The Library at St. Cloud State University

Physical Education and Sports Science

All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Articles, journals, magazines and newspapers

Academic Search Premier (all topics) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Coaching Science Abstracts database
A subject-oriented directory to lengthy abstracts of research articles for practicing coaches and others interested in applied sport science.
note: 1995 to present
Dissertation Abstracts - PQDT Open findit database
Selective index to open access masters theses and dissertations from U.S., Canada, Great Britain, and Europe. Note: This is an open access subset of Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI).
ERIC (EBSCO) Restricted Resource findit database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.
Physical Education Index
Print Location: Miller Center Reference Index Shelves
Check availability
Indexes publications from scholarly journals and associations in the areas of dance, health, physical eduction, physical therapy, recreation, sports, and sports medicine. Does not include abstracts.
note: 1978 - present
Professional Collection (Education) Restricted Resource findit database
The Professional Collection is a selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators. It offers balanced coverage for any professional educator in the following areas: arts and humanities; child and adolescent psychology and development; drug and alcohol abuse; health/nutrition/fitness; learning disabilities; literature; school law; science and technology; social sciences; and sports/athletic training
PubMed database
"PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books."
SPORTDiscus Restricted Resource findit database
SPORTDiscus provides comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sports, fitness and related disciplines; does not contain fulltext but may link to the fulltext of articles in other sources.

  Facts, definitions, and overviews

Dictionary of the Sport and Exercise Sciences
Print Location: REF GV558 .D53 1991
Check availability
Dictionary intended for professionals and students of various disciplines involved in the exercise and sport sciences, e.g., biomechanics, exercise physiology, and sport psychology. Excludes dance, physical education, research, design, statistics, sports medicine, and specific sports. Entries give word or phrase and brief, explanatory definition. Cross references.
Encyclopedia of American Education
Print Location: REF LB17 .U54 2001
Check availability
Brief articles on philosophical, historical, and current education topics.
Encyclopedia of Early Childhood Education
Print Location: REF LB1139.25 .E53 1992
Check availability
Offers articles on historical, political, economic, sociocultural, intellectual, and educational influences on early childhood education
Encyclopedia of Educational Research
Print Location: REF LB15 .E48 1992
Check availability
Four volume encyclopedia with general entries about a variety of aspects of educational research. Most entries include bibliography.
Encyclopedia of Leisure and Outdoor Recreation
Print Location: REF GV11 .E55 2003
Check availability
More than 500 entries are included covering leisure and outdoor recreation concepts, theories, methods, issues, and practices around the globe. Index.
Encyclopedia of Sport Sciences and Medicine
Print Location: GV701 .E5x
Check availability
Published by American College of Sports Medicine, this classic encyclopedia (1971) includes articles on sports, emotions, growth and development, prevention, rehabilitation, safety and protection.
Encyclopedia of Sports Science
Print Location: REF GV558 .E53 1997
Check availability
2 volume set includes physiological aspects of sports. Most entries include bibliographical references. Index.
Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
Includes definitions as well as lengthy articles with references on wide variety of social science research topics: qualitative research, quantitative research, basic statistics, ethnography, evaluation, experimental design, interviewing, longitudinal analysis, scaling, significance testing, survey design, and other related topics.
Sports Injuries Sourcebook
Print Location: REF RD97 .S736 1999
Check availability
Basic consumer health information about common sports injuries, prevention of injuries, tips for training and rehabilitation. Includes information for children as well as senior athletes.
Sports Market Place
Print Location: REF HD9992 .U5 S667 1995
Check availability
Guide to more than 10,000 sports organizations, teams, corporate sponsors, sports agents, marketing and event management agencies, media, manufacturers and retailers.

  Websites

MedlinePlus database
MedlinePlus is a source for consumer information about over 700 diseases, their symptoms and treatment options. It includes a medical encyclopedia and dictionary. MedlinePlus is produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and other governmental agencies.
PE Central: The Premier Web Site for Health and Physical Education Teachers
Includes updated information about developmentally appropriate physical education programs for children and youth. Lesson plans, assessment ideas, adaptive PE plans, best practices, research, and professional information.
SIRC SportQuest
SIRC SportQuest is a bibliographic database producer of sport, fitness, and sports medicine information. Use the site search engine to locate fulltext articles and other publications. Some search features require an individual user subscription.
Trans-Health.com
"The online magazine of health and fitness for transsexual and transgendered people" (from home page).

  Research guides and manuals

Columbia Guide to Online Style
This site provides many examples for citing online resources in the bibliography of a humanities, social science or science research paper. See Preparing the Bibliographic Material once you have linked to this page.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University