The Library at St. Cloud State University

NURS 419 Improving Patient Outcomes Across the Lifespan

RN to BSN Program
General Articles
The following articles are required reading:

Weydt, A. (2001). Nursing Case Management: Quality and Cost. Creative Nursing, 7(3), 10.

Matthews, J.H., Coe, T.R., Bruflat, C., Burnett, S. Howard P., & Peterson, C. (2010). The Patient Model: A continuum of care. Policy, Politics & Nursing Practice, 11(2), 132-139.

Newbold, E., Coe, T.R., & Horton, C. (2012). The Bridge Clinic: A nurse-led postdischarge clinic improves care transitions in a public hospital. American Journal of Nursing, 112(7), 56-59.  Use FindIt! to access this article
Nurse Care Coordinators

Nutt, M., & Hungerford, C. (2010). Nurse care coordinators: Definitions and scope of practice. Contemporary Nurse: A   Journal for the Australian Nursing Profession, 36(1), 71-81.

Case Management
Bledsoe, M.K. & Marshall, M.L. (2013). Improving Reimbursement with Nursing Case Manager Status. Professional Care Management, 18(2), 79-83. Use Find It! to access this article  
Health Sciences/Nursing Databases
You may use the following databases to find articles and other information on your topic.  Tutorials are available for each database.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Nursing) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Search 3,000+ journals in nursing and allied health back to 1937; covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, etc.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Index with fulltext for 550 scholarly journals covering many areas of medicine. Include the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide covering 1300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4700 brand names.
  • Tutorial (UNC Health Sciences Library)

Cochrane Library Restricted Resource
A collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Cindy Gruwell

Cindy Gruwell
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140D
(320) 308-1508
cagruwell@stcloudstate.edu

Books
 


Smith, M. J., & Liehr, P. R. (2008). Middle range theory for nursing (2nd ed.). New York: Springer Pub.

Click here to access online






Powers, B. A., Knapp, T. R., & Credo Reference (Firm). (2011). Dictionary of nursing theory and research (4th ed.). New York, N.Y.: Springer Pub. Co..

Clich here to access online

 
Research and Citation Guides
Need assistance with a citation style?  Check out the following links.
Note:  Refworks is a subscription database (you will need to register).  It is enormously helpful for research and the formating of bibliographies in WORD.  Assistance is available through your library liaison.

APA Formatting and Style Guide from OWL at Purdue


RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University