The Library at St. Cloud State University

Explore Your Topic
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook

CREDO provides online access to hundreds of reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is a good place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a topic.

Find Journal Articles in Library Databases
Start with :
PsycINFO Restricted Resource findit database
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.

Other databases:
Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

Child Welfare Information Gateway
Provides access to information and resources to help protect children and strengthen families. The Library search includes links to over 22,300 bibliographic citations and abstracts. Includes links to full text of 70+ NCCAN publications, including "user manuals" and information on state statutes.

ERIC (Education) Restricted Resource findit database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.
Note: 1966 - present

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print Restricted Resource database Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Provides test users with descriptive information, citations to test references, and critical reviews of testing instruments. Covers the Ninth Mental Measurements (1985) to the present; previous editions are available in the Reference Collection. Also includes Tests in Print, a listing of testing tools and test reviews. Provides test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).  Also in print at REF Z5814 .P8 B932, REF Z5814 .E9 T47
 

Search Tips:

  • Search by concepts, taking out common words like effect, affect, good, bad, etc.
  • Using AND focuses or limits your search (you get fewer results). Using OR broadens or expands your search (you get more results).
  • Use * to search for different word endings (child* searches child, child's, children, children's but also childbirth) and plurals.
  • Use quotation marks around phrases.
  • Try the Advanced Search. Change the "field" you are search using the pull down menu (for example, search for keywords only in the "Title" of an article).
Find Books, Videos, and More
The Miller Center Library's collection of books, videos, and more can be searched using MnPALS

Most Psychology books are located on the Second Floor of the Miller Center at the call number BF, some will be in the Basement West in the R call number range. 

BF180-198 Experimental psychology
BF636-637 Applied psychology
BF698 Personality
BF712-724 Developmental psychology
 
R726.5-726.8 Medicine and disease in relation to psychology
RC435-571 Psychiatry
RJ499-507  Child psychiatry 
Websites
American Psychological Association
Official web site of the American Psychological Association.


Institute for Social Research
"The University of Michigan Institute for Social Research (ISR) is one of the largest and oldest academic survey and social research organizations in the world. Representing the disciplines of psychology, political science, economics, anthropology and public health, ISR research scientists have directed some of the longest-running and most widely cited and utilized studies in the nation."

National Center for PTSD
"The National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) was created within the Department of Veterans Affairs to address the needs of veterans with military-related PTSD. This website is provided as an educational resource concerning PTSD and other enduring consequences of traumatic stress, for a variety of audiences."

Psycological Surveys
A list of established psychological surveys compilated by the King University Library. 

Science.gov (FirstGov for Science)
A gateway to authoritative, selected science information provided by U.S Government agencies, including research and development results.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jo Flanders

Jo Flanders
Associate Professor, E-Resources/Serials Librarian
MC 135C
(320) 308-2064
jlflanders@stcloudstate.edu

Picture: Michael Gorman

Michael Gorman
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140F
(320) 308-2028
msgorman@stcloudstate.edu

Ask a Librarian

Reference Desk - Miller Center 1st Floor W
  • Monday-Thursday: 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
  • Friday: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Phone: 320-308-4755
Email: askref@stcloudstate.edu
Related Guides

Social Studies 

Provides resources for citing sources, writing annotated bibliographies and literature reviews, and doing Social Science research.

Community Counseling
Community Psychology, Counseling and Family Therapy
Sociology

PSY119: Psychology as a Discipline and Profession
 
Citing Sources
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA)
READY REF BF76.7 .P83 2010 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Official manual for APA documentation. Available in print only, in the Ready Reference section of the library, 1st floor. Latest edition is 6th edition, 2010.


APA Formatting and Style Guide from OWL at Purdue
Provides examples of formatting papers, in-text citations, footnotes and endnotes, and reference lists in APA style. Updated according to the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.


RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.
 
Exploring careers in Psychology
American Psychological Association 
O*NET Online (Occupational Information Network)
O*NET is an official website developed by the Department of Labor. The O*NET database includes information on skills, abilities, knowledge, work activities, and interests associated with over 950 occupations. Previous title: Dictionary of Occupational Titles.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. Describes what workers do on the job, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations.

SCSU Career Services
Information on job search, resume, interviewing tips, etc. Updated by SCSU Career Services office.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University