP articles to find appropriate article subject headings: see information on BSP, above.





 
FOR ALL TOPICS

HR Magazine

The official trade journal of the Society for Human Resource Management. Try a search for "retirement policy," "cellphone use," "international business etiquette," etc. You can also place your cursor over "HR Topics and Strategy" in the menu bar for a list of subjects.

NOTE: While much of HR Magazine is available online for free, most is available full-text through Business Source Premier. After examining HR Magazine's website, try searching Business Source Premier for additional articles from HR.

There is a competing magazine indexed by Business Source Premier called "HR Magazine (MA Business & Leisure)." To ensure that your articles are from the HR Magazine published by the Sociedty for Human Resource Management, do a search for ["HR Magazine" not "Business & Leisure"], followed by your topic. Like this:

bsphr
 

 
Plagiarism and Academic Dishonesty
Academic Dishonesty and SCSU
From the SCSU Student Handbook - Prohibited Student Conduct:  

Any student who attempts or assists others to commit prohibited conduct as defined below may be held accountable as committing the prohibited act ... Academic dishonesty [is] including but not limited to: cheating, plagiarism, falsification, and collusion. This includes any violation of the Academic Integrity Policy: 
http://www.stcloudstate.edu/policies/categories/documents/AcademicIntegrityPolicy.pdf

University of Texas at Austin - Plagiarism Tutorial
An interactive tutorial on avoiding plagiarism, complete with videos and mini-quizzes.

University of Southern Mississippi Plagiarism Tutorial
A tutorial with examples of incorrect and correct paraphrases and advice of acceptable use of resources. 




 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Olivia Olivares

Olivia Olivares
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140E
(320) 308-4822
oolivares@stcloudstate.edu

Olivia's contact hours, Spring 2017
On the Reference Desk:

Monday, 3:00 - 4:00 pm
Wednesday, 2:00 - 3:00 pm
Thursday, 4:00 - 6:00 pm

Office Hours:

Tuesday, 3:00 - 4:00 pm
Wednesday, 2:00 - 3:00 pm

If the above times are not convenient, please call or e-mail to set up an appointment.
Retirement Planning

Dictionary of Finance and Investment Terms Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
Terms related to stocks, bonds, mutual funds, banking, tax laws, and transactions in the various financial markets are presented alphabetically with descriptions. Readers will also find a helpful list of financial abbreviations and acronyms, as well as illustrative diagrams and charts.


Harvard Business Review: The Crisis in Retirement Planning (article)

Retirement essentials from AARP (American Association of Retired Persons)
Advice, planning, calculators and other useful tools.

International Communication in Business
GlobalEDGE Unrestricted Resource
"Global business knowledge Web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities." GlobalEDGE resources include a market potential index, a database of international business statistics, and in-depth country information. Provided by the Broad College of Business at Michigan State University.

DoingBusiness.org Unrestricted Resource
From the International Finance Corporation, World Bank Group. The Doing Business Project "provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 181 economies and selected cities at the subnational and regional level." This site offers measures of the strength of the legal and regulatory environments in countries: not only what regulations are in place, but what bodies exist to enforce them, and to what extent the regulations are enforced.

Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands: How to do Business in Sixty Countries
REF HF5389 .M67 2006 Unrestricted Resource Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Provides overviews of over sixty cultures, and describes behavior, negotiating techniques, and business practices in each country.
Mobile Devices in the Workplace
SHRM Cell Phone Use Policy: sample

In December 2015, the US National Labor Relations Board (NLRB) determined that employers could not prohibit employees from recording or taking photos in the workplace, making the preservation of workplace privace somewhat problematic. For an excellent summary of the decision, please refer to the following: http://www.faegrebd.com/nlrb-invalidates-employers-no-recording-policies-bolstering-employees-ability-to, and be careful when referring to articles about cell phones and/or mobile devices in the workplace that are older than a year.
Funny but Appropriate
From the University of Arizona's Career Services Office: What Not To Do at the Job Interview

 


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University