The Library at St. Cloud State University

Open Access Publications

Open Access Journals
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) Unrestricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
"DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals." (from DOAJ homepage)

Elsevier Open Access Journals Unrestricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
"All articles in open access journals which are published by Elsevier have undergone peer review and upon acceptance are immediately and permanently free for everyone to read and download" (from homepage). Individual published articles are also accessible and downloadable from ScienceDirect.

Hindawi Unrestricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
"Hindawi publishes peer-reviewed, Open Access journals across many areas of science, technology, and medicine, as well as several areas of social science" ("Journals", Hindawi). Hindawi's journals are indexed in Web of Science, Scopus, PubMed, INSPEC, Mathematical Reviews, and Chemical Abstracts.

ScienceDirect Open Access Journals Unrestricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Open access, peer reviewed journals accessible through ScienceDirect in physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and the humanities.

Scientific Research: An Academic Publisher Unrestricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase ebook
Open access journals and books in the sciences, business and economics, medicine and healthcare, and social sciences and the humanities.

SpringerOpen Journals Unrestricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Over 200 peer-reviewed fully open access journals across all areas of science.
Open Access Books
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) Unrestricted Resource Some full text availableebook
"The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books" (from "About DOAB"). EBooks in all major subject areas are available here; the collection is growing.

InTech Open Access Books Unrestricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase ebook
The world's largest publisher of open access science, technology, and medicine books. Includes titles in engineering, health sciences, social sciences, and humanities.

OAPEN Library Unrestricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase ebook
OPAEN stands for "Open Access Publishing in European Networks". Its library contains freely accessible academic titles primarily in the humanities and social sciences.

The WAC Clearinghouse Unrestricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase ebook
"Supporting scholarly exchange about communication across the disciplines" (Home page). Includes open access titles from the following series: Perspectives on Writing, International Exchanges on the Study of Writing, Across the Disciplines, Reference Guides to Rhetoric and Composition, Practice & Pedagogy, Excellence in K-12 WAC, #writing, NCTE on WAC, Landmark Publications in Writing Studies, Writing Spaces: Readings on Writing, and RhetNet Books.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Rachel Wexelbaum

Rachel Wexelbaum
Associate Professor, Collection Management Librarian
MC 135D
(320) 308-4756
rswexelbaum@stcloudstate.edu

Quality Indicators for OA Journals
Open Access Journal Quality Indicators Unrestricted Resource eref
Grand Valley State University published these guidelines for scholars and librarians to evaluate open access journals.

Peter Suber, Director of the Harvard Office for Scholarly Publication, debunks the six myths of open access publishing here
How Can I Find More?
More academic book publishers are making certain titles available in open access format. Google "[your book publisher of interest]" and "open access".

Academic journal publishers are also moving toward open access publications. Google "[your journal publisher of interest]" and "open access".


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University