The Library at St. Cloud State University

PSY119: Psychology as a Discipline and Profession

Video Presentations
ONLINE STUDENTS: There's a series of video presentations about doing research in the library and using library resources to complete the assignments related to this course. They're linked below. While they can be watched in any order, you should watch the orientation video first.

NOTE: The videos are housed on a platform called Mediaspace by Kaltura. When you click on any of the video links, you'll get a sign-in box called "St. Cloud State University Mediaspace Sign In." Sign in with your star ID and password, and you'll be taken to the video.
 
Exploring psychology topics
Cambridge Handbook of Psychology, Health and Medicine Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook

Cambridge Handbook of Personal Relationships Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook

Cambridge Handbook of Sociocultural Psychology Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook

Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
Use the Search within this title box to find information on your topic.

If you'd like to see more online encyclopedias and dictionaries, choose from our two primary online encyclopedia collections:

SAGE Reference Online Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides access to 90 full-text specialized encyclopedias that offer excellent background information on a topic.

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.

 
Understanding scholarly journals
Journal covers image

From Idea to Library
Video tutorial on how scholarly articles are written, published, and made accessible to researchers and students. From the NCSU Libraries.

Scholarly vs. Popular Materials Guide (NCSU)
Guide to distinguishing between scholarly journals, popular magazines, and trade journals/magazines.
Scholarly journal article search
PsycINFO Restricted Resource findit database
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.

Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

PsycINFO ProTips:
  • Use the Thesaurus (in the blue menu bar at the top of the screen) to find appropriate subject headings. The Thesaurus can also help you clarify your thinking by offering narrower or broader related subject headings.
     
  • Use the pull-down menu in the search box to specify additional limiters like author, age group, intended audience, and so forth. Limiters are also available from the initial search page in PsycINFO under "Search Options."



     
  • Use the "Limit To" box on the left side of the screen to narrow your results to only the most recent research, or click the boxes next to "Peer Reviewed" and "References Available" to limit your search to peer-reviewed articles from scholarly journals.


     
  • Look for a pull-down menu at the beginning of your results marked "Relevance." Choose "Date descending" from the menu. This will ensure that your search results will be displayed with the most recent publication first.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Olivia Olivares

Olivia Olivares
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140E
(320) 308-4822
oolivares@stcloudstate.edu

Do you have a question about research?
Related Subject Guides
Exploring careers in Psychology
American Psychological Association 
O*NET Online (Occupational Information Network)
O*NET is an official website developed by the Department of Labor. The O*NET database includes information on skills, abilities, knowledge, work activities, and interests associated with over 950 occupations. Previous title: Dictionary of Occupational Titles.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. Describes what workers do on the job, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations.

SCSU Career Services
Information on job search, resume, interviewing tips, etc. Updated by SCSU Career Services office.
Citations and APA Style
APA Formatting and Style Guide from OWL at Purdue

APA Citation Style from Long Island University Unrestricted Resource
Color-coded examples of how to document your sources (i.e. books, journal articles, newspaper articles, etc.) in your works cited page.

Citation Styles and RefWorks Unrestricted Resource
Consult examples of APA, MLA, Chicago, etc. citation styles and use RefWorks to manage your references and format your bibliography.
Using PsycINFO to best effect: practice
Go to PsycINFO now, using the link in the box above.
 
  1. Examine the initial search interface.
    • What search limiters would you choose to find articles about studies of girls who are in high school? 
    • How would you limit your search to peer-reviewed journal articles?
  2. Use the Thesaurus to find two related terms for each of the following:
    • self esteem
    • forgiveness
    • alcoholism
       
  3. Search for peer-reviewed articles on behavior disorders in preschool boys published after 2010. Write down the citation for one of the first five results.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University