The Library at St. Cloud State University

Library Resources for Research
Articles and Databases
Nursing

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Nursing) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Search 3,000+ journals in nursing and allied health back to 1937; covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, etc.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Index with fulltext for 550 scholarly journals covering many areas of medicine. Include the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide covering 1300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4700 brand names.
Virginia Henderson International Nursing Library (VHL)
A comprehensive source for reliable, up-to-date nursing information, includes the Registry of Nursing Research database. 


Health

Alt HealthWatch Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Emphasis on holistic and integrated approaches to wellness and health care. Index with abstracts to articles back to 1984, full text for 180 journals and reports back to 1990.
BioMed Central - The Open Access Publisher
"BioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher which has pioneered the open access publishing model All original research articles published by BioMed Central are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication."
Cochrane Library Restricted Resource
A collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Free Medical Journals
"The Free Medical Journals Site was created to promote the free availability of full text medical journals on the Internet." Note: Journal records indicate article availability
National Library of Medicine - NIH Health Databases
A wide variety of databases from the National Library of Medicine.  Includes PubMed, AIDSInfo, Clinical Trials and many more.
Medline Restricted Resource findit elm database
Indexes more than 19,000 journals, 1950 to present, in all areas of medicine, nursing, health services administration, nutrition, and other areas.
PubMed
"PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books."
PubMed Health
"PubMed Health provides information for consumers and clinicians on prevention and treatment of diseases and conditions."
PsycINFO Restricted Resource findit database
The premier index for scholarly articles relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.

Science/Health Related

ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Search over 1,200 scholarly journals published by Elsevier. ScienceDirect is multisubject, but specializes in science. Note: We do not have full text access to all journals. 1993 to present for Academic Press journals; 1996 to present for Elsevier journals
Scopus (Science) Restricted Resource findit database
Science, technology, engineering, medical and some social sciences literature from 15,000 scholarly journals from 4,000 international publishers.
Reference and Facts

Search for reference information on your topic in CREDO Reference


Black's Medical Dictionary Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
A comprehensive medical dictionary, contains 5000+ definitions and medical terms
Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Disease Restricted Resource eref ebook
 "An interdisciplinary history of medicine and human disease."
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
An extensive medical dictionary with 1000+ photographs and illustrations
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions Restricted Resource
"...a one stop reference to help you make sense of the complex world of health care. "
Consumer Health Complete Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
CHC is a comprehensive reference resource covering topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition, etc. The emphasis is on consumer rather than scholarly information. Includes fulltext from journals and specialized encyclopedias, as well as images, videos, and animations.
Encyclopedia of Global Health Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
Covers all aspects of health, including physical and mental health entries, biographies of major doctors and researchers, profiles of medical institutions, organizations, and corporations, descriptions of drugs and operations, articles on national health policies, and thematic health topics in the humanities.
Global Library of Women's Medicine
A comprehensive reference to current clinical practice for clinicians and other medical professionals that is constantly updated, fully referenced and peer reviewed.
MedlinePlus Medical Encyclopedia
Includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. Also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
MedlinePlus: Directories
"...directories to help you find health professionals, services and facilities."
MerckEngage
Contains a medical dictionary and encyclopedia, and a wide variety of other resources such as: an interactive body guide, symptom checker, and an over-the-counter drug guide.
Natural Medicine Instructions for Patients Restricted Resource
"Based on the extensively referenced Textbook of Natural Medicine, these instructions ensure that the information you give your patients is straightforward, safe and authoritative. In addition to helping patients to understand their conditions better, the sheets look at key options in patients' treatment and self-help."
SAGE Handbook of Healthcare Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref
The SAGE Handbook of Healthcare provides an authoritative analysis of the current (and anticipated) developments in the global healthcare industries. Providing a unique perspective that interfaces between the science and business aspects, it combines information on the latest scientific developments with applied, commercial business data from the global marketplace.
Drug Information
Drug Information Portal
"
The NLM Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and other key U.S. Government agencies."

