The Library at St. Cloud State University

NURS 306/307 Nursing Care of Older Adults

Journal Articles
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Nursing) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Search 3,000+ journals in nursing and allied health back to 1937; covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, etc.
Cochrane Library Restricted Resource
A collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Index with fulltext for 550 scholarly journals covering many areas of medicine. Include the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide covering 1300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4700 brand names.
Medline Restricted Resource findit elm database
Indexes more than 19,000 journals, 1950 to present, in all areas of medicine, nursing, health services administration, nutrition, and other areas.
PsycINFO Restricted Resource findit database
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.
Scopus (Science) Restricted Resource findit database
Science, technology, engineering, medical and some social sciences literature from 15,000 scholarly journals from 4,000 international publishers.
 
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Facts...
Age Data
Statistical data from the U.S. Census Bureau.
AgingStats.gov
"...the latest data on the 37 key indicators selected by the Forum (Federal Interagency Forum on Aging -Related Statistics)  to portray aspects of the lives of older Americans and their families."
AGing Integrated Database - AGID
"The AGing Integrated Database (AGID) is an on-line query system based on AoA-related data files and surveys, and includes population characteristics from the Census Bureau for comparison purposes"
CDC - Health Data Interactive
"Health Data Interactive presents tables with national health statistics for infants, children, adolescents, adults, and older adults."
Encyclopedia of Aging Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
"the definitive resource for scholars and students across the burgeoning and increasingly interdisciplinary fields of gerontology and geriatrics."
Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref
Provides a comprehensive summary and evaluation of recent research on the social aspects of aging.
Web, Images, Video, and Audio Resources

Advances in Aging Lecture Series
Lectures covering a wide variety of older adult issues
Aging, Geriatrics, and Caregiving - MUSC Podcasts

"...these podcasts discuss the issues of aging. Topics include living with dementia, depression in older people, and advice for caregivers in an aging population."
Geriatric Nursing - DHMC Medical Podcasts
"lecture series for nursing and support staff"
Hartford Institute for Geriatric Nursing
"Improving health care of older adults through nursing."
Minnesota Department of Human Services - Aging
Resources and information available to Minnesotans

Subject Specialist
Picture: Cindy Gruwell

Cindy Gruwell
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140D
(320) 308-1508
cagruwell@stcloudstate.edu

Search for Books
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search

General Library Information & Resources
Evidence Based Nursing Resources
Evidence-Based Geriatric Protocols and Topics - Hartford Institute
"Geriatric protocols and evidence-based information for managing common geriatric syndromes and conditions."
Evidence Based Practice Tutorial for Nurses - Penn State University
"The basic aim of this tutorial is to walk you through these steps in an effort to make the process easier and more understandable for you."
Evidence- Based Practice: An interprofessional tutorial - University of Minnesota
"This tutorial is designed for students in healthcare fields, medical professionals, faculty, and anyone else interested in evidence-based practice."
Images and Videos
Because nursing uses a unique array of images, a special guide has been created to lead you to multiple resources available on the web.
Medical Images for Nursing Students

In addition there are numerous videos available, The library gives you access to these resources in the form of DVDs and web streaming.

Search for Video and Films at the Miller Center Library

 
Films on Demand (General)
Films on Demand: Health & Medicine
MedlinePlus: Video and Cool Tools
Nursing Education in Video Restricted Resource Resource contains videodatabase
Nursing Education in Video is a unique online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All of the videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board, and are regularly reviewed for accuracy, currency, and compliance with US Federal regulations from agencies such as OSHA and CMS.
Consumer Health
EthnoMed
Provides cultural information in the areas of clinical topics, patient education, and cross-cultural health
NIH Senior Health
"This easy-to-use website features health and wellness information for older adults from the National Institutes of Health. Use the buttons at the top of each page to make the text bigger, change text color, or hear the text read aloud."
Research and Citation Guides
Citation Styles (APA, MLA, etc.)
Consult examples of APA, MLA, Chicago, etc. citation styles and use RefWorks to manage your references and format your bibliography.
Council of Biology Editors (CBE) Scientific Style
Guide from Colorado State University gives explanations and examples of citing using CSE scientific style.
RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.
Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students
"These writing guidelines are designed to help engineers and scientists communicate their work.  To that end, these guidelines contain advice and models for writing and speaking situations in engineering and science" -- Pennsylvania State University


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University