The Library at St. Cloud State University

PHIL 451: Bioethics

Bioethics
Overview - Background Information
Blackwell Companions to Philosophy: A Companion to Bioethics Restricted Resource
"...reflects the current issues and developments in the field, covers all the material that the reader needs to thoroughly grasp the ideas and debates involved in bioethics."

Blackwell Philosophy Guides: The Blackwell Guide to Medical Ethics Restricted Resource
"The Blackwell Guide to Medical Ethics is a guide to the complex literature written on the increasingly dense topic of ethics in relation to the new technologies of medicine.Examines the key ethical issues and debates which have resulted from the rapid advances in biomedical technology."

Encyclopedia of Medical Decision Making Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
The Encyclopedia of Medical Decision Making gives an introduction to how medical and healthcare decisions are actually made—and constrained—and how physician, healthcare management, and patient decision making can be improved to optimize health outcomes

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A "dynamic" reference work, with each entry maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field.

Penn Center Guide to Bioethics Restricted Resource
"...The Penn Center Guide to Bioethics--the foremost authority on both traditional and cutting-edge bioethical issues."

Oxford Handbook of Bioethics Restricted Resource
This Oxford Handbook provides up-to-date information about a variety of isses in the field of bioethics including policies, end-of-life, cloning and reproduction.  

 
Find Scholarly Journal Articles
Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.


JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
JSTOR provides unique access to full text backfiles for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles.

PhilPapers*
PhilPapers is a free comprehensive index of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers--the index is free, but access to fulltext may be dependent upon SCSU subscriptions. Access to fulltext is limited to on-campus at this time.

*Please Note:  As you find resources you will need to check the SCSU catalog (MnPALS) for books and the journal title list to see if we have a particular journal, please keep in mind that you can always request an ILL if we don't have the item you're looking for. 

Medline Restricted Resource findit elm database
Indexes more than 19,000 journals, 1950 to present, in all areas of medicine, nursing, health services administration, nutrition, and other areas.

PubMed
"PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books."
Search for Books
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search

Bioethics Web Sites
bioethics.net
bioethics.net "...publishes information on the latests journal publications, events, job opportunities, and current news.

Bioethics Research Library at Georgetown University
"The Bioethics Research Library at Georgetown University is a destination library for bioethics scholars worldwide..."  The library allows you to explore a wide range of biothics topics and provides links to articles, blogs, and informative websites.

The Hastings Center
"The Center's mission is to address fundamental ethical issues in the areas of health, medicine, and the environment as they affect individuals, communities, and societies." The site contains articles, reports, and books on a wide variety of topics."

NIH - Bioethics Information Resources
Electronic resource links from the National Library of Medicine
 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Cindy Gruwell

Cindy Gruwell
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140D
(320) 308-1508
cagruwell@stcloudstate.edu

Search Tips for Library Databases
  • Search by concepts, taking out common words like effect, affect, good, bad, etc.
  • Using AND focuses or limits your search (you get fewer results). Using OR broadens or expands your search (you get more results).
  • Use * to search for different word endings (child* searches child, child's, children, children's but also childbirth) and plurals.
  • Use quotation marks around phrases.
  • Try the Advanced Search. Change the "field" you are search using the pull down menu (for example, search for keywords only in the "Title" of an article).
How to Search a Database
This video demonstrates some tips for searching library databases. Please note, however, we use  FindItButton  to lead you to additional online articles, rather than the GetIt@UTC button mentioned in the video.

 
Article Analysis - UTSA Libraries
Research and Citation Guides
Citation Styles (APA, MLA, etc.)
Consult examples of APA, MLA, Chicago, etc. citation styles and use RefWorks to manage your references and format your bibliography.
Citing Government Documents (Columbia University)
Provides a list of websites that offer citation information and examples for citing government information sources.
RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU. ‚Äč
 


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University