WebMD Drugs & Information
Drug, supplement, and over-the-counter medication information

RxList
"
RxList is an online medical resource dedicated to offering detailed and current pharmaceutical information on brand and generic drugs."
Evidence Based Nursing Resources
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
(Evidence-based Practice) Scientific research agency funded and supported by the U.S. government. Evidence-based practice guidelines are located under clinical information on the agency's main page.
ClinicalTrials.gov
"...ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world."
NGC-National Guideline Clearinghouse
(Evidence-based Practice) The National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC), is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. NGC was originally created by AHRQ in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans (now America's Health Insurance Plans [AHIP]).
PubMed Health
"PubMed Health provides information for consumers and clinicians on prevention and treatment of diseases and conditions."
RNAO - Best Practice Guidelines
(Evidence-based Practice)"The Registered Nurses Association of Ontario (RNAO) launched the Nursing Best Practice Guidelines (NBPG) Project in November 1999 with funding from the Ontario Ministry of Health and Long Term Care. The purpose of this multi-year project is to support Ontario Nurses by providing them with Best Practice Guidelines for client care. The project has been designed in multiple cycles. Each cycle consists of five phases: planning, development, implementation, evaluation and dissemination. To date, the project team has initiated four cycles of guidelines and each one is at a different phase." A complete listing and links to all of the completed guidelines is included on the web site.
Trip Database
"Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care."
Subject Specialist
Picture: Cindy Gruwell

Cindy Gruwell
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140D
(320) 308-1508
cagruwell@stcloudstate.edu

Search for Books
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search

Images and Videos
Because nursing uses a unique array of images, a special guide has been created to lead you to multiple resources available on the web.

Medical Images for Nursing Students

In addition there are numerous videos available, The library gives you access to these resources in the form of DVDs and web streaming.

Search for Videos and DVDs
 

Films on Demand (General)
Films on Demand: Health & Medicine
MedlinePlus: Video and Cool Tools
Nursing Education in Video Restricted Resource Resource contains videodatabase
Nursing Education in Video is a unique online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All of the videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board, and are regularly reviewed for accuracy, currency, and compliance with US Federal regulations from agencies such as OSHA and CMS.
Organizations and Associations
American Nurses Association
Includes eight main area: ANA Convention; United American Nurses-AFL-CIO; Workplace Advocacy
Minnesota Board of Nursing
 Licensing and governing board for nurses in MInnesota
National Council of State Boards of Nursing
"The National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) provides education, service, and research through collaborative leadership to promote evidence-based regulatory excellence for patient safety and public protection."
Nurse.org: Nursing Organizations
A lengthy list of a wide variety of nursing organizations with links to nursing organizations around the world.
Government Information
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
"...the CDC provides a system of health surveillance to monitor and prevent disease outbreaks (including bioterrorism), implement disease prevention strategies, and maintain national health statistics."
Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)
HHS is the United States government's principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services.
Health Resources and Services Administration
An agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that focuses on the availability of quality health care to low income, uninsured, isolated, vulnerable and special needs populations.
Minnesota Department of Health
The focus of the MDH is to improve the health of the citizens of Minnesota.  Information includes...consumer health information, disease reporting, birth/death certificates, and health reforms/initiatives.
Web Resources
FindZebra
"The search engine for difficult medical cases."
Mayo Clinic: Patient Care & Health Information
(Consumer Health) This site was created by the Mayo Clinic for people to have access to medical and health information and tools.
MedicineNet.com - Procedures & Tests A to Z List
"Find relevant and reliable medical information on a common procedure or test. Find your topic by using the A-Z list (select a letter - over 220 procedures and tests listed)"
State Public Health.org
Health directory web site with links to official state health sites and more.
Research and Citation Guides
Citation Styles (APA, MLA, etc.)
Consult examples of APA, MLA, Chicago, etc. citation styles and use RefWorks to manage your references and format your bibliography.
RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU. ‚Äč
Designing Conference Posters
Useful guide for "Do's and Don't's" in designing and creating conference posters.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University