The Library at St. Cloud State University

Library Resources for Research
Find Scholarly Journal Articles


JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
JSTOR provides unique access to full text backfiles for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles.

Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

PhilPapers Unrestricted Resource
PhilPapers is a free comprehensive index of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers--the index is free, but access to fulltext may be dependent upon SCSU subscriptions. Access to fulltext is limited to on-campus at this time.
Find Books, Videos, and More
Books and More Advanced Search (MnPALS Plus)
Search for books, ebooks, video, government publications, recordings, music scores, and other materials available at the library. Use the limits to focus on specific collections.

WorldCat Restricted Resource database
WorldCat is a catalog of materials from thousands of libraries and institutions around the world. Click on the FindIt! button and use Interlibrary Loan to request items St. Cloud State University does not own.

Some Texts from Early Modern Philosophy
Modernized texts of standard philosophical writings from the 16th, 17th, and 18th centuries. Philosopher Jonathan Bennett makes these versions available to students who have difficulty understanding the original texts due to language barriers.

Films on Demand: Philosophy & Religion Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Streaming video on topics in ethics, social and political philosophy, history of philosophy, religion and sprirituality, world religions, and more.

Find Overview or Background Information
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
An online peer-reviewed encyclopedia that provides detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A "dynamic" reference work, with each entry maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field.

Green Ethics and Philosophy: An A-to-Z Guide Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
Covers the moral relationship between humans and their natural environment, specifically targeting the contemporary green movement. Since the 1960s, green ethics and philosophies have helped give birth to the civil rights, feminist, and gay rights movements, as well as contemporary environmentalism.

Noesis: Philosophical Research On-Line
A focused search engine for open access, academic philosophy information on the Internet.

Guide to Philosophy on the Internet
A comprehensive, peer-reviewed resource of links to scholarly works and web sites. Searchable, with links to other guides in English and foreign languages. Produced by Peter Suber, Earlham College.
Note: current

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
REF B51 .R68 1998 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
A comprehensive and up-to date encyclopedia of philosophy, with signed articles. 9 volumes. Signed articles, with bibliographies for each. This resource is suitable for advanced research as well as introductions.
Note: to present

New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
REF CB9 .N49 2005 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Articles on some of the most important concepts. Follows the historical development of an idea through various philosophers and thinkers. 6 volumes, cross-referenced, with an index.

Oxford Companion to Philosophy
REF B51 .094 2005 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Dictionary-style entries on persons, institutions, and ideas in philosophy. A very detailed listing of terminology, suitable for looking up puzzling concepts. Entries vary in length between short paragraph to a few pages, often giving a small bibliography. With conceptual maps of philosophy, a chronology, and an index.

Additional Print Reference Books can be found on 1st floor of the Miller Center Library (call numbers B - BJ)
Subject Specialist
Picture: Melissa Prescott

Melissa Prescott
Associate Professor, Librarian
MC 204E
(320) 308-4751
mkprescott@stcloudstate.edu

Search Tips for Library Databases
  • Search by concepts, taking out common words like effect, affect, good, bad, etc.
  • Using AND focuses or limits your search (you get fewer results). Using OR broadens or expands your search (you get more results).
  • Use * to search for different word endings (child* searches child, child's, children, children's but also childbirth) and plurals.
  • Use quotation marks around phrases.
  • Try the Advanced Search. Change the "field" you are search using the pull down menu (for example, search for keywords only in the "Title" of an article).
Philosophy Books in the Library

Miller Center 2nd Floor

B = Philosophy (general)
BC = Logic
BD = Speculative Philosophy
BH = Aesthetics
BJ = Ethics
Cite Your Sources
Citation Styles
Choose a citation style (APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian ...) and follow the guidelines for formatting your paper and references.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University