The Library at St. Cloud State University

NURS 413: Cross Cultural Nursing and Global Health

Cultural Diversity - Videos
Cultural Diversity and Nursing Practice                                                                                               

                
 




















 

Nurturing Cultural Competence
Journal Article Databases
Alt HealthWatch Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Emphasis on holistic and integrated approaches to wellness and health care. Index with abstracts to articles back to 1984, full text for 180 journals and reports back to 1990.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Nursing) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Search 3,000+ journals in nursing and allied health back to 1937; covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, etc. 
Cochrane Library Restricted Resource
A collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. ‚Äč
Consumer Health Complete Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
CHC is a comprehensive reference resource covering topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition, etc. The emphasis is on consumer rather than scholarly information. 
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Index with fulltext for 550 scholarly journals covering many areas of medicine. Include the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide covering 1300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4700 brand names.
Medline Restricted Resource findit elm database
Indexes more than 19,000 journals, 1950 to present, in all areas of medicine, nursing, health services administration, nutrition, and other areas.
PsycINFO Restricted Resource findit database  
The premier index for scholarly articles relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields. 
Scopus (Science) Restricted Resource findit database
Science, technology, engineering, medical and some social sciences literature from 15,000 scholarly journals from 4,000 international publishers.
Web Resources
Centers for Disease Control (CDC) - Global Health
"CDC's Center for Global Health coordinates and manages the agency's resources and expertise to address global challenges such as HIV/AIDS, malaria, emergency and refugee health, non-communicable diseases, injuries, and more"
Center for Victims of Torture
"The Center for Victims is an international nonprofit dedicated to healing survivors of torture. We provide direct care for those who have been tortured, train partners around the world who can prevent and treat torture, and advocate for human rights and an end to torture"
Global Health.gov
OGA promotes the health and well-being of Americans and of the world's population by advancing HHS's global strategies and partnerships and working with USG agencies in the coordination of global health policy."
United Nations - Global Issues Health
Diverse global subjects focusing on health
World Health Association (WHO)
"WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system."
Subject Specialist
Picture: Cindy Gruwell

Cindy Gruwell
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140D
(320) 308-1508
cagruwell@stcloudstate.edu

Search for Books
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search

General Library Information & Resources
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Facts...
Behavior Change & Public Health in the Developing World Restricted Resource
"Focusing on universal public health issues, this book explores what can be done and what the future holds. It introduces students and practitioners to behavior -change theories and applications." 
Encyclopedia of Global Health Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
Covers all aspects of health, including physical and mental health entries, biographies of major doctors and researchers, profiles of medical institutions, organizations, and corporations, descriptions of drugs and operations, articles on national health policies, and thematic health topics in the humanities.
Global Library of Women's Medicine
A comprehensive reference to current clinical practice for clinicians and other medical professionals that is constantly updated, fully referenced and peer reviewed.
Cultural Issues in End-of-Life Decision Making Restricted Resource
End of life issues with an emphasis of diversity in cultures
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology: Health and Illness in the World's Cultures Restricted Resource eref ebook
This encyclopedia describes the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and to provides an overview of important topics in medical anthropology.
EthnoMed
"Integrating cultural information into practice"
Handbook of Social Sciences in Health and Medicine Restricted Resource
"Comprehensive resource book on social science, health and medicine...pinpointing the focal issues of research and debate..."
Health Communication: a multicultural perspective Restricted Resource
 "A review of available literature and intervention experiences selected from modern and traditional societies."
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Spanish version and multiple language information available.
Public and Private Organizations
DiversityRX
"The purpose of DiversityRx is to improve the accessibility and quality of health care for minority, immigrant, and indigenous communities."
National Center for Cultural Competence
The NCCC works to in both general and mental healthcare with a specfic emphasis on cultural diversity
Refugee Health Information Network (RHIN) 
"RHIN is a national collaborative partnership that has created a database of quality multilingual, public health resources..."
Think Cultural Heath - Department of Health and Human Services
"Think Cultural Health (TCH) is dedicated to advancing health equity at every point of contact."
Transcultural Nursing Society
"The TCNS seeks to provide nurses and other health care professionals with the knowledge base necessary to ensure cultural competence in practice, education, research, and administration."
Transcultural Nursing: Basic Concepts and Case Studies
Basic care and nursing concepts with a cultural diversity focus.
Images and Videos
Because nursing uses a unique array of images, a special guide has been created to lead you to multiple resources available on the web.
Medical Images for Nursing Students

In addition there are numerous videos available, The library gives you access to these resources in the form of DVDs and web streaming.

Search for Video and Films at the Miller Center Library

 

Films on Demand (General)
Films on Demand: Health & Medicine
MedlinePlus: Video and Cool Tools
Nursing Education in Video Restricted Resource Resource contains videodatabase
Nursing Education in Video is a unique online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All of the videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board, and are regularly reviewed for accuracy, currency, and compliance with US Federal regulations from agencies such as OSHA and CMS.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University