The Library at St. Cloud State University

MKTG 416 - Global Marketing Strategies

RESOURCES IN RUSSIAN AND AFRIKAANS
The assignment for this course requires that you find and use governmental, commercial and trade resources for Russia and/or South Africa. As Russian is the official language of Russia, and Zulu, Xhosa, Afrikaans and English are the official languages of South Africa, many of the online resources you'll need to complete this project will not be available in English. For that reason, it is recommended that you use Google Chrome as your web browser when searching, as Chrome has a built-in language translator. It's not a perfect translator, but generally, you'll be able to understand what's written. The translate command will appear at the end of the URL box, and looks like this:



It's to the left of the bookmark star. If you don't see this command, go to the Chrome menu (the three hashmarks or dots on the far upper right) and choose Settings, then Show Advanced Settings (toward the bottom of the page), then scroll down to Languages, then click the box next to "Offer to translate pages that aren't in a language you read."

 
Articles and SCSU Databases
Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Business Source Premier searches 350 scholarly journals back to 1965. Includes searchable references for more than 1,170 journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics and economics.

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online full text databases covering News, Business, Legal, Medical, and Reference. News includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, broadcast transcripts, regional and international news sources, scholarly & trade journals, and a guide to current issues. Business includes company SEC reports, company profiles and financial data, and accounting literature and standards. Law resources include law reviews (journals), federal and state congressional laws as well as federal court cases. Includes the text of the U.S. Code as well as the Federal Regulations and CFR. It includes hundreds of scholarly journals in a wide range of disciplines.

ABI/INFORM Global (Business) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
ABI/INFORM indexes content from 3,200 trade publications and scholarly journals (with full text or full-image for 2,100 titles) that help students and researchers track business conditions, trends, management techniques, corporate strategies, and industry-specific topics worldwide.
Note: 1972 to present

JOURNALS

Heating and Ventilating Review
Try searching by country for articles on markets and recent developments in Russia or South Africa

Air Conditioning, Heating and Refrigeration News (ACHRNews)
Try searching by country for articles on markets and recent developments in Russia or South Africa


 
Demographics/Marketing data
World Bank DataBank
Statistics, demographics and charts on a number of economic and business metrics. Searchable by country.

Federal State Statistics Service, Russian Federation (English version)
Demographics from the Russian Census.

Statistics South Africa
The South African census, and information from stats-collecting South African agencies. Mostly in English.


If the above databases prove to be too dense (or the language too difficult), the CIA World Factbook and some sections of Export.gov have limited demographics on both countries; however, they will not be as detailed as the above.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Olivia Olivares

Olivia Olivares
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140E
(320) 308-4822
oolivares@stcloudstate.edu

Olivia's contact hours, Spring 2017
On the Reference Desk:

Monday, 3:00 - 4:00 pm
Wednesday, 3:00 - 4:00 pm
Thursday, 4:00 - 6:00 pm

Office Hours:

Tuesday, 3:00 - 4:00 pm
Wednesday, 2:00 - 3:00 pm

If the above times are not convenient, please call or e-mail to set up an appointment.
SCSU business research guides
Business - International
This guide includes links to the International Trade 

Business - Marketing

Business - General
Trade associations in Russia and South Africa
RUSSIA:

Russian Association ABOK: Engineers for heating, ventilation, air conditioning, heat supply and building thermal physics.

APIC - Association of Professional Companies in Industry of Climate
Check out "Russian HVAC Market" in the menu bar for market reports on HVAC companies in Russia, and "For HVAC Manufacturer" for information for HVAC manufacturers and dealers wishing to sell in Russia.

Mir-Klimata: The primary journal for HVAC dealers, manufacturers and suppliers in Russia. Market reports, industry surveys, and so forth. The journal is available in Russian only, so be sure to use Google Chrome so you can use the translate function.


SOUTH AFRICA:

South African Institute of Refrigeration and Air Conditioning (SAIRAC)

HVAC&R Online
Click "Projects" in the main menu bar for a list of articles about aspects of the HVAC industry in South Africa, including market info and more.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University