The Library at St. Cloud State University

Nursing Science Faculty - Library Resources

Welcome!


Faculty like students have a variety of information needs.  This brief introduction will guide you through our online presence and assist in your search for resources to support course curriculum, research, personal interests along with detailed information about our many services including  Inter-Library Loan (ILL), Electronic Reserves, and Purchase Requests.

The library liaison for Nursing Science is Cindy Gruwell (contact information noted on your right).  
Navigating Our Web Page
The library's webpage provides direct links to the resources you'll need the most.  In the image below you will see highlighted areas that are often considered the most sought after links to resources and services in the library.  Many of the web pages for services such as Inter-Library Loan (ILL) provide instructions for accessing the service.  Highlighted areas are:
 
  • Yellow:  Links to the library catalog (MnPALS Plus) and all databases 
  • Green:  Subject guides for all major areas of study...each includes subject specific reference, article and image databases, etc...
  • Purple:  Course guides designed in collaboration and faculty to support specific courses (take a look at Nursing)
  • Blue: Citation information including RefWorks citation management software where you can build your own database of resources
  • Red:  Links to ILL, Course Reserves, and Faculty Resources 
 
Books and more
Located on our main page, you may search the library's catalog in order to identify a wide variety of materials...don't have what you need? Feel free to request through ILL.

Exlore MnPALS using the advanced search page (search: nursing education) using a combination of terms, limit years, format, etc...

Article/Journal Databases
Looking for an article for research or a class...check out the wide variety of databases located in our subject guides such as CINAHL, Health Source: Nursing/Academic, and Alt Healthwatch.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Nursing) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Search 3,000+ journals in nursing and allied health back to 1937; covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, etc.
Cochrane Library Restricted Resource
A collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Index with fulltext for 550 scholarly journals covering many areas of medicine. Include the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide covering 1300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4700 brand names.
ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Search over 1,200 scholarly journals published by Elsevier. ScienceDirect is multisubject, but specializes in science. Note: We do not have full text access to all journals. 1993 to present for Academic Press journals; 1996 to present for Elsevier journals
Scopus (Science) Restricted Resource findit database
Science, technology, engineering, medical and some social sciences literature from 15,000 scholarly journals from 4,000 international publishers.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Cindy Gruwell

Cindy Gruwell
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140D
(320) 308-1508
cagruwell@stcloudstate.edu

Faculty Resources
Images and Videos
Because nursing uses a unique array of images, a special guide has been created to lead you to multiple resources available on the web.

Medical Images for Nursing Students

In addition there are numerous videos available for your classes and students.  The library gives you access to these resources in the form of DVDs and web streaming.

Search for Video and Films at the Miller Center Library

 



Alexander Street Videos - Nursing Education in Video Restricted Resource Resource contains videodatabase

Kanopy Videos - Nursing: Interviewing Skills Restricted Resource Resource contains video

Films on Demand Restricted Resource database Resource contains video (General)
Films on Demand: Health & Medicine Restricted Resource Resource contains video

MedlinePlus: Video and Cool Tools
Research and Citation Guides
Need assistance with a citation style?  Check out the following links.
Note:  Refworks is a subscription database (you will need to register).  It is enormously helpful for research and the formating of bibliographies in WORD.  Assistance is available through your library liaison.

Citation Styles (APA, MLA, etc.)
Consult examples of APA, MLA, Chicago, etc. citation styles and use RefWorks to manage your references and format your bibliography.



RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University