The Library at St. Cloud State University

Guide to Resources in Physics
Particle chamber bubble tracks (CERN)
Articles and Research
Scopus (Science) Restricted Resource findit database
Science, technology, engineering, medical and some social sciences literature from 15,000 scholarly journals from 4,000 international publishers.


arXiv.org: E-Print Archive Unrestricted Resource
Search free pre-print literature in physics, computer science, mathematics, non-linear science, and quantitative biology.

INSPIRE: High Energy Physics Database Unrestricted Resource
Collaboration of four high-energy physics research labs, INSPIRE pulls content from arXiv and other sources to provide rapid access to specialized research content.

Physical Sciences and Mathematics Commons Unrestricted Resource
Database of more than 50,000 open access articles, including physics, computer sciences, astrophysics and astronomy, and mathematics.

ACM Digital Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
Search for citations from most periodicals and conference proceedings of the Association for Computing Machinery and affiliated societies.


IEEE Xplore Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Search for journal articles, transactions, conference proceedings, etc. of IEEE, IEE and affiliated societies. Use Interlibrary Loan to get items we do not own (you will get message in upper left corner, "The content you requested is not included in your subscription")


NASA Astrophysics Data System Unrestricted Resource
Provides a searchable database of descriptive abstracts for astrophysics papers divided into categories such as Astronomy and Astrophysics, Instrumentation, Physics and Geophysics and Los Alamos Preprint Server. The site, funded by NASA and maintained by Harvard University personnel and professors, also provides access to the full text of article and translations of abstracts written in different languages. (Diana Hacker, 2003)

 
Supplemental Articles and Research
LibSearch Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Your first stop for finding scholarly high-quality research. Search the library's physical collection (books, movies, music, government publications, etc.) along with most of the online journals and e-books to which the Library subscribes -- all in a single search. Tip: For scholarly articles, click the check box to limit your results to peer-reviewed journals.


ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Search over 1,200 scholarly journals published by Elsevier. ScienceDirect is multisubject, but specializes in science. Note: We do not have full text access to all journals. 1993 to present for Academic Press journals; 1996 to present for Elsevier journals

Science.gov (FirstGov for Science) Unrestricted Resource
A gateway to authoritative, selected science information provided by U.S Government agencies, including research and development results.

National Academies Press Unrestricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Downloadable PDF versions of more than 4,000 books and technical reports on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the most authoritative views on important issues in science and health policy.

USPTO Patent Search Unrestricted Resource
Full-text access to patents issued since 1976, full-page images since 1790; also, full-text search of published applications since March 2001.

 
ScienceDaily Physics News

Loading ...

Facts, definitions, overviews
NIST Reference on Constants,Units, and Uncertainty Unrestricted Resource
This reference site addresses three topics: fundamental physical constants, the International System of Units (SI), which is the modern metric system, and expressing the uncertainty of measurement results. Detailed contents.

The Laws List Unrestricted Resource
The Laws List is a list of laws, rules, principles, effects, paradoxes, limits, constants, experiments, and thought-experiments in physics and astronomy.



CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
REF QD65 .C4 Unrestricted Resource Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
A reference source for chemical and physical property data, nomenclature, structure, and composition of substances. Includes physical constants of organic and inorganic compounds, conversion factors, and much more. Published annually.

Smithsonian Physical Tables Restricted Resource Some full text available
Originally published by Smithsonian Institution Press in 1954, this classic reference source comprises 901 tables of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics in its larger sense. 
Web sites
Physics.org Unrestricted Resource
Site from the Institute of Physics provides:
  • Databases of physics Web sites
  • Feature articles, games, and commonly asked questions
  • Educational physics experiments
  • Advice about the study of and careers in physics
  • News from the world of physics


PhysicsWeb: Global News and Information Unrestricted Resource
News, blog, and multimedia related to physics. Provided by the Institute of Physics.

Official String Theory Website Unrestricted Resource
.Theoretical physicists use mathematics to describe certain aspects of Nature. Sir Isaac Newton was the first theoretical physicist, although in his own time his profession was called "natural philosophy". (from website)  The website contains resources and information on theoretical physics, quantum physics, black holes, concrete mathematical concepts and more.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Cindy Gruwell

Cindy Gruwell
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140D
(320) 308-1508
cagruwell@stcloudstate.edu


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University