The Library at St. Cloud State University

Public Administration

Explore Your Topic
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook

CREDO provides online access to hundreds of reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is a good place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a topic.

Find Journal Articles in Library Databases
Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) covers all subject areas - the social sciences, humanities, and sciences, contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles.

ABI/INFORM (Business) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
ABI/INFORM indexes content from 3,200 trade publications and scholarly journals (with full text or full-image for 2,100 titles) that help students and researchers track business conditions, trends, management techniques, corporate strategies, and industry-specific topics worldwide.
Note: 1972 to present

Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Business Source Premier searches 350 scholarly journals back to 1965. Includes searchable references for more than 1,170 journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics and economics.

FindLaw Unrestricted Resource database
FindLaw provides legal researchers with a sophisticated search engine to locate Web-accessible legal code and case law. Topical sub-searches for foreign domains by country, federal laws and regulations, or individual states are also available.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
JSTOR provides unique access to full text backfiles for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles.

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online full text databases covering News, Business, Legal, Medical, and Reference. News includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, broadcast transcripts, regional and international news sources, scholarly & trade journals, and a guide to current issues. Business includes company SEC reports, company profiles and financial data, and accounting literature and standards. Law resources include law reviews (journals), federal and state congressional laws as well as federal court cases. Includes the text of the U.S. Code as well as the Federal Regulations and CFR. It includes hundreds of scholarly journals in a wide range of disciplines.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other informaiton related to political science topics.

Search Tips:
  • Search by concepts, taking out common words like effect, affect, good, bad, etc.
  • Using AND focuses or limits your search (you get fewer results). Using OR broadens or expands your search (you get more results).
  • Use * to search for different word endings (child* searches child, child's, children, children's but also childbirth) and plurals.
  • Use quotation marks around phrases.
  • Try the Advanced Search. Change the "field" you are search using the pull down menu (for example, search for keywords only in the "Title" of an article).
Find Books, Videos, and More
The Miller Center Library's collection of books, videos, and more can be searched using MnPALS

Public Administration books are located in Basement West of the Miller Center at the call number JF 1351.  

Related topics can be found at:
JA       Political science (General)
JC       Political theory
JK       Political institutions (United States)
JZ       International relations
Subject Specialist
Picture: Michael Gorman

Michael Gorman
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140F
(320) 308-2028
msgorman@stcloudstate.edu

Ask a Librarian

Reference Desk - Miller Center 1st Floor W
  • Monday-Thursday: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
  • Friday: 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • Sunday: 4:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Phone: 320-308-4755
Email: askref@stcloudstate.edu
Related Guides
Political Science

Government Publications
The Government Publication page includes federal, state, and local government webpages and information sources. 

Social Studies
The Social Studies guide provides resources for citing sources, writing annotated bibliographies and literature reviews, and doing Social Science research.
Citing Sources
APA Formatting and Style Guide from OWL at Purdue
Provides examples of formatting papers, in-text citations, footnotes and endnotes, and reference lists in APA style. Updated according to the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.

Chicago Manual of Style (OWL at Purdue)
Provides examples of formatting papers, in-text citations, footnotes and endnotes, and reference lists according to the Chicago Manual of Style.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University