The Library at St. Cloud State University

MUSM 353: Music Since 1900

Explore Your Topic
Oxford Music Online
Includes the complete full text of The Oxford Dictionary of Music, The Oxford Companion to Music, and Grove Music Online (including the standard music reference sources, The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz).

Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music
Biographical information about composers, performers, music theorists, and instrument makers from the days of praise chants to the bop and pop of today.

Musical Terms, Symbols, and Theory: An Illustrated Dictionary
Fully cross referenced, this dictionary is an authoritative source for researchers, musicologists, professional musicians, teachers and students of music, and educated members of the public.
 
Find Books, Scores, Recordings, Videos ...

Search for BOOKS, MUSIC and MORE in MnPals Plus


Advanced Search | Classic MnPALS

 
  • Tips for finding scores:
    • Use the Advanced Search
    • Limit Format to Music Scores
    • Search for composer's name and an important keyword from the title of the work
    • Example: Arnold Schoenberg's Verklarte Nacht
      Actual search: schoenberg nacht
       
  • Tips for finding books:
    • For books about a specific composer or criticism of his/her work (secondary resources), search for the composer's last name and change the search menu to "Subjects"
    • For writings by the person, him/herself (primary resources), add one of the following words: interviews, correspondence, personal narratives, or diaries
       
  • Tips for finding sound recordings:
    • Use the Advanced Search
    • Limit Format to Sound Recordings
    • Search for composer's name and an important keyword from the title of the work
    • Example: Arnold Schoenberg's Verklarte Nacht
      Actual search: schoenberg nacht

Films on Demand: Music & Dance Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Streaming video on topics in music appreciation, music history, and world music as well as ballet, choreography, world dance, and more.
Search for Scholarly Articles
Music Literature (RILM) Restricted Resource findit database
Covers all areas of music scholarship, including, concert reviews, recording notes, dance, anthropology, ethnomusicology, music theory, music therapy, instruments and voice.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
JSTOR provides unique access to full text backfiles for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles.

LibSearch Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Your first stop for finding scholarly high-quality research. Search the library's physical collection (books, movies, music, government publications, etc.) along with most of the online journals and e-books to which the Library subscribes -- all in a single search. Tip: For scholarly articles, click the check box to limit your results to peer-reviewed journals.
Find Performance Reviews
The following databases search current and historical newspapers and periodicals. Search by composer, composition, or performer and limit by date.

ProQuest Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Fulltext of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times (1999 to present), The Times of London (index and abstract only), the Wall Street Journal (1984 to present), and the StarTribune of Minneapolis (1986 to present).

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Full page and full article images from the New York Times with searchable fulltext from 1851 through 2009. Full indexing is available for articles, performance and book reviews, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth/marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.
Note: 1851-2009
Related Guides
Understanding Scholarly Sources
Journal covers image

From Idea to Library
Video tutorial on how scholarly articles are written, published, and made accessible to researchers and students. From the NCSU Libraries.

Scholarly vs. Popular Materials Guide (NCSU)
Guide to distinguishing between scholarly journals, popular magazines, and trade journals/magazines.
Popular vs. Scholarly practice
Anatomy of a Scholarly Article

Popular vs. Scholarly Articles: A Guide and Tutorial

Compare and contrast the following articles. What makes one popular and the other scholarly?
Music Resources in the Library

Miller Center 3rd Floor

All music books and scores are on the 3rd floor of the Miller Center Library. Call numbers starting with:

M = the music itself (both scores and sound recordings)
ML = music literature (materials about music, composers, or music history)
MT = music theory or music instruction and study

All sound recordings are kept behind the Circulation Desk on 1st floor; ask for them by call number.
Cite Your Sources
You are required to use the newly updated 8th edition of the MLA Style Manual for your project.

Citing Sources in MLA

RefWorks
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Melissa Prescott

Melissa Prescott
Associate Professor, Librarian
MC 204E
(320) 308-4751
mkprescott@stcloudstate.edu


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University